We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant on the pistes ”
Review of Mary's Cafe

Mary's Cafe
Ranked #14 of 33 Restaurants in Wengen
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Description: Kleines Restaurant mit 38 Innenplätzen, ca. 1km ausserhalb von Wengen, an der Zieleinfahrt des Lauberhorn Weltcup Rennens. Schweizer Küche mit täglich wechselnden Menus und Hausgemachten Kuchen.
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

If you love a great skiing lunch then this is the place. The location is stunning, beautiful environment and decoration. The service is wonderful, so welcoming and attentive and the food is delicious. The local chèvre is definitely worth sampling as is the tartiflette. Don't forget the rose wine! If the chef is there you might meet her beautiful cocker spaniel called Caramel, the cutest dog around!

Thank SuzieBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Regina_Wengen, Inhaber at Mary's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2016

Thank you and Kind regards
Guido and Ariane Meyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2016

Having been to Wengen for the past 14 years I had neve managed to go to Mary's (although skied past on numerous occasions) so this year I made a point of going. Booked for the sunday lunch and had fire roasted quail on a bed of rosti. Excellent meal, service and ambience. If you get chance, go - even if just for a drink, but time it right for the last lift if you are skiing

Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Regina_Wengen, Inhaber at Mary's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2016

Thank you for your kind report and we hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch and had gorgeous Quail meal. Great location and friendly service. Not cheap but then you are half way up to the Eiger and ski in out or walk from town

Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verantwortlicher, Inhaber at Mary's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Thank you for your report and we apreciate it and thank you
Kind regards
Guido Meyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

We were recommended to have Cheese fondue here, so we walked all the way with a baby on baby carrier and a 4 years old on sledge from the tourist office in Wengen, which was about 30 mins walk for us! We were not disappointed by the very friendly reception. The restaurant is small and cosy with a central wooden fireplace. There's also a few tables outside the restaurant too if people don't mind sitting outside in the Winter.

The cheese fondue was indeed good. Fondue for 1 person (only with bread) costed CHF26! It was quite expensive, but it tasted nice. We think there's white wine in it. We finished all the cheese sauce and there was still several pieces of bread left.

The Chalet soup (vegetable soup) big one (about 1.5litre) costed about CHF15! It was actually vegetable broth, which I liked it very much. It also came with half a piece of baguette.

We also had potato soup with a German style sausage. The sausage tasted ok, average. The soup was good, flavoursome.

For dessert, we had 2 plum tarts and 1 apple tart. The pastry for the apple tart was not bad, but the pastry for the plum tarts was a bit tasteless, a bit thick and not crunchy enough - very pale yellow colour.

There's also a small issue with this restaurant when I asked for cooked vegetable. They apologised and said that they wanted quick service and so they only do salad for vegetable. However, I found one of their soups had vegetable in it and I did order it.

There were some disappointments, but the smiley faces and friendly attitude have made the whole dinning experience stress-free and enjoyable. It was worth walking in thick snow after skiing for 2-3 hours with a baby to carry and a preschooler to pull on the sledge!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CarolPML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verantwortlicher, Inhaber at Mary's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

Thank you for your report and we try to be better the next time
In Peak service times sometimes Things go faster and other s go slower
Sorry for the inconvenience
Kind regards
Guido meyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

Perfect to sit inside by the fire if not warm enough to sit outside with a blanket. The food is delicious, lots of options to get set for the rest of the day skiing or walking! Service is great and everyone is friendly, we go back every year for lunch if we can and is lovely every time!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fionnuala P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verantwortlicher, Inhaber at Mary's Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

It is for These reports we love our job
Thank you
Kind regards
Guido Meyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary's Cafe also viewed

Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 
Lauterbrunnen, Jungfrau Region
Wengen, Jungfrau Region
 

Been to Mary's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing