We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic property”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Du Lac
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Interlaken
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
1 review
“Authentic property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

If you want marble and gold do not consider this place, but if you would like an authentic family run property in a very convenient location at a reasonable price this is the place for you.
With the exception of one rather surly waiter, the staff are excellent, very attentive, knowledgeable, and extremely willing to help in any way possible.
Add to that, the owner is the manager, and very hands on, so things tend to run like a Swiss clock.
Some of the features and fittings are a little dated and could do with a review, but they add to the ambience and the experience.
Location is excellent, between the railway station and the beautiful river, and tucked under a very steep hill.Nearby tourist destinations such as Jungfrau and Pilaetus are easily reached from the Interlaken Ost station.Boat cruises also leave from just outside the hotel.
Train noise was not a problem to us,but some sensitive souls may be inclined to complain.
Would stay again but for longer so as to enjoy nwhat is to offer in the near vicinity.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    52
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
53
107
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here as part of a package sold to us by stc.co.uk who assured us all our accommodation would be 4 * but the Du Lac was a total let down it was tired dirty and in need of total refurbishment. The mini bar consisted of a basket with a selection of small bottles covered in dust and a hot melting bar of Toblerone which was out of date. there is no air conditioning so the room is very hot but you cannot open the windows as the noise from the adjacent Train Station is unbearable making sleep almost impossible even when closed. Overall It was disappointing

Room Tip: if you must stop here choose a room over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

We picked this hotel because it had a reasonable reputation, but mostly because of the great location beside Interlaken Ost station and the Brienzersee piers. Very handy for Brienzersee, Interlaken Ost, Schyngge Platte, Jungfrau, Golden Pass train and so on.

Our room was a corner one with a nice small balcony looking south towards the Jungfrau massif. If you are bothered at all by noisy stations avoid this side of the building as a) very bright fluorescent lights are left on all night (so much for green Switzerland), b) usual station noise in the morning. No probs for us, though, except the annoying lights.

The room was spotless and large enough, with daily fresh flowers. There is a room fan if required. We ate here one night. The hotel describes the food as gastro, it is not. Good, esoteric, strange choices for sauces. Our laundry took 2 full days to appear and staff didn't seem to care when we asked where it was. if you want a drink after 10pm, look elsewhere and avoid the wine from the mini-bar, yugh.

Interlaken council have allowed a giant youth hostel to be built across the road, which will ruin the views and this end of town, which is the quiet end. It really will be an eyesore. Started building work at 7am!

Room Tip: Corner room; Rooms on the river are much quieter; Get a room higher up the building; Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShuggMcGlummfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay, India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Just back from a four day stay at Hotel Du-Lac.

Here are the facts:

1) The Location: The Hotel is located just outside Interlaken Ost station. In fact, it is closer than it seems on Google maps. Just take the exit away from Track 1 and there you are – the Hotel is right there. While this means easy access to the station, it is certainly a mixed blessing. The disturbance from the noise of the trains is real and undeniable. And believe me, having spent my entire life in Bombay, I have a high threshold of tolerance for noise! As an additional bonus, there was some construction activity bang opposite the Hotel that added to the din! There are enough hotels in Interlaken West that offer proximity to the station without the din!

2) The Hotel and the rooms: Certainly not a four star property. The lift is small and rickety. The rooms are small and sad – the carpets old, stained and spotted (various shades of blue). The bathroom is basic – hospital-like metal cabinets, bare minimal toiletries (a wall mounted soap dispenser – we were told that the same soap could be used as a shampoo and that no shampoo would be separately available), one set of shower caps that we had to recycle for 4 days since these were never replaced. The room had a really tiny TV (modern computer monitors are bigger). The rooms have old fashioned keys that come with a HUGE and HEAVY key chain. This means that you are forced to leave your room keys at reception whenever you leave the Hotel. There is a pigeonhole like contraption near the reception where you just drop your keys. You also pick up the keys yourself when you are back. The rack is left unattended and at times there is no one at the reception. This means that you can easily pick up the keys to some other room (and some other guest can easily access your room) – not a very secure feeling!

3) The Breakfast: Decent fare with a selection of breads, cheese, cereals, fruit. No complaints (being a vegetarian I cannot comment on the non-vegetarian fare). The staff (new faces every day) was friendly and service oriented. There is a nice view of the Lake from the Breakfast room.

4) The Infrastructure: Very basic. There is no receptionist at night – only a night porter who does not even know how to operate the EPABX system. My folks called up at 630 am and were told by the night porter that he would be unable to connect them to my room. Thank God for cell phones. Shudder to think what would happen one does not have cell phone connectivity and if someone wants to contact you in an emergency!

This was my experience: We arrived early (at around 11) and met the owner Mr Hoffman at the reception. Not the warmest of personalities! Gruff and almost rough! To his credit, he did offer us a room on the first floor, but it was too sad for our liking. Since we were staying for four nights, we requested him for an alternate room. We enquired if we could get a lake facing room, but were told that we would have to pay an extra supplement for such a room. On enquiring if a room on a higher floor would be available, we were again told that an extra supplement would have to be paid for a room on a higher floor. Finally we settled for a room on the second floor and we were told that it would be “ready” in two hours. We enquired if we could occupy the room on the first floor till our room was ready, Mr. Hoffman initially agreed subject to the condition that we do not use the bathroom, so that the room would not need to be “done” again. We agreed, but Mr. Hoffman seemed to have changed his mind. He said that he would inspect the room (that we would occupy for 2 hours) and there would be a Supplement payable if he considered it necessary to “re do” the room. By this time we were so sick of the “Supplement” word that we fled and returned only at around 2pm! Not the warmest of welcome.

My impressions: The owner comes across as someone who is too keen on pinching pennies. Here is a property that can be a lot better if the owners loosen the purse strings a bit and come across as less money minded. May I remind the owners that the hotel industry, although an industry, is ultimately about hospitality!

Room Tip: E mail in advance, ask for a room facing the lake, on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank SameerBombay_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed at Hotel Du Lac in Interlaken for 2 nights during our travel through switzerland. We booked through Swiss Holiday Company who told us this was a 4 star hotel, which it certainly was not. Some features of the hotel, such as decor on landings at each floor, was very nice. However, the room we stayed in was small, uncomfortable and VERY HOT. The fan was hopeless. The room faced a noisy station and building-works. The TV was totally '60s, and the poor room configuration placed the TV at a right angle to the beds, so you had to turn your head 90 degrees to watch a 14" TV. The phone didn't work and we were given a replacement handset on the second day, which was hopeless because we could not even call Reception, however we kept on receiving calls for someone called Lisa. The breakfast was reasonable and the service very good. We had specifically asked our tour company for a 4 star hotel so we were disappointed. A short walk from Du Lac is the hotel Beau Rivage, which is more a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aRICHone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Interlaken hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Interlaken
Hotel Interlaken
#4 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
0.3 km away
Carlton-Europe Hotel
Carlton-Europe Hotel
#10 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.3 km away
Stella Hotel Interlaken
Stella Hotel Interlaken
#8 of 40 in Interlaken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Lac

Property: Hotel Du Lac
Address: Hoeheweg 225, Interlaken 3800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Interlaken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Interlaken
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,429 - ₹ 18,007
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Du Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star hotel is located on the banks of the Aare River, only a short walk from Lake Brienz and the centre of Interlaken. It offers free internet access. Hotel Du Lac's rooms offer views of the mountains or the river. They feature cable TV, a safe, a minibar, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Some rooms have a balcony. The restaurant La Rivière serves Swiss and Mediterranean cuisine, fresh fish from the lake, pizza and a selection of fine wines. Light dishes are available in the restaurant Terrace. Hotel Du Lac offers bicycle rentals for a surcharge and free private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Lac Interlaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing