We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (290)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
121
96
32
20
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
96
32
20
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi bar lake view lakeside hotel breakfast was excellent beautiful town the hotel's restaurant lake neuchatel train station lovely hotel junior suite corner room recommend this hotel nespresso machine room service within walking distance comfortable bed the air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently spent a few days here with work colleagues as we had chosen Neuchatel for our global team meeting.

I won't lie, when I read "Best Western" I wasn't expecting much but I was positively surprised. The hotel is located right on the lake with an absolutely stunning view wherever you turn.

The rooftop bar is stunning with fantastic decor. You have to try the Absinthe given that Neuchatel is the birthplace of it!

The hotel's restaurant serves top notch food (and I'm picky when it comes to my food).

The rooms aren't super luxurious but they give you what you need. While the beds could have been more comfortable, I've slept on much worse. Also, you have ample space to move around and the rooms are clean.

The staff at reception were very delightful as were the restaurant staff. At the rooftop bar we had one waiter that was quite Swiss in his mannerisms (cold and direct :)) but we also had a waitress who emitted bundles of warmth and was super helpful with all our Absinthe related questions.

The hotel is also walking distance from the Neuchatel's downtown and its a beautiful walk.

If you are ever in Neuchatel, or plan to visit, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Hotel is renovated, rooms are spacious, rooftop of the hotel is amazing overviewing the lake and ask for lake view cause it has breathtaking view plus private terrace. However service was below average. Cleaning service was poor, reception people were rude, and the breakfast was below basic, even poor, with a poor service as well,

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

This was our second visit to this beautiful scenic terrasse. The first time we waited over 30 minutes to be served (there were only three other tables occupied). Today we passed a very unpleasant guy at the reception area before taking the lift upstairs. We seated ourselves at an outdoor table and after a 20 minute wait we decided that it was time to leave to go somewhere else where the “acceuil” was much more friendly. Come on Beaulac, you need to do much better!! Please do not snob your precious customers,

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Waves is the clearly the new ‘in’ place in historic Neuchatel. At last someone has had the vision to exploit the rooftop of this lakeside hotel, which has been renovated over many years, and have created a fabulous rooftop terrace venue to enjoy the panoramic and commanding views over Neuchatel town and port but also over the lake towards the Alps. We were visiting Neuchatel for a week and met friends here for evening drinks on two separate occasions. When we were just 3 the service was fine but on the second occasion we were a larger party and getting waiter attention was challenging and ordering a second round of drinks for 10 people took over 30 minutes to deliver. I understand Waves is new and there are a number of ‘teething’ issues which need to be addressed; poor service was a very common theme when we discussed this with local friends and colleagues. We did not eat here but the drinks are expensive; but then this is Switzerland and you do get an incredible panoramic view! I look forward to seeing improvements on the service front on a subsequent visit.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank GCR484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

This is a well-appointed Hotel by the lakeside, with outside bar and restaurant area, and a fantastic luxury roof terrace, Staff are very helpful and pleasant, always trying to do their best. The food can be limited especially f you have dietary requirements e.g gluten-free, there were only3 items on the menu. I would recommend if you are in this area - 5 minute walk from town centre and next to a small harbour where there are also boat trips on the lake

Room Tip: Lakeside view is good
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaveyD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews