We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Depressive '”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Depressive '”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

My husband and me had stayed at this Hotel in October , 2011 on our honeymoon. It was our last leg of the journey , however we had the worst experience of the all the places / hotels visited. Our room was gloomy and there were flies to welcome us. After having informed the front desk to about the flies - they said that nothing much could be done about it. My husband me had to shoo them away our self.
Location of the hotel is convenient , Staff is friendly , the view from the room also is nice . They definitely need to upgrade themselves.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShivaniD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Dear Ms Shivani

We thank you very much for your honesty. Obviously there was a misunderstanding between our staff and you. We are very sorry, that you haven`t experienced your stay as expected. At the moment we are doing a soft renovation in most of our rooms, so that we can upgrade our standard. Despite all of this, we are happy to hear, that our staff was friendly. We do apologise for your inconvenience during your stay. We would be very pleased if you could give us a second chance and we could welcome you at the Carlton-Europe Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    128
    45
    17
    8
See reviews for
79
120
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

I stay in many hotels in Europe but I find Carlton Europe as a very warm welcome very nice staff and always have a smile for you in the breakfast area and room service.
The rooms are very clean and lots of cumfort plenty of space .
You have free internet at the front desk,and the staff on the front desk are very helpfull and smart ,its good to see.
Very close to Interlaken ost station,great for exploring the jungfrau region and getting the boats on lake Brienz.
In Interlaken you have 5 star pluss but you will pay the price here is value for money.
Carlton Europe team keep the good work up and thanks.see you next year

Room Tip: rear rooms have mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriswasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed here 2 nights and found that room was like military barrack. The furniture is of poorest quality, curtains are cheap. Very small balcony with very cheap aluminium chair. Front office staff were unfriendly. They could not even provide a simple adapter for your camera / mobile chargers. Hotel had charged almost CHF200 per room night and what we received in return was not even worth CHF50. Breakfast was basic European, nothing great. The hotel does not provide simple pickup or drop from any interlaken stations which are nearby. Your used towels have to be put in bathtub otherwise housekeeping will not change them. They will use arguments like recycling and use the towels again, only to their advantage. We were in room 115, room size was good, toilets were good but not soaps, no coffee maker no saucers, spoons. Hotel does not believe in providing any facility to guests. In fact, I felt that guests are a burden for at least front office staff. Never again to this hotel.

Room Tip: avoid room no 115
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton-Europe, Leiter Front Office at Carlton-Europe Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Mr. Rajandani,

thank you very much for rating us on tripadvisor.com. First of all we really want to apologize for all the inconveniences you had during your stay at our hotel. Feedbacks like yours help us to understand that we have to continue to improve our services continously. We are sorry that you got the impression that guests are a burden for our staff and that our efforts for saving the environment are only to our own advantage. We will keep trying our very best to hit the expectations of our guests, knowing that we can never be 100% sucessfull. We would be pleased if you could give us a second chance to change your impression of the Carlton-Europe Hotel and wish you all the best for your future holidays.

sincerely yours

Dominik Naglitsch
Front-Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

The Carton Europe is an elegantly classic hotel from a time past, about a century old. It veritably screams history and refined leisure.

Each room has its own surprises. We came as part of a tour group, and by luck of the draw we were assigned to a spacious top-floor romantically-gabled corner Jacuzzi room with a canopied queen-size bed.

Antiques are artfully arranged throughout the hotel. Yet our room also featured a large flat screen digital TV and a remote-control stereo radio and CD player.

We had both dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Dinner was a three-course meal with salad, entrée, and dessert. Service was both friendly and gracious.

The hard-working staff was rushing to keep up with the breakfast crowd. They were always running out of coffee or tea, milk or croissants. The buffet included scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon, breads, cheeses, yogurt, and more.

The hotel is not air-conditioned, although our room was equipped with a floor fan. We were there during a heat wave. While we could open the windows, the lack of screens meant that intruding insects became an issue.

While the former glory of the Carlton-Europe may be a bit faded, it is one of those unique hotels that deserve a visit. We are glad we had the opportunity to enjoy its many treasures, and we would certainly consider a return stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during the busy season of June. For a family of 5, we had booked 2 rooms, a double and a triple room. The experience at this hotel started with the worst possible welcome (or should I say send-off) by a man who told us to "cool-down and wait" when we rang the cloak bell to call someone to the unmanned reception desk. This man turned out to be the director of the hotel! What a way to welcome your guests. They handed over the rooms 15 minutes before the scheduled check-in and made it a point to tell us that this was a huge favor! Once we entered the room, we encountered antique wooden flooring which would generate loud squeaks even if you would try to put your lightest foot forward! As the evening approached, the squeaking sound from the room above became louder and louder. This was concerning as it would wake our baby up at short intervals. The bathroom of the triple room was the smallest I have ever seen and was very dingy. The restaurants are avoidable and you can get much better choices as you walk further towards the centre of Interlaken. The only advantage this hotel has is its proximity to the main station. Saying that, Interlaken is so small that you would not be spending more than 15 minutes to reach a hotel at the extreme corner. I would recommend staying in the central part of the area that is lively and gives you a true vacation feeling.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
1.0 km away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton-Europe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton-Europe Hotel

Property: Carlton-Europe Hotel
Address: Hoeheweg 94, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Interlaken
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Interlaken
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,437 - ₹ 22,041
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton-Europe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Nouveau hotel "Carlton-Europe" has a very long tradition. Led by a young team which will tailor to your needs and reflect the charm of the house. After a visit to this idyllic setting, you will take a feeling of security back home. Centrally located just 200 meters from the Interlaken Ost train station on the famous Höheweg. Starting point for excursions in the Jungfrau region as well as the recreation area around Lake Thun and Brienz. Parking lots for cars (chargeable). On foot you reach the center of Interlaken within 5 minutes. The Hotel Carlton-Europe can offer the following: -Team building, motivation -Adult education -Full Catering -Conference rooms with plenty of ambience. The hotel rooms are individually renovated with own equipment. Restaurants: Ruedihus (traditional Swiss cuisine), Johnny's Gärtli (Steakhouse), Shalimar (Indian cuisine and pizzas) and Johnny's Bar Dancing. Leisure: Billiards, Table Tennis, Chess. Large hotel garden with a natural swimming pond. Central, quiet location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carlton-Europe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Europe Hotel Interlaken
Carlton Europe Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing