We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best View in Town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Murren
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Best View in Town!”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This is an excellently run hotel with the best views in Murren. We had a first floor room and the views were truly amazing.
The owner/managers and staff combine friendliness with professionalism. Daniel (owner/manager) is extremely helpful providing local knowledge and suggesting trips.

The food is of a good standard and there is plenty of it. The sun terrace is very popular as the views from here are spectacular.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone seeking a well run, medium class hotel with good food and stunning views.

Room Tip: mountain view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steveandtrish_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    52
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
50
106
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Pleasant modern hotel with a very good breakfast and friendly staff. Cheaper rooms have no view but are spacious but cosy. Don't forget that the cable car ride up adds 20€ per person just to Murren with another whopping 70€ each to visit the piz Gloria at Schilthorn! Parking adds 7€ per day too. Weather also cloudy so views at top disappointing at this time of year. Google 'schilthorn webcam' to see the state of the weather at the top before going.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterwaysExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stayed here with family during a long weekend at the end of May. It was still early in the season so some things in Murren weren't yet open. The hotel is just a 5 min walk from the tram station (Murren is not accessible by car, you need to take either the gondola via tram or a bus, however the views along the way are worth it).

The hotel staff was friendly and accommodating. We booked a budget room on the North side of the hotel, so we didn't have the amazing view of the mountains, however it was great for the price, and we saw plenty of great views while hiking around the area.

Breakfast was a great way to fuel up before a day on the trails. They also have a nice restaurant for grabbing a drink afterwards.

Room Tip: Southern rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwall722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I booked a junior suite but on checking in we were given a superior room which had an amazing view. I don't think this view will ever be topped by another hotel. The balcony looks right down the valley and we could sit and watch the paragliders swooping down.
As with the rest of Switzerland everything is expensive but its worth it to sit on the balcony.
Breakfast was great too as we loved the egg boiling system and it was nice to help ourselves.
All in all, I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Get one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were looking forward to our stay but after a day of travelling (in June!!) we found the road closed due to rock falls. We were too late and tired to take an alternative route and in fact wouldnt have made it so phoned the hotel to explain. They were totally unsympathetic and uninterested in our situation and said that we would probably have to pay. Surprise surprise we have been charged over £100!!!! Beware this may happen to you and dont expect help from the hotel. We were on a tight budget and this was not fair!!!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murren hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
560 reviews
0.3 km away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
619 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#5 of 11 in Murren
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
215 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
209 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
Hotel Alpenblick Murren
#8 of 11 in Murren
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Murren 3825, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Murren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Murren
#9 Family Hotel in Murren
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,665 - ₹ 18,098
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The congenial Hotel Edelweiss is conveniently located in the heart of the Bernese Oberland in Murren. It offers breathtaking views of Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau mountain scenery. Guests of our 3-star superior Hotel also appreciate the perfect location close to ski slopes and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Murren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing