We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Value for money”
Review of Hotel Magic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Magic
Ranked #44 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Location and Value for money”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

The room was the 'Lotus' one, it was a good sized room facing over the square, very near to the river especially the church bridge. The room was cosy and clean, lift available, TV, coffee machine and minibar. Altough in the square there was some noise due to christmas activities, the windows were soundproofed and therefore we slept well. It was a different style of room but still nice. We will choose again this hotel if we will manage to go again to Lucerne.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magri_delia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    63
    43
    17
    7
See reviews for
17
93
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed here because it was the only room we could find at 9:00 at night, but thought that a 3-star rating in the old town of Lucerne should be passable. The room was not at the Hotel Krone where we thought we were staying, it was at their annex hotel, the Magic. The room was small and noisy. Church bells rang every fifteen minutes. The bed was uncomfortable and the only other furniture in the room, besides a four foot statue of David, were two highly uncomfortable straight back chairs. The walls between rooms were very thin. We could hear the neighbors stirring their coffee at 6:00 in the morning. Staff was terse, breakfast was ok, but was served a the main hotel a block away.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSH58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I booked through Hotels.com and got a great price. Switzerland is expensive but I rarely paid so little for a 3star hotel as here.
Great location, going from station across the bridge, then right along the river, then up the stairs near church, then right around the corner to the left. It is written there where to check in. I got the Synphonie room, nice but not as nicely decorated as others, but quiet. The view is to the back of the alley it is in, so if you want quietness than ask for this room or same one on the other 2 floors. No airco but there is a ventilator in the cupboard. Free coffee-machine. Minibar, but not cheap. Near Hotel Krone (in Krammgasse) there is a supermarket (Coop, in basement) and minibar has a lttle space for own things. Good double bed (not 2 singles pushed together) and lighting. Small TV but not high above bed. Many German, Italian and French channels and 1 Portuguese and 1 Spanish. Only CNN for English.
I had a bathroom with large bath. Tiled floor and indeed (as others write) can be noisy but I had no problem.
Good breakfast in Hotel Krone, included in my price, but city tax was not (3 CHF for 1 night). My best cheap choice in Luzern, I think.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

My husband and I booked the Hotel Krone on Booking.com, but upon check-in were told that we could be "upgraded" to a suite if we wished. We agreed, and were told that we would be staying at the nearby sister hotel -- Magic Hotel. The location was perfect in the center of Lucerne. The room was clean and had a whirlpool tub in the room, a small mini-bar stocked with wine and alcohol (at a decent price), a decent bathroom, adequate closet space, and a small balcony overlooking the town square.

The room was inadequately insulated. It was soo loud when we were trying to sleep. I'm not sure if this noise was from other guests or from the hotel staff. There was constant banging from 10pm until 1 or 2 in the morning. It was very frustrating! Breakfast was included at the Hotel Krone. The staff was nice but the room was too small for the number of guests. We usually had to wait for seats.

Overall, I was satisfied with the hotel, but could have done without the nightly noise.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastC0astGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

Took me a while to check-in and get the card to work, elevator could do with an enhancement however these are the only improvements the hotel could perform, location is fabulous and rates are great. If you decide to stay you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GCaceres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#13 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.1 km away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.1 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
#28 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.1 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic

Property: Hotel Magic
Address: Brandgassli 1, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,560 - ₹ 19,702
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magic 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHECK IN / CHECK OUT AND BREAKFAST AT THE ALTSTADT HOTEL KRONE LUZERN - WEINMARKT - 6004 LUZERN The Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern is located in the pedestrian and cobblestone zone of Luzern. For the arrival and departure, guests with a car are allowed (also taxi) to drive in front of the hotel for unloading. Public parking garages are located nearby. The Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern offers its guests exclusive valet parking for CHF 27.00 per night. The front desk of the Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern is at the Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern and on duty from 06:30 until 23:00. The check in after 23:00 takes place at the Hotel des Balances, just across the square. The Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern is not suitable for disabled guests and wheelchair users. NO ELEVATOR FROM THE GROUNDFLOOR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Magic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing