We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located, new fixtures but very small rooms”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #8 of 46 Interlaken B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Centrally located, new fixtures but very small rooms”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

On our recent Europe road trip, we stopped at Interlaken and checked into the Derby Hotel for two nights. The hotel is centrally located and is just a few minutes walk to the center square in front of the Hotel Victoria (where paragliders land).

The hotel has parking to the side where you might end up double parking because of limited spaces. But that is not such an issue as the owner would gladly help you retrieve your vehicle.

The room itself was quite tiny and we did not have enough room to move around. The bunk beds for the children were quite good and the sleep quality of our beds was great too. just a little crampy that is all.

The room and bathroom looks new with shiny new fixtures. I liked the bathroom even though it was quite tiny.

Breakfast is nice but did not have the usual sausages or scrambled eggs etc. We just had a few meat layers, croisants, butter and cheese.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for a day or two if you are not too fussy about space or breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonigala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    63
    19
    2
    9
See reviews for
49
56
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We got into this hotel by chance because of some goof up by our travel agent who had booked another hotel for us. However we don't regret the change, as this hotel was excellent. The owner/manager was extremely helpful and provided us with the best possible room - a family room with bunk beds - the kids really loved them!! The breakfast was plentiful and wholesome - enough to give us fuel for the day long trekking we did. The hotel is located on a quite street and is little far from the Interlaken West / Ost stations but has great views and nice, well maintained, cosy rooms. We got a pass for the Casino too, but couldn't make use of it as we had to leave the next day. Highly recommended for budget travelers - couples or with families.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnimitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Turned up in the evening to find my room had a technical issue and was asked to go to another hotel which was arranged without prior notice.
I refused to stay and requested refund but was still charged for the room I didn't even get to see!

Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bns95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Good parking. Cleanliness of bedroom. Excellent breakfast. Very comfortable and very good value compared with other hotels in Interlaken.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdabarB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Derby in Interlaken. The room was extremely clean, the landlord extremely helpful, and the hotel 's location is perfect: only 5mn walking distance from the center and 10mn drive from the railway station. We will go back, especially as the price is very reasonnable for Interlaken

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#13 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#23 of 40 in Interlaken
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Jungfraustrasse 70, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Interlaken
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,758 - ₹ 21,261
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Derby 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Derby Announces its Grand Re-opening. We have spent months renovating our establishment to meet our customers changing travel needs. We are excited for you to see the results of our hard work and the "little oasis" at the top of Europe we have created for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing