We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pension Rosli
Ranked #58 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed 29 June 2008

This little pension is clean and in a great central location,but set back from the noise. It was pricey but I guess that's what you get for staying in Lucerne. We didn't bother with breakfast as at 20 chf each, thought it a bit expensive. The beds were comfy and there was a tv, hairdryer and mini bar/fridge which were handy. We were only here 2 nights, 1 day so it was quite adequate. One word of warning - don't bother with the bar at the end of the street, by the fountain. It's expensive due to the fact that ladies are conducting their business at night from there! It amused us and surprised us as the hotel is in a good area but it may shock some!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrspink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2008

I spent one night here during a multi-city trip to Europe, and am so glad I did. Lucerne is such a beautiful little town, and this little inn is tucked right in the middle of it. It's not the most glamorous place to stay; some of the furniture in our room felt like hand-me-downs from other hotels or people's homes. Conversely, the bathrooms are very crisp and modern, like walking into an Ikea showroom. I had no problems with the staff, and was satisfied with the breakfast (an above-average continental breakfast). Overall, the Hotel Pension Rosli is quiet, clean, and a much better value than most other places in Lucerne, so if you're traveling on a budget, but want more privacy than a hostel offers, this may be your spot.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MataKari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2006

This is a hotel pension not a hotel so obviously the
standards are differnet. It is located in a relatively busy alleyway
in lucern about 300 meters from the train station. There are
a number of shops and restaurants close by with a nice view
of the water within 2-3 minutes walking distance.

Service was lackluster - we waited nearly 15-20 minutes
before a receptionist came despite ringing the bells
and trying constantly to get his attention. Their attitude
was similar to many small places in southern italy - not very
rushed or prompt.

The hotel room we stayed was clean with 2 twin beds, private shower. The TV did have some english-speaking channels, there
was a ceiling fan but the temps in switzerland at the time averaged
close to 35C so without air con (which is common in many places in europe - switzerland particularly since it doesn't get that hot usually) the night was miserable. If we opened up the windows we'd have to deal with the oustide noise which is quite noisy up until 1-2AM as well as possible mosquitoes.

Bottom line: it's a pension, it's not cheap either, if you had other choices pay a bit more and you'll get a better deal.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trekkersocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2006

When we arrived at the Hotel Rosli, the front desk clerk (which was polite to us) told us that they had upgraded us to stay at the main hotel. The room was small but adequate and comfortable. The room was right beside the small elevator but the noise was not a problem. Breakfast was not included so we went to one of the bakeries nearby. The hotel is much easier to find if you approach it from the river.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pruegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
211
Reviewed 18 November 2005

Four of us stayed at this hotel (two rooms). The rooms are clean and comfortable and actually roomy by European standards. It is quiet and just across the river from the old town. The price is hard to beat for this city, especially for the close-in location. It's a reasonable walk from the train station/boat docks or you can take a taxi if you have luggage. Don't bother with the CHF15 breakfast unless you're on an expense account as there's a bakery right acros the street or, if you are traveling by train, plenty of places to grab a bite at the train station. Our only complaint was the surly desk clerk at the Baseltor Hotel where you check in (and we're not Asian as the previous writer, so maybe he's just that way).
I've also stayed at the Hotel Alpha and for the small additional cost for comparable amenities (double room with wc/shower)and a convenient location the Rosli is worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucerne
0.0 km away
Hotel Surselva
Hotel Surselva
#1 of 2 in Obersaxen
65 reviews
0.2 km away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 67 in Lucerne
441 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Rothaus
Hotel Rothaus
#54 of 67 in Lucerne
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 67 in Lucerne
174 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#32 of 67 in Lucerne
361 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#40 of 67 in Lucerne
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Rosli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Rosli

Address: Pfistergasse 12, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: ₹ 4,754 - ₹ 16,802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Rosli 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Pension Rosli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosli Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing