We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but good location for skiers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but good location for skiers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stayed at the Sunstar for 2 nights with a friend. We were there for a ski weekend so were never going to spend much time at the hotel - and for that purpose it is perfect. I don't think you could stay any closer to the Firstbahn and the ski bus to Männlichen or the bahnhof (to get a train to Kleine Scheidegg) stops right outside the hotel. First is a great area for easy skiing and Männlichen/Kleine Scheidegg is a much bigger ski area with more variety and more challenging skiing.

The hotel itself is fine - nothing special and the decor is a bit old fashioned. The ski room is a bit small and poky and the ski racks seem to have been designed before carving skis. Feels like it is time to refresh this sort of thing.

The free minibar is a nice touch even if it is not that generously stocked. Breakfast is pretty decent and the views of the mountains from the dining room are great, although the dining room itself is functional and nothing more. We chose not to eat dinner there as we thought the dining room was a bit depressing - there are plenty of other options in town.

Parking is OK - the car park was jam packed when we were there and we got one of the last free spaces which involved some complex manoeuvring to get into it.

Service was pretty friendly and helpful and the receptionists were kind enough to go and find the sunglasses I forgot in the ski room and keep them safe till I got back.

The pool is a decent size for swimming a few lengths. Our only real complaint about the hotel was that you have to pay for access to the sauna - surely in a ski hotel charging these sort of prices, sauna access should be free?

Overall, if you are just there for the skiing (or other outdoor activity) then this hotel is a great choice. But if you are looking to spend some time in the hotel, then you might be able to find better options which are a bit more up-to-date/stylish.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaJane072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    134
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
114
121
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed two days at Sunstar Grindelwald and enjoyed the nice location and friendly staff. The hotel is easy to find and offers convenient parking in the basement. The room was nice and spacious offering a great view of the mountains. Breakfast and dinner was very good. Gym all okay and massage was brilliant!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoAOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

•Excellent.
•Friendly helpful staff.
•Good breakfast, pleasant dining room but hot and tables close together.
•Very good dinner and good service.
•Lovely spacious room with superb view of Eiger, free mini bar a real bonus.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Great location, in the middle of Grindelwald yet very quiet. Request a south facing room for a great view of Eiger (these rooms also seem to be a bit larger than those facing north). Very convenient for skiers - "First Bahn" is a short walk away and the ski-bus stop right across the street (two stops to the Bahnhof plus a very pleasant train ride all the way to Kleine Scheideg).
We stayed in one room with our teenager daughter and the place was spacious enough for all of us. Very comfortable beds and an ok bathroom; enough closet space for all of our winter clothes; free non-alchocolic drinks in mini bar. Having half-board is a good option, food is very good and plentiful. Every day there are programs organized by the hotel, some of them can be fun (e.g., curling, wine tasting, torch-lit walk at night). Plenty of space in the lobby to enjoy company or work at a table; two computers available for use free of charge (no free Internet access in rooms).

Room Tip: Rooms facing south are quiet and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sunstar, I haven't a negative word to say about the hotel or Grindelwald.

We had an Eiger view room which was clean and well equipped. The service, food, pool, bar and location were all excellent, if we go to Grindalwald again we'll definitely stay at the Sunstar.

The reception staff were probably the most informed and attentive I've ever experienced, thanks for an excellent break.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaKaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.9 km away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#16 of 41 in Grindelwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald

Property: Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
Address: Dorfstrasse 168, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#5 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,197 - ₹ 26,449
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This holiday and spa hotel is in an outstandingly panoramic location, quiet and central but with uninterrupted views of the famous North Face of the Eiger, Wetterhorn and First. Inside, the hotel is decorated with lots of warm wood, and the spacious lobby has an open fire, creating a cosy atmosphere. The large, comfortable bedrooms with their light wooden furniture are perfect places to relax in. Those in certain categories have a balcony. The half-board "Ambiance" restaurant has picture-perfect views of the mountains, tempting you to linger and eat to your heart's content. Gourmet diners are also superbly catered for in the à-la-carte "Adlerstube" restaurant. In the spa centre, you'll find all kinds of ways to unwind: try the large swimming pool, the Finnish sauna, the Roman baths with four climate zones, the hydro-massage showers, the solarium or the rest room. The hotel also offers an attractive range of sports, from a fitness centre to aquagymnastics and aerobics. If you take your holidays in the glacier village of Grindelwald, you'll have the opportunity to enjoy all the many and varied activities that are available in the Jungfrau region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grindelwald Sunstar Hotel
Sunstar Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Grindelwald Hotel Sunstar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing