We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
133
164
62
21
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
164
62
21
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel great location train station star hotel old town chapel bridge burger king free upgrade front desk staff main station bed was comfortable breakfast spread minute walk air conditioner the ground floor breakfast was excellent hotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

I book tripple room with booking.com

its expensive 220 chf per night.
when i got the room its a tiny room with 3 beds. and definitely not the same as photo when I booked

I went back to the reception. first reply was that room is the tripple room. then I insist that it impossible that the room is 34 sq.m. size it is. 20 sq.m.

but the reception is really liar and cheater. He say many time thats the room you book.

but I said it can't be. Finally he told that the tripple room is overbook tonight. So I can do nothing for you.

But I still insist I pay more for tripple room. but you give me small room.

And i don't walk away and I tell him I want to cancel the booking.

Al last he said tonight I will give you another single room. then tmr will move you to another room.

But all the way he lied all along.

Worst Hotel in Swiss.

Don't get cheat and overprice.

Other than that the room is very very Old.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tong Chomphol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Manager at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016

Dear Tong Chomphol P,

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne and taking
the time to give us your important feedback. We are very sorry that you experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincere apologies.
We assure you to take your valuable feedback serious.

It is a big misunderstanding. We spoke to each staff at our reception.
You got a nice triple room with balcony and with 28sqm. We never told you, that we can do nothing for you. When you came at the reception, we tried our best, and we gave you, one more single room next to your room free of charge.

Nevertheless we hope you took some nice memories from Lucerne and that we get the chance to see you again one day if you give us the chance to earn back your trust.

Yours sincerely,
Brigitte Heller
General Manager and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This 3-star hotel is only a few steps away from the central train station and Tourist Information center and yet is located on a quiet street. It's also near the old town of Lucerne. It's super clean and beautifully decorated. The front-desk hotel staff located in next door sister Monopol Hotel are very friendly and helpful. Overall, it's absolutely worth what's a reasonable price. We would recommend it to our friends.

The only suggestion we would like to make is that the room should have been provided with a kettle for the convenience.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zhou X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2015

This lovely old hotel is in an excellent position, close to the train station and a short walk across the river to the old town. The room was spacious and very clean- the bed was comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. We felt it was excellent value for money and would stay there again if we return to Luzern.

Stayed: December 2015
2  Thank jdo147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2015

The hotel is clean and neat, in the heart of the city, close to the station. Excellent breakfast. There are everything you need. However due to the thin walls can hear the conversation in the next room, but it can be ignored

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Manager at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2015

Dear Alexander,

Thank you very much for your stay in our hotel ***ALPINA Lucerne and taking the time to give us your important feedback. All feedbacks are very important for us so we can make improvements as well.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the good Location, directly next to the train station, museum, supermarket, Lake Lucerne and the old town. Thank you as well for your feedback about our hotel staff and the rich cold and warm breakfast buffet.

We excuse us that you could hear the conversation in the next room. We hope you had a safe journey home, warmest regards from Lucerne

Brigitte Heller
General Manager and the whole ALPINA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2015

The Hotel Alpina is a nice hotel in the middle of the city of Lucerne and just next to the train station. The young girl at the reception was very friendly and helpful. She gave us a city map and explained the most important sightseeings in Lucerne. The famous Chapell bridge is only 1 minute walk away from the hotel Alpina. We have got free up-grading from a standard room in a big Superior room on the 5th floor. Thank you. The room and bathroom were completly new made and had a beautyful design. Breakfast was great, a big choice of cold and hot dishes, good quality. The staff in the breakfast room was also friendly and helpful. We come definitivly back in this hotel, when we come next time to Switzerland.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room, and you will see the house mountain "Pilatus"
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Manager at Hotel Alpina Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2015

Dear Mike J,

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time in our hotel *** ALPINA Lucerne and we really appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very happy, that you enjoyed our nice hotel room and the friendliness of our staff.

Our hotel ALPINA Lucerne is located directly at the train station Lucerne and KKL Culture and Convention Centre (no taxi), in the middle of the city center, at the lake Lucerne, the world famous Chapel Bridge and all points of interest. Thank you as well for your feedback about our cold and warm breakfast buffet in our sister hotel ****MONOPOL Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you back again in our hotel ALPINA Lucerne and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Best regards,
Brigitte Heller
General Manager and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews