We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good and overpriced”
Review of Restaurant Yucatan

Restaurant Yucatan
Ranked #13 of 53 Restaurants in Engelberg
Price range: US$ 15 - US$ 50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Thai, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Our cuisine is young & creative; it's full of colours and flavours, looks great on the plate, and is fresh & imaginative. We enjoy treating our guests to trendy creations influenced by the great cuisines of the world - in fact, we like to call it trend food. Our sound design and our tables are styled for a perfect accompaniment: a club sound with beats that set the tone. Forget neat & nice, quiet & cosy: dining at Yucatan is an experience for all the senses. Between May and October, Yucatan extends out on to the sun terrace with its lounge area to become a summer restaurant. Restaurant Yucatan's "second sitting" has become legendary. Besides apres-ski with a happy hour every day, DJ or live music and trend-food restaurant, this incredibly adaptable venue is the place to be to celebrate the wildest parties and take in the hottest concerts. It's right at the heart of all the action ...
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

During a seminar with our university, we had dinner at Yucatan and were pretty much disappointed! We mainly took the burger (22.-) where the meet was frozen and not good..
Sorry to say

Thank Karim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina F, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Restaurant Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Karim A
Thank you very much for your feedback even if it is disappointing.
Yes, some our burgers with fries and salad cost 22.00 CHF. Like a pizza with a salad, right? For this we use pre-made bread rolls and meat that we store deep-frozen. We also have deluxe burgers, with rolls from the local bakery and meat, which we mix and make according to our own recipes. These are more expensive. The organizer of the seminar, however, has chosen an inexpensive menu and therefore we have met his wish and used conveniences buns and meat with homemade sauces and side orders.
I hope for your understanding, sincerely Sina Filliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Visited with the family. The service is good and attentive , the drinks and food come fast. The food is average but good portions , but the prices are high , maybe it’s to be expected for a trendy bar in a ski village but still! The fajitas were not very traditional , the burger was good and the green curry was the best. The kitchen is open until late which is very convenient, the live music sounds good.

Thank Nacho R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina F, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Restaurant Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Nacho R
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you soon in Engelberg, got fresh snow last night...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Went with my wife and teen daughters for early evening food after a day on the slopes
Luckily we booked a table because it gets very busy
Food is good found something for everyone

Thank StanBaldwin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina F, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Restaurant Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear StanBaldwin2015
Thank yoou for your review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read, that you had a great day in Engelberg with a happy final at Yucatan! Hope to see you soon, Sina Filliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Have visited regularly since it opened in 1995. Always good after ski with good music, with the little remark that after ski in Switzerland is not as wild and noisy as in some other countries... Great mix of local people and visitors, different nationalities, all ages, skiers, non-skiers... Straight forward and attentive bar staff. Good quality bistro type food. Also separate and very nice bar with smoking allowed inside. Good location just opposite the Bahnhof. Don’t panic if empty when you arrive a bit early. Fills up amazingly quickly when the slopes close...

Thank judithulrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina F, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Restaurant Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear judithulrika
Thanks for your review on TripAdvisor.
In addition, we would like to thank you for your loyalty for many years. It is nice to read that you have been visiting us since the beginning under the lead of Roger Filliger. Since then more than 20 years have passed, thank you! Best regards from the whole team, Sina Filliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Meals: Ok but too salty
Service: Very slow
Invoice: Was wrong and offered drinks were charged although it was said its for free.

1  Thank mogeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sina F, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Restaurant Yucatan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear mogeb
Please have a look at the answer to your friends review... Sina Filliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Yucatan also viewed

Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden
 
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden
 
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden
 

Been to Restaurant Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing