We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Real Five Star Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Milano
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Real Five Star Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is one of the very few hotels in Europe where there really was nothing to fault. There are many reasons why it is a five star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dododinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    75
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
46
193
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This is our kind of hotel. There is no concierge desk or uniformed door staff, rather the hotel is classic boutique with an amazing modern design. We stayed in the Matador room with a nice view overlooking the nearby park and streets and it was fantastic. The room was quite large and the bathroom was very good also. My wife is an interior architect and quite 'particular; and she was very impressed with the layout, design and features. The service is very very good. All the staff are genuinely interested in what activities you have planned and are very good at making suggestions.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sampan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We travelled with friends who, like us, are used to deluxe accommodations.
The hotel is located within walking distance (5min) of the train station, which is great if you are in Lucerne on a Sunday when most stores are closed. Other sights are also within walking distance, including the excellent French restaurant brasserie bodu.
The hotel did not seem very busy when we arrived, and all 6 of us were upgraded to junior suites - one corner, 2 garden.
The garden suites are long rooms with a peekaboo view of a bamboo filled balcony through the bathroom. These have a tub/shower combo. The corner suite is more conventional looking with windows on two adjoining walls. Tub and shower are separate.
The rooms are modern, and can be quite dark if your room walls happen to be a darker colour. If you are looking for a cosy hotel, this is not the one for you. We like edgier hotels, and the esthetic here suited us. The rooms are extremely spacious and clean, with cleaning service twice a day. We especially liked the automated blinds and well thought out placement of lighting and blind controls.
We stayed 3 nights and were always the only ones at breakfast. This meant excellent service. Breakfast is not a buffet, but table service, with a lavish spread.
The best part about this hotel is the attentive staff. We were well taken care of from check in to check out. A few examples: we hiked mount rigi one morning and asked for directions to the dock. Once the front desk staff learned of our plans, she immediately produced plastic bags of bottled water to take with us. When dinner reservations were made one night, I noted the staff asking for the best table in the restaurant without my requesting for such. It's the small things like being greeted by name on each arrival and departure, having the cleaning staff remember my preferences for how I place my toiletries etc that made this hotel memorable.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onamissionvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The service is excellent in this place. We booked the penthouse junior suite (on the top floor- Michelle Pfeiffer room) and were a bit disappointed. It is definitely not worth all that money! The bathroom is tiny and the room has an odd shape (I was expecting a bigger room). The balcony is nice and offers a good view. During our stay we had a look at the other rooms as well. It looked like we got a bit stiched up. The rooms one floor below were much nicer and had a proper size bathroom.

Breakfast was nice, but too expensive for what it is. I would recommend having breakfast outside the hotel (or at least choose to have breakfast in your room on the balcony!). We also had dinner in the restaurant. I didn't enjoy it so much, but my boyfriend really liked it! The restaurant is sort of build in the basement so it is all a bit dark. Great for the winter, but not for the summer.

Room Tip: Don't go for the top floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

I was in Lucerne for 3 nights with my family alongwith 2 other families of my friends. We had an excellent and a pleasant stay at the hotel.

The rooms are attractive and well designed. As they proclaim "Every room has a tale to tell", it really made the difference. The hotel is in close proximity to the station. The food in the restaurant is excellent.

I had personally booked the hotel for all the three families and we all agreed at the end that the choice of selecting the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Subhrendu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.7 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.5 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.5 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection

Property: The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
Address: Sempacherstrasse 14, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland (Formerly The Hotel Luzern, Autograph Collection)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,973 - ₹ 27,276
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a unique establishment exuding charm and charisma in Lucerne Switzerland. No two guest rooms are alike – and each has a tale to tell. They lean away from the familiar and the everyday. The art lies not so much in what is included but in what is left out. Guests are invited to abandon themselves to the inspirational poetry which characterises this sense-awakening boutique deluxe hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing