We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Italian restaurant !”
Review of Mamma Assunta

Mamma Assunta
Ranked #86 of 252 Restaurants in St. Gallen
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 19 May 2016

This is a superb family run Italian Restaurant. Very homely and friendly. Food is authentic, home cooked with fresh ingredients and very reasonable price. Have to say the Carbonara was the best I have ever eaten. Bit of a job to find but worth the effort, just round the corner from the Eistein Conference Centre.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2015

This is a small, attractive Italian restaurant. The décor is inviting, the food above average, and the service friendly and efficient. The menu is extensive and varied and the presence of "regulars" makes you feel as if you are almost in a family dining situation

Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We ordered to large pizza and had some beers each.
We also ordered plain tap water. They charged us 7 CHF (!!!)
for two glasses. This is beyond any reason.
Avoid at all costs! (pun intended)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nikolaus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MammAssunta1985, Manager at Mamma Assunta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Dear Nikolaus K

we read your comment, consider you content and don't agree on everything you just wrote.
Let us explain from our point of view.

First of all, you enjoyed an evening this week in our restaurant and had eaten each one a pizza. we don't think the pizza was too bad, because you've eaten them all. So far, we don't think, your suggest to avoid our house at all costs is justified. It's going more into a calumny as a rating. We just think it's not really fair.

Let us come to the real disagreement, which causes the dissatisfaction of your stay.
It is real, we charged you for tap water, but in opposite of your telling, you drunk 2 carafe of 0.5l each and not like written from you only 2 glasses. This costs are declared into the menu which you both studied before ordering.
The costs we charging is not for the tap water, for that we would be able to give it for free, but what sometimes has gone lost is, that to run a restaurant in satisfaction for our clients, there are some points we have to consider. We have running costs we have to pay every months, and the biggest ist the personal cost, which brought to you the tap water and the worker who has done the pizza for you. Then there are some regular costs like the rent, the electricity and all other open costs which are used for running a business. All the side costs are increased over the years, which we are not able to go with on our price model to be fair for all. They are all part of our calculation which makes the price.

We are really sorry to not have let feel you comfortable after your visit at the Mamma Assunta and asking you to get to understand our point of view as well.

Thank you for your opinion we will consider it for sure and try to find some other ways to be able to handle it. Maybe we will work with some organizations like water for all and donate a part of the income for a good cause. We will look to find a good solution for all.

Best regards
The Mamma Assunta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We went there for dinner and were a bit early, so we were the only guests. While the family of the owner had their dinner we enjoyed traditional Italian food. The Antipasti plate was really good and the pasta was delicious! The owner was a truly Italian host, charming and friendly. He offered us the possibility to put aside our biking equipment and backback in order to enjoy our dinner. We would surely return there for a nice pizza or pasta.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philo_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MammAssunta1985, Manager at Mamma Assunta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Dear Philo_on_the_go

Thank you for your kind words and we appreciated that you had a wonderful stay at our restaurant. We will be honored to welcome you again in future and let you try some other specialities.

Best regards
The Mamma Assunta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

My wife and I had a great Italian meal. She had the spinach and ricotta ravioli and I had the baked macaroni and cheese. We ate every bite and it was fantastic. The baked Mac and cheese was the best I ever had! Service was great and will come back again for sure the next time I visit St. Gallen!

Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MammAssunta1985, Inhaber at Mamma Assunta, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Dear Sean T

Thank you so much for your rating. We are very pleased to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our house and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Thank you
Mamma Assunta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamma Assunta also viewed

St. Gallen, Canton of St. Gallen
St. Gallen, Canton of St. Gallen
 
St. Gallen, Canton of St. Gallen
St. Gallen, Canton of St. Gallen
 
St. Gallen, Canton of St. Gallen
St. Gallen, Canton of St. Gallen
 

Been to Mamma Assunta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing