We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot”
Review of Hotel Spinne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Spinne
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel is very well located in Grindelwald and many rooms (including my own) have a great view of the Eiger. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful, and the room was comfortable and clean. Free wireless was much appreciated, as well as the free spa which is absolutely gorgeous (hot sauna, herbal sauna, ice room, warm jacuzzi, aromatic steam room). The outdoor terrace is fabulous, definitely the best spot in Grindelwald.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a view of the Eiger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddySheepherder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    98
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
77
134
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Nice basic family hotel in lovely Grindelward, Switzerland. The view from our mountain-facing balcony can't be beat. It was just stunning. The front desk personnel were very helpful. The place needs a face-lift though. Worn out carpets in the hallway made the place look a bit shabby.
Easy walk from the Grindelward train station.
The prices was very high as well; but can rarely be avoided in Switzerland, which is substantially more expensive than the rest of continental Europe.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sxeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Since many years we go skiing in March. This year we had luck with good quality of the snow, superb weather and limited crowds on the skislopes. On top of this the Spinne hotel is ideally located in the middle of Grindelwald and the rooms are excellent quality without traffic or other noise. The afternoon sun was a daily pleasure on our balcony and the panoramic view beautiful. Service always available with a little extra and the quality of food good! keep going!!

Room Tip: a room in the guesthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed 31/03-07/04/12 and having just read other recent reviews, there's not a lot more I can add, other than to endorse comments already made. My wife can be difiicult to please (well, you can honey x) but even she liked The Spinne. We stayed in The Guesthouse annexe at the back which was very peaceful and quiet with breathtaking scenery. Lots of little extra touches set this place apart, such as fresh fruit on arrival and a welcome card from the owners, Family Kaufmann, who also host an informal drinks reception weekly and serve in the dining room too, what a refreshing change from the bigger, chain name hotels. All staff were very friendly and helpful with good English, and Petra in the dining room is worthy of particular mention. Just a few criticisms i) the passageway to The Guesthouse could do with some fresh decor and a new carpet ii) the "garden" area immediately outside Guesthouse bedroom patios needs some TLC ...... rough grass full of weeds and starting to look overgrown did detract from the wonderful view iii) evening meal starters, soup and dessets were all very good but the main courses were a bit disappointing I'm afraid. Otherwise, great stay, great location, great staff and yes, we would return.

One word of caution: we are beginner ski-ers and found even the blue runs to be somewhat challenging. Our teacher (a local, with 42 years experience) readily admitted there seemed to be no consistency of grading and that some red runs were less difficult than some of the blues!! With the benefit of hindsight, whilst The Hotel Spinne was fine, our ski-ing ability (second ski trip) was not suited to the pistes and so we probably would have chosen another resort. Also, Buri Sports hire shop did not measure my feet for width and neither did they have wide fitting boots available. I was back 3 times over 3 days and the 4th pair were just about okay, so if you need a wide fit, beware!

Room Tip: The Guesthouse annexe at the back is newer, with bright and fresh rooms daytime, yet with the curtai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gleneagles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here from Sunday 4th March for 4 nights and enjoyed every moment here. The staff were very friendly and helpful (especially Petra in the restaurant), the food was consistently good and freshly prepared and the location was spot on! We had a wonderful view of the Eiger from our room.
The hotels location is great for local amenities, and close to the train station for trains or buses to the slopes. Although our room was a bit smaller than some others, it wasn't an issue because it was clean and had everything we needed. The small details the staff put into making your stay a good one make a difference - a weather report on your room door every day along with that evenings menu, a welcome note and even a card to tell you which member of staff cleaned your room that day!
The wellness centre was lovely and seemed quite new. you'd never know it was there from the outside. They provided towels, robes and hotel slippers to use.
This is the first time i have written a review on trip advisor but because i was so pleased with the Hotel Spinne i felt compelled to share! Me and my husband are planning to stay there when we go back in the summer with the mountain bikes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
557 reviews
0.7 km away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
939 reviews
0.2 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
492 reviews
0.2 km away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.6 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spinne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spinne

Property: Hotel Spinne
Address: Dorfstrasse 136, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,660 - ₹ 37,252
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spinne 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Year-round Four-story Hotel with shuttered windows & wooden balconies, located 500 meters from train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinne Hotel Grindelwald
Best Western Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing