We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
126
136
29
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
136
29
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business hotel train station modern hotel rhine falls breakfast buffet recommend this hotel business trip easy access old city great spa hotel stay rooms are comfortable included in the rate wellness area wifi connection early morning excellent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

Schaffhausen is a picturesque town. The Arcona is right by the train station and although initially aghast,we had no sleeping issues. The town centre is 3 minutes walk so the hotel is well positioned
Our junior suite was impressive and spotlessly clean, however i noticed that the fridge and selection of beverages were not restocked. There are no movie channels on the tv.
The bar and restaurant area were busy and the food good, although it's not fine dining.
The gym was more than adequate and the Spa fine. Our Masseuse Magdalen was excellent.
I've not much more to add, although the staff varied in demeanour,from the cold and aloof to the most friendly. I would stay there again.

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank RGB216BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A W, Director of Sales at arcona LIVING Schaffhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Many thanks for your feedback in Tripadvisor. This is most important for us in order to improve and guarantee our quality.

Your response was translated into German, there are therefore some mistranslations. We hope our respond will be corresponding to your issues though.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and do apologies that your mini-bar was not full, as it is supposed to be.

There is 86 TV-Channels, unfortunately we do not have a film-channel for the moment. We have taken note of this though.

Our staff is continuously trained and a warm hospitality is what want to provide to all our guests. We are very sorry to hear, that you have felt differently and will sensitizing this matter to be able to improve our standards.

We are glad to hear that you where satifisfied with our wellnessarea and with the spa.

Should you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at a.wiman@schaffhausen.arcona.ch

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2014

This is definitely a contemporary and modern style hotel. Every aspect looked new and furnished. It is located just beside the train station which makes it easily accessible. The restaurant had friendly and helpful staffs; they provided us with efficient and quality service. The food was reasonably priced and delicious. It is a great place to have lunch, dinner, or simply just a drink with friends and family. I would definitely recommend this hotel to those around me and will come again myself very soon.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank kitty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arconaLIVING, Manager at arcona LIVING Schaffhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Dear Guest,

many thanks for your kind feedback. We are most happy to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel.

With kindest regards
The management of arcona LIVING SCHAFFHAUSEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2014

Everything was very nice,staff was helpfull and room was nice!But maybe the room could be for somebody very modern...in our room was not a bath in the bathroom,only the shower,but it was no a problem for us...quite strange and interesting was you could see easily what is happening in the shower...everything was made from glasss so you could see everything what is going on there while you were in the bed...Also quite strange for me was We had to pay for the towels or bathrobes even we have been the hotel guest in their spa..even this the spa was very nice and confortable place and we really enjoyed our stay there...We have been also in the restaurant and tried the meal at the bar...everything was nice with very good service!

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MoniQeen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela S, Manager at arcona LIVING Schaffhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice feedback. We are happy that you had a good stay in our Hotel.
Looking forward to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
arcona LIVING SCHAFFHAUSEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014

The hotel was booked by my client as a newly opened place and hence a great addition to the more traditional choices in SH. Reception was very helpful although - because the hotel is new - they do not have the routine in some areas (e.g. knowing details about public transport). The design of the hotel is very cool and the rooms are perfect. I loved the half open bathroom (cabins for shower and toilet). breakfast was excellent (which is quite usual for Switzerland though).

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeanDiversity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela S, Manager at arcona LIVING Schaffhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back again, we remain with kind regards
your arcona LIVING SCHAFFHAUSEN Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2014

i had booked a suite in this hotel for just one night as this is the only rooms they offer for 3 people. the room was very big with a nice bathroom and living room, which had a fold out couch.
the bedroom can also be closed to ensure some privacy i guess if you are staying there with children.

the room was quite large (arund 40sqm) and was on the 6th floor with a good view.
what i didn't like was the A/C as it was quite cold and I wasn't able to adjust it to warm the room.
Also there are no curtains, only thin sliding blinds so it is very light in the morning. it seemed like there would have been shutters but i couldn't find anything to close them.

when i booked the hotel i thought hotel guests would have free access to the asia spa. this is not the case. it costs 25.- to access the spa and the gym and I felt this was a bit falsly advertised.

The breakfast was very good in the morning and the staff is extremely friendly.
Defintely a great place to stay for a short trip as everything is very modern and clean and the prices are very good as well.

overall I'd say GOOD, not very good but defintely above average. I must also mention that the hotel has only been open for 2 months so this might explain why certain things aren't working properly yet.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kristina091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniela S, Manager at arcona LIVING Schaffhausen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2015

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your most constructive feedback. We are sorry that our front office staff did not inform you where to find the button to close the shutters. That the spa is not included in the room rate is part of our pricing policy. Our hotel guests using the spa get a reduction on the regular price.

We do once again thank you for your constructive feedback and remain
With kindest regards your arcona LIVING SCHAFFHAUSEN Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews