We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, Friendly, hopefully returning in 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldhotel Unspunnen
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
London
1 review
“Brilliant, Friendly, hopefully returning in 2011”
Reviewed 6 August 2009

No frills, reasonably priced, effectiveley two hotels in one - Chalet section ideal for groups (we were a group of 17 youths and 8 Adults)
Main Hotel (unsure of details as not used by us)

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkcae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    21
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Indeed, it's far from everywhere. If you don't have a car, don't even think of reserving there, or you will face a 30-45 minutes walk through a road that is not suitable for walking around.

If you get there, you will find a shabby room with non-refurbished furniture (at least at the "chalet"). The floor needed a wash, or maybe a change. I prefer not to remember the toilette...

We had a reservation for two nights, but when we got to the reception we were told that the reservation system from their web page doesn't work, so we had no reservation. In spite of that, the girl at the reception was very kind and she gave us one room, and she didn't charge us what we already paid for the reservation (the system does not reserve you a room, but I can assure that you pay it!).

We have been in a lot of youth hostels around Europe, but this is the worst, specially if you consider the price. When we got into the room, we decided not to stay the second night, and fortunately they put us no problem, and the next day we went to beautiful Luzern!

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — Low quality and bad location if you don't have a car
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank korrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnadi, Owner at Waldhotel Unspunnen, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear guest
The next bus-stop is 8 minutes on foot from our hotel. You can use the bus for free to the railway-station with the local guestcard (inlcuded in local tax). We can offer guests with a car free parking in front of the hotel. Actually, we have lots of guests from all over the world which book on all kind of online-bookingplatforms.
Yours sincerely,
WALDHOTEL UNSPUNNEN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

Not wanting to stay in Interlaken, we found this hotel. We intended staying 2 days and ended up staying three. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful and gave us lots of tips on what to see and where to go.
The room was small but spotlessly clean with no TV or telephone (hooray!) and great creaky floorboards. Breakfast was a bit sparse, but that seems to be the story with all hotels at this level in Switzerland. The breakfast room was one of the most elegant I've ever seen.
Parking was convenient with space outside the hotel as well as a private car park across the road.

  • Liked — Its location, friendly staff.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lasha205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Hello,

I didnt even book the rooms here. Because I decided not to when i called then to ask for a room. I was treated awefully over the phone when asked about the rooms. I am happy i could face this treatment much before i booked the room than to face it on a beautiful trip to Switzerland. Never again.

Sri

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Srimathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schnadi, Owner at Waldhotel Unspunnen, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear guest
We have checked who gave you the impolite information on the phone. Actually, we are answering phonecalls all day and can promise you, that we try to answer all the calls as helpfully as possible.
Yours sincerely,
WALDHOTEL UNSPUNNEN
Stefan Schneider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2008

My boyfriend headed to Interlaken for a last minute weekend during the high tourist season in Switzerland and booked this hotel with our fingers crossed. We were pleasantly surprised and it was just perfect for our stay. It is about a 10-15 minute walk from Interlaken West train station (further from Ost) and not super well lit at night, which is the only drawback. However being further away from the town was actually pretty nice since it was peaceful and gave us more of a mountain feel (instead of that we were stuck in a tourist trap).

Very quiet location, excellent views of the Jungfrau from the room. Room was small but comfortable with everything we needed and very clean. There is no tv or radio (read a book or take a nice hike!) Rene (the owner) is very friendly and helpful as is the rest of the staff. We ended up booking another night at this place last minute because we had such a great time. I think there is a breakfast, but we were always up too early to take advantage of it. There are two or 3 cute restaurants nearby and you can always walk to town (or take the bus in but it doesn't come that frequently).

If you are looking to be pampered with lots of amenties and spa, stay at one of the five stars in the area. But if you come to Interlaken to experience the Alpine playground just outside, I highly recommend this hotel, you can't do much better for the price.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, clean, good views, away from riff raff
  • Disliked — Walking back at night - a bit unsafe as it is a road and fairly dark
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisscub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#21 of 40 in Interlaken
177 reviews
2.3 km away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#4 of 8 in Unterseen
156 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,232 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Chalet Swiss
Hotel Chalet Swiss
#6 of 8 in Unterseen
168 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Baeren
Hotel Baeren
#5 of 7 in Wilderswil
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhotel Unspunnen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhotel Unspunnen

Property: Waldhotel Unspunnen
Address: Wagnerenstrasse 15 | Gps: Citycode 3800, City Matten, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,316 - ₹ 20,922
Hotel Class:2 star — Waldhotel Unspunnen 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cosy Waldhotel Unspunnen is situated in wooded surroundings, only 1.5 Km from the Interlaken-West railway station. It offers a fantastic view to the mountains. It is an ideal base for excursions to the famous Jungfrau region, such as Jungfraujoch or Schilthorn or the Schynige-Platte mountain. The hotel offers free parking for cars inf front of the hotel as well as free wireless-LAN in the whole building. The owner has good knowledge about the area and is able to give you the best holiday advice. Enjoy tasty Swiss food in the Schnadis restaurant or on the sunny terrace offering magnificent view to the Eiger, Monch and Jungfrau range.The hotel with a local host and personal holiday advice is reached within 15-20 minutes on foot or 3 minutes by taxi. It takes 8 minutes on foot to the next bus station called ,,Heimwehfluh" (Bus #104). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Waldhotel Unspunnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing