We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started badly but got better...”
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Started badly but got better...”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Palace is a beautiful hotel, this was our fourth occasion staying there. There seemed to be a mis-understanding with room booking upon check-in which was quite late around 11pm. The person in charge was absolutely horrendous, basically refusing to resolve the problem (not that he couldn't but actually wouldn't). Our room was old - to the point that the bathroom fittings had turned brown with age. The bed frame also had dirty marks on it, if you were to only see this room, you would think you were in a 3* hotel. We got the impression that because we had a deal through Kiwi that we were given the worst room in the hotel. May I add that they were not even close to full capacity. In any case, the following day we spoke to the day manager, within moments are problems were resolved (unfortunately I do not remember the young lady's name). But she was very professional and what you would expect from the Palace. We were shown two other rooms and chose the one we preferred to move to for our remaining two nights, our stay was then much better.

We ate lunch in their "Jasper" restaurant which was a nice experience, food was well presented.

The Palace is a great hotel with a fabulous view of the lake. I hope that other people staying there have the experience we had for our second two nights and not the first. Our rating of this hotel on this particular trip is only brought down due to our first night's experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephandJulesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceLuzern, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear valued guests

Thank you for choosing the PALACE LUZERN. It was great to have you back for the fourth time!

We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused during your first night with us. The "3 for 2" special you booked was made in standard category with street view. We are sorry to hear that the quality of the room did not meet your expectations. We will double check the quality of this room again. Furthermore it will perhaps be of interest for you that ee will have a renovation of 30 rooms by the end of this year.
Nevertheless: Great to hear that you enjoyed the rest of the stay with us. We will definitely share your feedback with our colleagues in charge.

By the way: There is also a special offer for our higher categories with lake view. We are looking forward to welcoming you as our guests in one of our lake view rooms next time.

Kind regards,

Sonia Grosso
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    167
    61
    15
    18
See reviews for
227
531
33
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beaumont texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived early by train and were delighted to have our room ready plus, an upgrade to a deluxe suite with balcony over looking the lake. On our coffee table was a lovely note congratulating us on our anniversary. It was personally signed by several staff members. Very nice touch. Since my son is in the hotel business I have to comment on the housekeeping staff. They were meticulous in daily cleaning and turn down service. The executive of housekeeping has a staff to be proud of. If there is a downside it was the bar area was very hot so we were not able to enjoy the beautiful facility and piano music. We are from Texas so used to A/C. Not the hotels fault. We enjoyed drinks on our lovely patio instead. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luckyled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceLuzern, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear valued guests

What a great review! Thank you for choosing the PALACE LUZERN for your anniversary celebrations and for taking your time to write this review.
The whole team is thrilled about your feedback! We hope you were also able to enjoy our lovely attended terrace where you can feel the slight breeze of the Lake Lucerne.

We would be delighted to welcome you back again on your next anniversary and wish you only the best of luck for your future.

Best regards from Lucerne

Sonia Grosso
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Recently stayed at the Palace Luzern in Switzerland. The accomodation was part of a package holiday with an Australian tour company. We were allocated Room 200 on the 2nd floor and when we entered the room we were very happy. Unfortunately the room is located directly below the gymnasium and when both of the running machines were being used the noise in our room was very disturbing. The gym is open 24 hours and this would cause the occupants of the room to have a very distrubed night's sleep if another occupant decided to have an early start on running machine.

When our tour director informed the hotel that we were dissatisfied every staff member spoken to seemed to be aware of the problem with this particular room. We had another room allocated and the staff moved all of our belongings whilst we were out to dinner. I must stress that this was the only problem with the hotel, and the breakfast that was supplied with the package was first rate. The building is superb and the staff in the bars and dining room are first rate.

Room Tip: Mke sure that you are not allocated Room 200, Only half of the rooms have any view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceLuzern, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear valued guest

Thank you very much for choosing the PALACE LUZERN and for taking your time to write your review.
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your first room. We are aware that sometimes noise can occur, if both running machines are in use. Thank you again for this input, we will check what we can do to change this immediately.
Nevertheless, the whole PALACE team is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again.

We wish you a fantastic summer!

Best regards from Lucerne

Sonia Grosso
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Had a great weekend in Palace Luzern. Good quality rooms and friendly staff.
Nicely located at the lakefront.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EbeFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceLuzern, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear valued guest

Thank you for choosing the PALACE for your weekend in Lucerne. We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon again.

Have a fantastic summer!

All the best,

Sonia Grosso
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

From the large upgraded suite, with a dreamy view of snowcapped mountains behind a breathtaking lake view, to incredible room service and incredible breakfast, to the virtuoso pianist playing at the lobby bar. The Palace has it all! A world class spa, with a staff who can take you to dream land to boot! If you have the class this hotel will be everything you want!

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceLuzern, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Palace Luzern, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Mike

What a great review! Thank you so much for your time writing it down and also for choosing the PALACE for your stay. The whole team is thrilled about your feedback. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest with us. Maybe on your next stay you will try to ski the snowcapped mountains you saw from your room. We would love to welcome you again.

We wish you a fantastic summer.

All the best,

Sonia Grosso
Sales & Marketing Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 km away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
1.2 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
954 reviews
1.2 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#20 of 68 in Lucerne
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Property: Palace Luzern
Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,787 - ₹ 43,191
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing