We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
17
45
42
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
45
42
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews toilet and sink busy road room was large business trip free wifi first floor good size yogurt swiss pros
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2018

advantages: relatively cheap (for Switzerland), not far from the city center, clean, room's size: ok, easy check-in and check-out; nice waitress and Mr Bury and the reception
disadvantages: busy road and a parking right in front of the hotel - had to sleep in earplugs; terrible breakfast - hardly any choice, no vegies, some chemical bread; one waiter who was at the breakfast one day during our 4 days stay - forbade us to sit at a different table that he picked for us [!], when I told him that the other day there was no problem with changing tables [there were no guests during breakfast] he said, quote: "today is not yesterday". we nonetheless changed the table and he ignored my requests fro tee or coffee, extremely rude.

Room Tip: this hotel is in the middle of a junction, it will be loud
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cammy0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

This is a hotel for the budget minded traveler. The business features a hotel with an attached restaurant, but the restaurant, like most we found in Lucerne, was not for the budget minded traveler. I priced a very simple meal for my wife and I and it would have cost around $70. For affordable food, a local grocery store (Denner) is located at the end of a side street only two bus stops away.
Public transportation is easily located right outside either entrance and busses were always only minutes apart.
Our room was on the first floor which is actually one flight of stairs up from the ground floor (or floor ZERO). The room was large with three single beds. Two beds had massive pillows and duvets while the third bed had only a smaller pillow. As there was only two people staying in the room, the extra bed was used as a place for our luggage.
Massive windows overlooked the street. Because there is no air conditioning, the windows were much appreciated. It should be noted that the windows operate with a European-style hardware that many Americans may not be familiar with. They open either like a door or as a tilt-in window. If you aren't familiar with them, you'd do well to ask someone for instructions. The windows have no insect screens, but insects were never a problem. The sheer curtains provided privacy during the daylight hours, but none at night. They also offered no room darkening. For this, a large metal roller shutter is located on the outside. It is operated by a strap on the far right side of the window. The shutter can also be tilted out from the bottom by operating a lever found outside the center window.
The room features a tiny private bathroom with shower, toilet and sink all crammed into one small space. The shower is small with sliding glass doors. It lacks a shelf or rack where you might put soap or shampoo. There is soap in a wall mounted pump dispenser, but if the showerhead wasn't aimed right, it was difficult to get soap into your hands before the water rinsed it away. Be careful to not bump the shower control lever or you might be scalded by some very hot water!
There were two bedside stands, each sporting a small fan. Because it was hot, the fans were a nice addition. There was a desk, but it functioned more as a TV stand holding up a large flat-panel TV. The desk also had a chair. We could have used a second chair in the room, but got by with just the one. Instead of a closet, there was a wall-mounted "cubby hole" arrangement with several cubbies for storing stuff. On one side was a small rod featuring 3 coat hangers.
For being located at the intersection of two busy streets, it was nonetheless a quiet room unless a loud car drove past. Much of the public transit is very quiet because they are mostly electric or hybrid electric powered.
The included breakfast was always a satisfying way to start the day. A buffet with an assortment of breads, rolls, preserves, deli meats, cheeses, juices, cereals, yogurts and some interesting looking hard boiled eggs that featured brightly colored spiral stripes painted on them. Upon your request, an assortment of coffees or teas could be delivered to your table as well.
The hotel also supplies free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank den_b7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Tasty, luscious tender ribs. Meat and marinade were delicious.
Served with a side of farm chips and three delicious home made sauces. Yum!
Bread and butter was a nice addition to mop up some extra sauce.
We shared the 800 gm serve. Would definitely order this again!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally-1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Recently had a one night stay at Hotel Spatz and was pleased with the room we had chosen. This was a ground floor room which was spacious enough and also had a decent sized bathroom. It provided a comfortable night.
The location of this hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre (approx. 20mins on foot) and very close to a bus stop.
The hotel also offers free car parking, although it could be a bit 'tight' if you have a large sized SUV/4x4 etc. (Gladly we have a sensible 4-door saloon car ;) )
There is only one negative that I would pick up on and this is the breakfast. The choice of food was quite poor which was a bit of a shame. Other than that, this budget hotel (although very pricey for non-Swiss customers) does the job of providing a good location and environment for visiting Luzern.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr A n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Nice comfy hotel in Luceren. Bit away from the city center (around 5 to 8 mins from the central train station). Tram stops right in front of the hotel and connectivity isn't a problem. Rooms were average. Not a star rated hotel. Good if you just want to spend the night. Complementary breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RamKishoreK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews