We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Magical!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Magical!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We were greeted by a very warm and helpful receptionist. Our room had a spectacular view of Lake Lucerne, truly amazing. The room was cozy, the shower was ok but there was no air conditioning. The hotel has an exceptional outdoor lounge with a spectacular view to enjoy some drinks or a superb bar with live jazz if you prefer. Parking was free. Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear guest

It is a real pleasure to read that you truly enjoyed your stay in our hotel and thank you for your great comment on TripAdvisor.

When the weather is fine, you are able to enjoy your drink on our Lake View Lounge with a stunning with over Lucerne. Our hotel is also very well known for good jazz music. The highlight is always on Thursday night because than we have our Jam Session.

It would be a great to welcome you again soon in our hotel and we hope you had a safe journey back.

Best regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    345
    73
    24
    13
See reviews for
242
913
50
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I like the hotel and the staff very friendly and the breakfast is verey good in wonderfull balacony with alake view I just had one problem the hotel is with out air condition .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor and we feel very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The view from our hotel is spectacular and it is also a perfect location for all kinds of tourist attractions in and round Lucerne.

Due to ecological reasons, we do not have an air condition. Thank you for your understanding.
It would be great to welcome you again soon and we hope you had safe journey back.

Best regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

The staff at this hotel are very efficient and friendly. The rooms are clean and those having a lake view with the mountains in the background enjoy spectacular scenery. The food is excellent, beautifully presented with sensible size portions. The hotel funicular gives the benefit of easy access to a hotel set above the lakeside.
Lucerne is a fantastic city with excellent ferry and rail services. This is not a cheap holiday but it is good value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandmary2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear guest

It is a pleasure to read such a nice comment and thank you for your time that you wrote on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. Our funicular is really outstanding, because within 2 minutes you reach the lakeshore of Lucerne and further more it is the shortest of the world.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best wishes

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Fantastic service from everyone in the hotel, we waited 7 years to return to the hotel and we were not disappointed. The breakfast selection is outstanding and the views from the restaurant are stunning especially when you can sit on the covered balcony. We went half board and the 4 course evening meals were excellent. Our lake view room with balcony was lovely, at night we kept our window open, lights off and fan on and were not troubled by mosquitos. We swam from the 'see bad' which is a boarded area of lake water with changing huts that leads out into the lake. This is at the waterfront at the bottom of the funicular and the hotel will provide you with towels.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your nice feedback and it is so nice to read that you really enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Especially we feel very honoured that you decided to come back in our property after 7 years.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Nice hotel with good sevice and helpfull personel . Lovely view over the lake . We only had breakfast as the restaurant offered mainly mediterranean inspired dishes and we were on our way to Italy . Extensive and good breakfast though .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear guest

It is a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable time in our hotel and thank you for your great feedback on TripAdvisor.

The view from the Montana is really outstanding and you are able to see the mountains, the Lake of Lucerne and the city.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
1.3 km away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
2.8 km away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
1.4 km away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Property: Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,080 - ₹ 56,985
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ostrovok, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing