We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
68
55
15
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
55
15
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family run hotel oldest hotel boil your own eggs train station end of season ski bus nice bathroom cable car fresh bread single room nice hotel hotel bar cold cuts yogurt comfortable rooms three nights minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Stayed here with our Rick Steves tour group, and enjoyed it very much. Nice, clean, comfortable rooms. Super friendly and helpful hotel staff/management. Great breakfast. Great location with nice views.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachwatcher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

The Engleberg is centrally located in the old town surrounded by restaurants and shops, easy access to bus or train, and knowledgeable, helpful staff. By free shuttle bus it's just a few minutes away from mountain activities -- the cable car bases for Titlis, Brunni or Fuhrenalp. I would certainly stay here again, or recommend it to friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Upper floors have outstanding mountain views and are farther from street-level commotion.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We took a late skiing trip to Engelberg and chose Hotel Trail. This was a very good choice! The family running the hotel is so friendly. Everything from how you are greeted upon arrival to snow reports during breakfast. The single rooms are clean and have a nice bathroom.

The only thing I would change is the coffee served during breakfast. A thermos with filter coffee would be a nice supplement to the slow machine. Except from that, the hotel serves a really good breakfast with nice local cheeses and fresh bread. We even got a home made Easter present (cookies).

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramlosa1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Great customer service, fantastic breakfast (I liked the fruit porridge... not sure the name of it), positive vibes. Family run hotel that I will definitely be returning to.

Visited for 3 nights Thursday to Sunday with 2 friends. From start to finish we were greeted with very friendly faces from the receptionists (who we later found out to also be the owners).

We initially booked a double room for 2 people, at the last minute another friend decided to join... the hotel was very accommodating and gave us an extra mattress/towels etc for the room at a reasonable additional cost. The rooms were perfect for our stay and good value for money: hot powerful showers, comfy bed, fresh towels each day. The room could need some investment in a year or so (new socket needed next to the bed); though this is just a minor point.

The owners and staff were always happy to answer questions or have a chat. On Easter morning, one of the owners went around the breakfast hall greeting everybody and wishing the guests a happy Easter.

We were also given the chance to have a shower after our day skiing after having checked out on the Sunday, with fresh towels

Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Stayed for 2 nights to attend a "Snow and Safety" course. Shared a twin room with my mate. Accomodation is not plush but perfectly adequate and great value for money; clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was included; boil your own eggs, good selection of local bread and croissant, cheese, ham fruit etc.... and tasty local yoghurt from the monastery at the end of the street.

Run by a young family who are brilliant; very helpful and made our stay an absolute pleasure. Thank you T and N xx

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews