We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (783)
Filter reviews
783 results
Traveller rating
267
309
130
46
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
267
309
130
46
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews awesome views central location view from the balcony floor mountains gym switzerland train coop snow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 783 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2019

A lovely clean, spacious Hotel in a great location right in the heart of Interlaken. Balcony rooms offer stunning views of Jungfrau mountain. As indicated, rooms are spacious and clean, but there are no tea or coffee facilities but these are easily obtained on the 1st floor from the Fitness Centre. Rooms have large bathrooms but soap is contained in pump style liquid form so if you want normal soap, you need to take your own, the shower was disappointing as it is located in the bathtub and I personally find such showers dangerous when stepping in and out. The Hotel is an easy 10-15 walk from the Railway Station or, if you take a cab, about a three minute drive at a cost of 14 Swiss Francs. Excellent breakfast with a great variety. Fully equipped Gymnasium/Fitness Centre. Right in the heart of the shopping strip. Would certainly recommend this Hotel.

Date of stay: August 2019
2  Thank Dreben
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2019

Dear Dreben

Wow, what a rating. Thank you for your laudatory words.

We will gladly pass on the compliments for our view, cleanliness, spacious rooms, fitness and location on to our employees.

To make it a little easier to shower in the bathtub, you can get anti-slip mats at our reception or from the housekeeping team.

It is great that you will recommend our hotel to others and we hope to welcome you again soon and spoil you.

Best regards
Your Metropole Hotel
Daniela Meier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2019

I stayed on the 14th floor recently in one of the refurbished rooms.
It was nicely done but not perfect by a long way

Pros
Carpet tiles so stains can be replaced easily, a problem with the old rooms
Nice new giant TV with lots of channels including many UK channels
Slippy vents on way out to balcony replaced with some wood effect.

Negatives
No doors on the clothes storage shelves and hangar space
Safe right on top of the fridge, it cooks anything left in the safe, not good for electrics like tablets and PCs
No hooks in the bathroom, this is inexcusable
I don't believe wall mounted soap dispensers is appropriate for a 4* hotel. It's like a budget hotel
Although there were many TV channels, the laminated sheet listing the channels still showed 31 chanels, ie the old system. Had not been updated.

Overall I thought the room was more like an IBIS than a 4* hotel. There is limited desk area, no proper chair for the desk, no nightstand.

Summary
The old rooms were long overdue for refurbishment. Although the new rooms are competently done, they don't say "4* Hotel" to me.
Would I stay there again? Yes, the views are unbeatable.

Room tip: High floors for best view of the Jungfrau
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank radiosutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2019

Dear radiosutch

Thank you very much for the great review and the compliments for our replaceable carpet tiles and TV Screens.

The negative points you mentioned are helpful to improve our performance. Therefore, we will discuss your feedback internally.

However, we are pleased that you will visit us again. And we totally understand that you don't want to miss out our view :)

Best regards
Your Metropole Team
Daniela Meier
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2019

I did stay in this Hotel with a tour group and can’t comment on price.
After initial shock ( balcony condition, outdated room, etc). I realized that a room and the bathroom are quite comfortable, reasonably clean, refrigerator quiet.
View was out of this world.
It was quite hot outside and there was no a/c, but I appreciate the view and quietness of the room.
Staff was very friendly, breakfast was good.
I would stay in this Hotel again

Room tip: Upper floors have a better views
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerona12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2019

Dear Gerona12

Thank you very much for the great review and the kind words. We are happy to pass on the compliments to our employees.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Best regards,
Your Metropole Team
Daniela Meier
Guest Relations Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2019

Location is excellent, reception people are very helpful and smiley. But rooms carpet is not good enough to get positive feelings. For small thing such as tea coffee, ironing, need to go to some other floor. Nothing is available in the room in the name of health and safety.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sapkotabimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Dear sapkotabimal

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the location and our staff.

We have a refreshing corner with free coffee and tea 24/7 at our terrazzo lounge and a iron station on the 3rd floor for our guest.

However, we hope that we may greet you again at our hotel.

Best regards
Your Metropole Team
Daniela Meier
Guest Relations Manager







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2019

Very small size of the room
Very light furniture
Small beds
Very small bathroom
Scary balcony
Interiors are below average
Lobby is well built though

I found it not at all worth for the price charged by the hitel

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JatinPoddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metropoleinterlaken, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Dear JatinPoddar

Thank you very much for your review.

We are sorry that you had a few points which you did not like.

Firstly, we are happy to inform you that we are going to renovate our rooms step by step during the next few years.

Regarding the issue about the room size: For your next stay we would be glad to book a bigger room in a higher category with a bigger interior and bathroom.

Nevertheless, we hope that you give us the change to welcome you again at our hotel.

Best regards
Your Metropole Team
Daniela Meier
Guest Relations Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews