We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed here one night with my extended family in april 2012. We like the hotel alot. But the down side is.. There is no free wifi in this hotel. So sad. But the hotel location is nice. Especially the free parking.

The location of this hotel is amazing, it is near to everywhere. Although the town isnt very big either. But it is an experience, the view of the swiss alp, it is an experience you wont just forget.

Room Tip: The room in the other building, there was 4 beds in our room. Ask the room on the highest. The view...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darwan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

244 - 248 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights from March 23rd - March 25th 2012. The hotel is located close to Interlaken West station. In and around the hotel one can find a number of restaurants, shopping places for souvenirs, there is a McDonalds too :-) The room was comfortable but the size was the room was small. The hotel staff were very courteous and polite.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madhur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I was at this hotel for seven nights in January. The hotel has three buildings .... the main building where reception and the breakfast room are (along with the Swiss Chalet restaurant), a Guest House building just across a little street from the main building, and a building called the Residence alongside the main building. I was in the guest house as part of a group. Check in was efficient, the Guest House proved to be pretty modern, although minimalist. The room was a moderate size and perhaps bigger than some typical European rooms (which can really be small) At first I was wondering where we would put all of our clothes because there were only three drawer like shelving spots in the wardrobe ...but the wardrobe was large with lots of hanging space (and I always bring a few extra hangars, above which were long shelves so we managed storage just fine after all. The marble bathroom had a deep tub and the sink had a little bit of a U shaped extension around the back of it which served as a bit of space on which to place some of your toiletries.
The staff at the hotel was friendly to me in every capacity and situation...and sometimes I saw them in what I would call trying situations. The manager is very nice too. The hotel has two computers just off the lobby which are free to use. I should mention though that the seats for those are like ottomans on wheels and one day I sat down and the ottoman flew out from under me, went several feet to the other side of the lobby, and I banged down hard and flat out on the floor. Still dealing with back pain several days later from that one so maybe the hotel should consider a fixed chair vs the flying wheeled ottoman !
We did encounter two issues....one was that our entire building was controlled with central heat, no individual controls. The days were warmer than usual and the rooms for the first days were sweltering. That meant we had to keep the windows open - bad idea if , like us, your room faced the street separating the main building and guest house ...lots of street noise and even music on that first Saturday night at all hours. Eventually the staff turned down the central heat and we were just warm, not hot, and tried to keep the windows closed for the noise.
The second issue was a little more of a challenge. This hotel is popular with tour groups who come in for one night stands. Sometimes three buses would pull up and luggage always seemed to be lined up coming or going. The problem we encountered was two fold. Our group seemed to only have half a hallway (on various levels) and the other groups would fill in all the other open rooms on the floor ...but since they were always coming and going, and had early breakfasts scheduled to accommodate them, they had no regard for acting quietly. On one day myself, and another woman from my group in a nearby room, went to the door in our PJ's and made hand signal motions for these people to be quiet (families, young kids running from room to room at 630 am) ...even when one mother said "sorry" the quiet only lasted for two minutes and even the father was getting loud. This happened on more than one morning. I would recommend the hotel not co-mingle different groups on the same floor when one group has a really early schedule. Also, our group had a few reserved tables in the breakfast room and these other "one night stand" groups all seemed to have a behavior that they would swarm the buffet table immediately upon entering the room and take very large platefuls of food. Maybe we just were there at a time that coincided with these particular groups all having a vacation time in their home country far away. It was a nuisance for all of us, and for the hotel staff to deal with too. The hotel has about 200+ rooms so they do cater to groups as well.
As mentioned previously, this location does make for a longer commute to the ski areas, but you save money because of it. So decide what is important to you. The public transportation system works pretty well and the hotel is close to a few bus routes but you are talking at least one bus and train, and maybe a second train to get you up to the slopes. On our first day we just missed one bus, and the second bus just missed connecting with the train so we lost an hour just in waiting time. I'm making plans for a return to the area next year but will definitely stay in a hotel in the ski town of Grindelwald then.

Room Tip: Away from the street in case you have to open your windows for air
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MEDISKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We are staying in the hotel where this restaurant is located so it Was certainly convenient. The first meal was so bad that we thought it had to be a fluke so we decided to give it another try. BIG mistake.

The first meal was so terrible and this is not a cheap place to eat. We had some carrots and peas, mashed potatoes and a piece of "steak" which was not only tough and fatty but had this very dark gravy, heavily salted over it. The dessert was what would be considered by me to be average. It was a type of souffle/jelly type dessert with a hint of Grand Marnier.

Last night we had a first plate of sliced meats. Very salty and not tasty at all. We ate it because we were hungry. The truly horrendous thing was our entree, fondue. If you are thinking you might at least have some good quality cheese, this was not. It was not even prepared table side so you had no idea what was in it. Now, the unbelievable thing was what they gave you for dipping into your cheesy mix. Ifnyou think you might get meat of some sort, chicken, fish, think again. It was pieces of stale bread. They also had a few small boiled potatoes, a couple of pieces of pears, some OLIVES, a bit of assorted pickled items. This was it.

I would highly suggest you spend your money elsewhere if you are dining in Interlaken.

Room Tip: I realized after I reviewed one of the restaurants in this hotel, the Swiss Chalet, that this was fo...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyageurmonde19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed here for a 1 night stop in Switzerland and was very satisfied with this property. Only about 2 blocks walk from the the Interlaken West station. Was able to get to/from station to reach the Jungfrau/Shilthorn alps attraction with ease. Staff was very courteous and room simple and clean. Rate was also very reasonable. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SeattlePoidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#15 of 40 in Interlaken
185 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Krebs
Hotel Krebs
#7 of 40 in Interlaken
382 reviews
1.0 km away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#14 of 40 in Interlaken
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
Metropole Hotel Interlaken
#6 of 40 in Interlaken
516 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
686 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Bernerhof
Hotel Bernerhof
#19 of 40 in Interlaken
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland

Address: Hoeheweg 7, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Price Range: ₹ 9,116 - ₹ 20,185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the City Hotel Oberland! The Hotel is very centrally located in the heart of Interlaken, only a few minutes walking distance from the Interlaken West railway station and close to the best knwon sights. 191 rooms with a high level of comfort, different conference rooms, shops and boutiques, 3 restaurants and 2 bars cater for just about all wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and Ostrovok so you can book your City Swiss Q Hotel Oberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Swiss q Interlaken
City Swiss q Resort Oberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing