We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint ma and pa place”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #7 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We had a family room and a double room at the Derby. The double was nice, but small, and the family was a good size. The family room had two twin beds pushed together and a ser of built-in bunk beds. The family running the hotel was friendly and helpful- the breakfast was good. We appreciate the free internet.

Room Tip: Make sure to get off at the correct train station!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areese12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stay for 3 nights

Pros :
1. Family friendly ,
2. Location is not as bad I have initially thought ( approx 12mins from Interlaken West )
3. Although the booking stated a rate for usage of WIfi , it's free
4. Breakfast is included
5. Free local bus ride tickets .
6. Access by security card via main lobby door.

Cons :
1. Although the traffic is not that heavy , try to booked the rooms away from the road ( especially when your room are located on the ground floor ) . There is a glass barrier erected to segregate the public pathway / road from the hotel rooms but there is still a sense of uneasiness as you can hear the closeness of car or people walking by.
2. FYI , WiFi can be log in per user only

Note : For trip to Jungfraujoch - Suggest taking bus 105 ( which is 150m away from the hotel ) to Wilderswill Bahnhof . Cross over a road for your train to Lauterbrunen/ Kleine /Jungfaujoch . We have made a mistake of taking the bus at train station and found out later that the bus pass by our hotel . There are still many options of taking the train from the interlaken west but the bus schedule at approx 9am suit us well .

Overall
The hotel is very clean , cosy and offer a good base for trip to the popular outskirts.

Room Tip: Note : I try to get a family room with an attic atmosphere but was already fully booked .Try this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We booked this hotel off reviews on the internet and weren't disappointed. Easy walking distance from Interlaken West, close to shops, restaurants, playground, public transport, and routes to the ski fields. The owner was friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, we enjoyed dinner on our balcony a couple of evening. We really enjoyed our stay here in April 2012. Recommend the swimming pool complex, very modern, and great way to spend some time as a family, which we did while it rained outside and was about 8C outside.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonesFamily6155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This is a lovely hotel; a bit of a "bed and breakfast"-hotel cross. I believe the owner lived in the facility which had a small, but wonderfully kept back yard. The hotel was very secure as you needed your room key (card) to enter the building as well as your room. The rooms were small but clean, neat and nicely decorated. The people were quite friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zauski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My friend and i wanted to go to Swiss Alps. So, we decided to stay in the hotel at interlaken for a night. It was fantastic staying in Hotel Deby.The owner was great and friendly. The room was spacious considering the price we have paid. There is a free breakfast and wifi provided.
The owner even teased at me when i told him this is my first time seeing snow. The room is clean. Nice people, nice location, nice accomodation, nice breakfast. I will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsf_tan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyinterlaken, Manager at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Dear Espiga_tuga ,
What a pleasure to read you comment. Thank you very much for your nice feedback.

We are happy that we could meet all your expectations such as our service quality and breakfast coffee.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Kind regards
Jürg Boss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 7 in Unterseen
693 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 7 in Unterseen
2,245 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 39 in Interlaken
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#11 of 39 in Interlaken
391 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#9 of 39 in Interlaken
383 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#5 of 7 in Unterseen
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Address: Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price Range: ₹ 7,701 - ₹ 15,014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Derby Announces its Grand Re-opening. We have spent months renovating our establishment to meet our customers changing travel needs. We are excited for you to see the results of our hard work and the "little oasis" at the top of Europe we have created for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing