We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly underwhelming”
Review of Beau-Rivage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here last weekend and experienced friendly and helpful service as is to be expected from a 5*. The room and corridor were quite old fashioned (70's style not even a distinct era which could match a grand hotel as this one) albeit spacious. Quite simplistic room with modest lake view and balcony was ok, what we really liked were the more interesting room features such as the trolley which is a really fun and innovative idea, as well as the small selection of literature from Swiss authors. Overall it was fine what we needed it for but would not necessarily go back again, the terrace on the ground floor is quite nice but slow service.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank gg7786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding our property. We were glad to read that you really enjoyed the quality of service along with our wide range of in room facilities.

We are sorry to read that the decoration, which is a very personnel concern, was not of you appreciation. Although the hotel was built in 1993, the rooms have been renovated and refurnished over the 5 last years.

We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Kind regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Beau-Rivage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Understated yet luxurious hotel... All staff very helpfully and friendly - you could have a conversation!

Although expensive the price gets you comfort and peace and quiet. Excellent soundproofing, wonderfully for all of us light sleepers.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank newfoundman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay with us along with our special room amenities! We do pride ourselves in creating unique experience, and we are glad that you have picked up on this.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stay here since 1996 once/twice a year..Stayed 2 nights again..It is great..The price you pay is really good for such a well located and managed beautiful Hotel.Service,food,rooms..all are perfect..
The only thing I can "complain" is that there is always somewhere in the hotel under renovation!But you hardly feel it..business or pleasure..always good.

Room Tip: almost all rooms have lake view..
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KOXAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your feeling concerning your stays in our property.

It is always a pleasure for our team to receive such positive reviews, especially from our regular guests.

We do pride ourselves in offering a perfect and up to date environment to our guests, and we are glad that you have picked up on this.

We all look forward to the pleasure of your return visit.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have stayed here a total of 3 times now. Every visit I have treated politely by the staff and have found the room and meals absolutely fine. It has a wonderful view / location and is very convenient for travelling in town or further afield. Typically Swiss understated. No problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side overlook the back street but the lake can still be seen (just). Obviously th...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegrumpyoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your nice words and are delighted that you enjoyed our stays with us.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future,

Best Regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

no 1 in neuchatel. manager has great and surprisingly positive ideas. a music box in the room (suite) - what a wonderful and special idea. settings beautiful - great staff

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geneva2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your nice words. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay with us along with our service and special room amenities! We do pride ourselves in creating unique experience, and we are glad that you have picked up on this.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future,

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
3.3 km away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
576 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#6 of 12 in Neuchatel
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
93 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
175 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Hotel Alpes et Lac
#4 of 12 in Neuchatel
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Hotel

Address: esplanade du Mont-Blanc 1, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range: ₹ 19,979 - ₹ 28,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury five-star Superior Beau-Rivage Hotel in Neuchatel enjoys a privileged position on the popular Esplanade du Mont-Blanc promenade beside Lake Neuchatel. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of the lake and the Bernese Oberland Alpine chain and is within a five-minute walk of the historic city centre. In addition to the 66 stylish and spacious rooms and four suites, the hotel offers a restaurant called O'terroirs, a Veranda Bar and two well-tended outdoor terraces with bar, lounge and restaurant. As well as a B-Spa, a cellar and six conference rooms. The hotel is member of Relais & Chateaux and the Swiss Deluxe Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beau-Rivage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing