We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel facility itself is nice, but the service is poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Hotel Steinbock
Ranked #4 of 22 Grindelwald B&B and Inns
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
rainb0wtraveler
Level Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

The rooms were clean and comfortable, restaurant food was decent, and the breakfast buffet in the morning was a bit on the sparse side. The wifi signal was weak and inconsistent. They provide a vat of water to boil your eggs in the morning - great for being able to make soft or hard boiled eggs! Cheese served in the morning - delicious, and they also had bread and cold cereal. Walk to the train station was about a 10 minute walk downhill from the hotel. Location was beautiful, but unfortunately, we were there before the ski season opened and very few shops were open. There is a little grocery market about a 2 minute walk away or a Coop grocery about 8 minutes walk.

Beware of the shower head -- if you turn on the water full blast, you and whole room will get sprayed when you pull out the knob to move the water up to the showerhead! Beds were excellent and comfortable with a down comforter for each bed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainb0wtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear guest of the Chalet Hotel Steinbock Grindelwald.
Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Grindelwald. Before the winter season starts, the resort is very quiet, our hotel one of the few open. There were not many guests when you stayed with us and it is therefore very difficult to offer a bigger breakfast buffet. A wide choice of breads, meats, cheeses would mean, that far over half of it would have to be thrown away after each breakfast. Did you ask the waiter to prepare some dishes for you, fried eggs for example or to offer what you considered missing ?
Your judgment at the bottom is better than on top, you give only once 3 points (value) 4 or even 5 for the other issues. What a pity, that you put only 3 dots on the top.
Thank you for mentioning the problem with the shower, we will try to get that fixed.
With best regards
Urs and Salvatore (owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Hotel Steinbock is in a perfect central location in Grindelwald. A 5 minute walk takes you to the main shopping area, to the First Gondola and the train station. The rooms are clean, comfortable and modern. The restaurant was the best food we had in all of our Switzerland journey's. Ponzia and the entire wait staff provided excellent service and were attentive to their customers. We were able to enjoy the last street festival celebration where the hotel barbecued a whole pig and bratwurst. The pizza is the best around and the pasta dishes are outstanding. The gave us a day pass for the local bus that goes to a few of the neighboring communities and it stops right out the hotels front door. The provided breakfast was excellent with everything you might expect, eggs, cheese, bread, meats, jams, jellies, cereals, yogurts, fruit, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Steinbock guest.
Thank you very much for having chosen the Steinbock for yoru stay in Grindelwald. Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are very happy, that you wrote a review, as happy guests hardly ever do, unhappy ones however almost always.
We wish you all the best and hope, that you will return soon again.
with best regards.
Salvatore Ponzio, manager and co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Disappointing experience considering all the good reviews about the staff in this hotel.
Travelled with my Dad who is approaching 90.
Essential he has disabled facilities available when travelling.
E-mailed hotel regarding such a room well in advance of staying and phoned twice before giving credit card details. I was assured in writing and verbally a disabled room was available in the hotel and would be given to Dad.
We arrived early evening and discovered the room had been given to a group of very fit and lively young people.
I did not consider the room which had been allocated to my father to be safe but had no choice but to stay . We had been travelling continuously for 10 hours and were very tired . It was not possible to start looking for alternatives in a popular resort in high summer.
Whilst I had an apology from reception, this was not very helpful considering all the time I had spent prior to arrival trying to get the right room for my father. It was an unsuitable room for someone with mobility issues.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Byford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Sir. We fully understand your disappointment. The Steinbock, our very small chalet hotel has got only one room, that is suitable for people in a wheelchair. Unfortunately, where people work, mistakes are made and our secretary that very day did not read the correspondence well enough, something that should not happen, but here we are, it did. We are really very sorry.
Yours sincerely, Urs-B. Hauser, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is a totaly ok place to spend the night-great service and clean rooms! But, that's it. No luxury ameneties... But, for the price this is a very good chiose in Grindelwald, which is a very expencive village in the alps.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norwaytravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urs-Beat, Owner at Chalet Hotel Steinbock, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Dear Sir
we are happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at the Steinbock. We only think, that you could have given us at least one point more.
Grindelwald and Switzerland are only expensive, because some speculators sitting on some computers on the stock markets, have made the Swiss Franc so expensive and your currency so weak. 10 years ago, your currency was worth the double, means everything then was half price. It is the success of the Swiss government and the Swiss economy, that now is hurting us so much. What a pity, isn't it, for you and for us. We both pay for what some guys at the stock markets have done, to be able to claim a hudge bonus.
Yours sincerely
Urs-B. Hauser, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.5 km away
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant
0.6 km away
Central Hotel Wolter
Central Hotel Wolter
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.0 km away
Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Steinbock? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Steinbock

Property: Chalet Hotel Steinbock
Address: Dorfstrasse 189, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Grindelwald
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,730 - ₹ 13,121
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet Hotel Steinbock 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Hotel Steinbock is a beautiful wooden chalet, right in the centre of Grindelwald, just next to the first gondola (skiing area in winter, hiking paradise in the summer). The Steinbock was mentioned in books in 1700, but was completely rebuilt in 1991. It is famous for its restaurant - the most popular restaurant in town - with Italian and Swiss cuisine. The restaurant is famous for the huge steaks, the great pizzas, the excellent liver, to just name a few dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Chalet Hotel Steinbock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing