We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugly outside but excellent interior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ugly outside but excellent interior”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The best place to avoid the ugly tower that is the Metropole Interlaken is inside the hotel itself. Once inside the second of the double doors one is in a world of old-fashioned good taste in a modern setting. The atrium bar (with its elegant white grand piano) is a bit close to the front door but the barman is friendly and knowledgeable and there are comfy armchairs in which to sit nibbling the superb nut selection offered with one's drink - if one prefers not to perch on a bar-stool. Switzerland is so expensive that all prices are frightening (15 Swiss francs for a Dry Martini) but that is not the fault of the hotel. The staff are clearly very highly trained but extremely friendly and attentive. The barman impressed us by remembering my husband's preferred variation of his Negroni recipe!
Our room was comfortable and we were pleased to see that there were two chairs inside as well as two on the small balcony outside with its glorious view of the Jungfrau. There is nothing more annoying than a room for two people with only one chair. Apparently every room has a similar view which is itself a reason for choosing the hotel. We were on a Great Rail Journeys tour so evening meals were provided in the hotel most evenings and the standard of cooking in the main restaurant was very good indeed. The top-floor bar and restaurant, despite better views, were not so good - and much more limited in choice - but the manager told us they are trying to improve the kitchen facilities there which will allow greater variety..
We would certainly recommend the hotel both for its excellent central location - the bus from Interlaken Ost stops outside and it is only five minutes walk to the West station - and for the friendliness of the staff. One of our fellow guests has been returning once or twice a year for the past quarter century.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    203
    78
    29
    14
See reviews for
119
185
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

When I first saw the building, my heart sank and I started to have second thoughts about choosing this hotel. Even the hotel lobby is unimpressive. However, everything changed once we checked into our room. The room is spacious and there is a balcony overlooking the mountains and staying at the 13th floor gave us a bird's eye view of the area. We could not be more thankful. Breakfast was a standard fare (buffet-style). The hotel is conveniently located near the Interlaken Ost station, restaurants, shops and two huge hypermart, Migros and Coop. There are a lot of asian restaurants around the hotel as well within the vicinity of Interlaken town. Despite my initial qualms, I would definitely stayed in this hotel if I made a return back to this wonderful town.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for a bird's eye view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomeeRamli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metropoleinterlaken, Manager at Metropole Hotel Interlaken, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast

Herzlichen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns bei Tripadvisor zu bewerten!

Als einziges Hochhaus in Interlaken haben wir das Privileg, unseren Gästen die beste Aussicht auf Interlaken und die Jungfrau zu bieten. Dabei sind für uns aber auch die "inneren Werte" wie Freundlichkeit, Aufmerksamkeit und der Gästefokus neben einem ausgezeichneten Hotelservice von zentraler Bedeutung. Ihr Kommentar bekräftigt uns dabei, auf dem richtigen Weg zu sein.

Leider ist das äussere Erscheinungsbild nicht ohne weiteres zu ändern, sind uns doch aus diversen Gründen die Hände gebunden. Jedoch verfolgen wir doch auch die Gästekommentare, um eines Tages auch dieses Manko beheben zu können.

Noch einmal herzlichen Dank für Ihren Kommentar. Wir freuen uns, Sie bei einem nächsten Aufenthalt in Interlaken wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.

Freundliche Grüsse

Marco von Euw
Direktor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Metropole is the tallest hotel in Interlaken so you cannot miss it for sure. 5 minutes walk from the interlaken west, on the main street so very well placed. We had amazing views of the Jungfrau and the Eiger from our room on the 6th floor, it had a small balcony so ideal for a couple of drinks. Its next to Victoria Jungfrau and Casino Kursaal so couldn't be better positioned. Would definitely recommend the hotel for a short stay in Interlaken (longer stay definitely go for a self catered apartment). The hotel gives you free passes for public transport but then you would prefer to walk around the area rather than take a bus. The breakfast area is also overlooking the street and the mountains so again wonderful views, though could do with more vegetarian hot buffet options. But then don't expect to find the full English breakfast in any European hotel. Location, service, hospitality all very good. Wifi is chargeable which is probably typical of all Swiss hotels unless you stay in a hostel. We even got Easter chocolate bunny as we stayed there for Easter :)

Room Tip: Book a room on higher floor with a view, they even have two basins in the bath so no fighting over w...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NDPri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My sister and I stayed here last Spring during our grand tour of Europe. Again, having no idea where to stay, we chose the Metropole Hotel based off the location and the good reviews we had read at the time on Trip Advisor. I must say, we scored better on this hotel than we did in Copenhagen. We were pleasantly surprised, and enjoyed our stay.
We arrived by train late in the evening. Fortunately, the hotel was only a short walk from both the train and bus station. We reached the hotel, and, at first glance, the hotel appears older (it reminded me of something out of an older James Bond film from the Sean Connery era), but once you walk inside it's a whole different game. The hotel was very modern, yet comfortable. It was well kept and had a certain elegance to it. Based on the deal we got, we started to wonder if we were in the right place. It was much nicer than anticipated. The staff at reception was very nice and accommodating throughout our stay. The rooms, though older, were quite comfortable, well kept and clean - although our bathroom door did tend to stick a little, especially after a shower. The onsite restaurant has a great breakfast buffet. Finally, let's not forget the views. Like I said, we arrived late the evening before, so had no idea what were going to wake up to the next morning. All I can say is, the views are spectacular, even on an overcast and drizzling day like what we had. All the more so if you go to the restaurant and balcony up top.
Bottom line, the Metropole is a clean, comfortable hotel with a great location in Interlaken. It's a great value for what you get. I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Interlaken.

Room Tip: When you book your room, make sure you buy the breakfast plan with it, if you plan on eating at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boarder_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I went to your hotel in June 2011 the hotel was booked through Great Rail Journeys. The Hotel was very good and the food and the room was excellent .The staff were very friendly. I had a room on the eighth floor facing the Jungfrau. The hotel is near to Interlaken Ost.

There is a free bus service in Interlarken.There is a restraurant on the top floor of this hotel with a very good view of both Lakes in Interlarken and the Jungfrau area. All your staff said 'good morning' to you even the cleaning estates staff.

I would use this hotel again and I have told other people about your hotel .Please keep your very good work up. This is from a very satisfied customer.



Thii







h






es

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
590 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
666 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
373 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel Interlaken? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Interlaken

Property: Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Address: Hoeheweg 37, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,510 - ₹ 28,001
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel Interlaken 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metropole is located in the Bernese Oberland, surrounded by beautiful mountain landscape. It is towering majestically above the rooftops of Interlaken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel Interlaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interlaken Metropole Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing