We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for 2 nights. Great location and great hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I stayed for my trip. the hotel is 2 minutes walk from Lucerne Main station. The staff if very friendly. the rooms are big with nice bath room. The bed in the rooms are very comfortable.
Great Hotel, great location, value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhishek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (949)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 728 of 949 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

We paid approx 660chf for 3nts which was approx £450. This included breakfast and compared to other hotels available, seemed a fair price in Lucerne. However our room was pretty small (609). There was just enough space to walk around the bed and just enough space for the clothes we had for the short weekend break. However not much space for 2 people passing each other. The bathroom was modern but small. However despite small room issues, the shower was very good and bed very comfortable. Water in the room was stupidly expensive (6chf!) so I recommend picking up water from one of the local shops. Hotel was in central location for getting around Lucerne and handy for quick walk to train station. However Pacifico was too busy on Sat night to enjoy it and on Sunday night despite a very hard working batman, other wait staff were rude about where we could sit but didn't challenge others for sitting in same area later that night! Very poor customer service considering we were staying in hotel. However breakfast wait staff and reception staff were very helpful. Breakfast options good but be careful if going down at end of service as limited hot food and fresh fruit was available one day however next we were asked if we wanted boiled eggs specially ordered from kitchen, so staff do try.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance Luzern for one night (end of May, 26-27).
Hotel is located just 3 minutes walk from the train station. We walked upon arrival and departure and it was very convenient.
Lobby is very small, but it is probably the only "small" thing to say about this hotel.
We were on the second floor and asked (and got) a room facing the side street, so it was very pleasant & quiet.
The room had 2 beds connected as no rooms with king beds were left, but we couldn't feel the deference.
The beds are the story of this room.. It was unbelievably comfortable. Pillows were just had perfect feeling to them. I can't even explain.. you get into this bed and say WOW!!
The room was equipped with LCD TV, and a cool docking station for iPhone!
We paid the extra 30 CHF (for the room) to get breakfast and it was a great deal. Good choice of cold & hot dishes. It was nice that we can get a good cup of cappuccino with our breakfast.
Free wifi in the room and lobby.
The location is great! It is not the old city, but it will take you 5-7 minutes to walk to all main attractions, including the old city, wooden bridge and many other attractions.
Restaurants are just across the street from the hotel (main street), and a very nice park on the other side. You can see guys playing Chess at the park with huge ground chessbase..
If we'll return to beautiful Luzern, we will stay at the renaissance again.

Room Tip: Ask for back side. Not to face the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gosisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at Renaissance last week of May.
Pros: As others have noted, good location and friendly staff. The breakfast buffet that was included in the cost of our room was really good (fresh fruits, pastries, yogurts, nuts, scrambled eggs, sauted mushrooms, potatoes, bacon, sausages, cereal, etc). The interior of the the room was nice too.

Cons: They have their bar/restaurant which gets EXTREMELY noisy on Friday and Saturday nights. We were on the 1st floor and the floor was vibrating with the noise and it was really bothersome. The noise went on until 2 am. When we talked to the reception about this, their solution was to offer us free cocktail coupons so we could go to the bar!

I would go back to this hotel only if staying there during the week or if I was guaranteed a room on the higher (4th and 5th) floors.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smile_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We booked a room for 199 Swiss Francs per night via Marriott's Friend and Family rate for three nights. My wife and I and our two year old son were very happy as soon as we had pulled up at the curb in front of the hotel. The receptionists are fabulously friendly. The lobby is very small so it is not a grand sprawling hotel by any means. We had a deluxe room on the 3rd floor. It was a very good size room and had a nice large crib for our son. We found our bed to be very comfortable. The room had everything we could need during our stay. We would be very happy staying here in the future. And it sits one half block from an excellent park with a playground for our two year old. We found the neighborhood to be excellent - lots of shops, restaurants, cafes, and people includin Swiss and tourists. They may call it new town here but we are perfectly happy here versus old town. Of course, the great hotel rate is a big plus for us.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Suntaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,101 reviews
0.4 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
947 reviews
0.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,012 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.2 km away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#12 of 67 in Lucerne
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: ₹ 12,083 - ₹ 23,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing