We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull Jugendstil Hotel but needs a lot of renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berghotel Schatzalp
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Davos
Reviewed 4 April 2012

If you want to feel like 100 years ago? Visit this Hotel, it is like a museum. Me and my friend vistited it while we got a Groupon-Offer so that's why we stayed, assumedly, in a room which was not renovated or got a slight touch of renovation, altough the basic (Shower, toilet and bed) where fine (no television). You could say that If the owner just does only a fresh up by colour and a bit interior decoration the rooms could be very trendy while retro style is inn now. We enjoyed Schatzalp's beautifull Jugendstil decoration, the Salon was impressive and everthing has it's Jugendstil-like details. Dinner and breakfast where fine and Unfortunately we could not visit the renovated Sauna area. The private balcony is very big and has two (original!!) reclining seats which also appears on some old pictures of the time Schatzalp was a Sanatorium. Hotel Schatzalp has it's own mountain train which takes you up or down in 5 minutes to the city of Davos. And a 3 minute walk to the first lift which takes you to Schatzalp's ski-area is ideal für winter hiking, sledding and families with small childeren.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobijntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

The best location I have ever stayed at. It is set above Davos, you get there by funicular. I was there in March and the weather was wonderful-too warm for the skiers. Ski passes for the mountain were included , although I don't know if that was just for our party or is routine.
Service was slow but for me, good. Food was superb. Dining room has mirrors to reflect the wonderful view. Rooms simple but adequate. No TV!
I was there for a conference, so can't comment on normal costs. However I would love to return on holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

What we liked about the hotel was, of course, the exceptional situation,but also the beautiful restaurant and the lounge with the open fire. Breakfast was good, but dinner was outstanding; our compliments to the chef.
We were not so enthusiastic about the bedrooms as the furniture was rather worn; you won't feel like relaxing in such a decrepit armchair. But worst of all was the dreadful out-of-date bathroom with its primitive shower, plastic curtain and leaking taps.In 2012 you can reasonably expect a more modern bathroom, even if the hotel boasts itself on its Jugendstil heritage. Finally the corridors are really depressing!
The hotel has great potential, which, however, is not made use of.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mucky89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel for three nights during our legal conference. We were really impressed by the beautiful location above the town - the hotel is accessible only by funicular rainway from Davos. The views from the hotel are splendid. Nice ski slopes are easily accessible from the hotel - slopes are nice, "blue" level and very well taken care of. You can also ride down to Davos on sledges.

The atmosphere of the hotel is very unique. Definitely no high luxury but everything very functional and comfortable preserving the old style of the beginning of 20th century. We really enjoyed our spacious corner room with view of the valley, spacious balcony, spacious and comfortable bathroom. Maybe, we would prefer if there could be a minibar in the room.

Dining in the hotel is above average but nothing really special.

The prices is little bit higher than I would expect (as the hotel does not offer any traditional "luxury") but this is probably expectable in generally expensive Switzerland.

In general, we just felt very well in this hotel

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CzechTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Very old house, bit above Davos, must use the cable car to reach the hotel. No traffic around the hotel and a sledging track behind the house - rather in the upper price corner but the service was poor - most we heard at the reception (two young lady's not from Switzerland) was "we can't, we don' know, we don't care" ... offered services where not available, times and promised not kept (promised sledges not available)

Absolute poor for a 700$/night hotel - our first and last trip to this hotel!

The food was ok not the hammer, the room was clean and we loved the simple and charming style but the bad service destroyed everything.

Be aware of the noisy bar if you get your room at the first floor.

Room Tip: don't get the first floor if you need your sleep, noisy bar below you - south side is the sunny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Davos hotels
13.3 km away
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
10.2 km away
Hotel Ducan
Hotel Ducan
#1 of 1 in Monstein
84 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
4.7 km away
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
Kessler's Kulm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wolfgang
181 reviews
0.6 km away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Belvedere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berghotel Schatzalp? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berghotel Schatzalp

Address: Promenade 65 | Talstation Schatzalp, Davos 7270, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Davos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Davos
#15 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Davos
Price Range: ₹ 8,679 - ₹ 29,036 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berghotel Schatzalp 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a peaceful location 300 meters above Davos this traditional hotel is reached by a short ride on the Schatzalp funicular (four minutes) from the main street and enjoys glorious panoramic views across the valley.Bedrooms: The rooms are in old style but have charm and are very comfortable. All rooms have bath or shower, wc, telephone, radio, and modem connection and there is also free Wi-Fi access in all rooms and the hotel lobby. All south-facing rooms have a loggia (large balcony for sunbathing). Superior south-facing twin rooms are very spacious.Meals: breakfast buffet and five (winter) /four (summer) course dinner are served in the hotel's dining room, or in the Restaurant Panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Berghotel Schatzalp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berghotel Schatzalp Davos
Berghotel Schatzalp Hotel Davos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing