We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay”
Review of Grand Hotel Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Europe
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I was very pleased to find such a place in Luzern, with the perfect view on the lake and wonderful atmosphere. Big and cozy rooms. I'm a person, who is paying very much attention to what I'm eating, so the food in this hotel was amazing for such small price! So I recommend to everybody, to stay in this hotel while you are visiting Luzern, this is the perfect place to stay for sure!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    156
    72
    38
    26
See reviews for
96
154
28
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel 2 nights in a lake view suite, fantastic views of lake and alps. Good location walking distance to city and transport. The Manager and staff were extremely helpful and went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_nigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Switzerland is a dream and when we had a stay at Grand Hotel Europe it was an icing on the cake. When we reached Lucerne from Paris by bus and saw Grand's lobby alongwith it's location we were like WOW...Amazing location...Just in front of Lucerne Lake where we went for night walk as well.
Staff at reception was very warm and helpful and good English speakers(not German). Room was awsome and breakfast was also good and on time.
Lucerne = Grand Hotel Europe = Great Location.

Room Tip: Rooms with the view of Lake Lucerne are awsome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MinalC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We staved for ther second time at the Grand Hotel Europe and everything was above our expectations. We were allocated a very nice room ovelooking the lake. It was very spacious, clean and the furniture is very modern.

Room Tip: Ask for a room either facing the lake or with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I spent 3 nights at this hotel during one of my business trips in Switzerland. The classical design makes it a bit different from the other modern hotels where i used to stay during my often travels. The room had a beautiful lake view and a very good size. I had a dinner with my partners here and the food, atmosphere and the service were simply great. Big thanks for the reception, service and kitchen people for dealing with our requests. I will definitely come back next time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vlad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Royal Lucerne
Hotel Royal Lucerne
#39 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#29 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Europe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Europe

Property: Grand Hotel Europe
Address: Haldenstrasse 59 | 6006 Lucerne, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#20 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,648 - ₹ 27,849
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Europe 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Europe, opened in 1875, combines a grand past with a contemporary outlook and is distinguished by its subtle elegance, attentive service and warm hospitality. If offers 169 tastefully designed rooms, a restaurant with lake view, a hotel bar with patio and garden and two lavish dining halls. Shopping facilities, lake promenade, casino, gym & wellness and a golf course are at short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne
Grand Hotel Europe Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing