We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice conveneint cosy clean comfortable hotel in Geneva” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant
Ranked #63 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice conveneint cosy clean comfortable hotel in Geneva”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

The location is exceptional just few metres from the main central local/inter country railway Station (Cornavin - Geneva). The window opens to the station and you can see the hectic activity throughout day but without disturbance. Bed very cosy comfortable...slept well. Bathroom very clean with clean fittings. Room was stocked with utensils and hot plates etc. TV in room but bit small receive all channels. Internet etc. was possible but perhaps it was to be activated, They provide free wi fi access 24 hrs for your stay. Free card for travel inside geneva free of cost but its for all foreigners in Genev staying in hotels. Only 6 minutes by train from airport which runs every 15 mintes or so. Most buses trams cross this area. Lake is 10 minutes walk from hotel. Breakfast is superb. Provided adaptor for charging mobile free of cost. reception guys very helpful.cheerful. I had dinner with guests in the hotle and it was very nice and not expensive and similar to other hotel/restaurants in the area. Avg meal would cost about 30 swiss frank + drinks extra. I recommend the hotel for stay. The hotel remains booked/overbooked and they ask you whether you would like to stay here!! virtually it means if you cancel boking they would oblige you happily. I was asked similarly but I declined since room rate was concessional due to block booking by an international agency. Try city hostel Geneva if you want to save money and stay wihtout luxury/frills. Overall pleasant experinece and recommended for stay.

Room Tip: They permit early check in but wont guarantee it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
32 Thank sg103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    92
    67
    20
    18
See reviews for
13
47
33
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

This is a smallish, non-chain/franchise hotel immediately adjacent to the central Geneva railway station. It probably has some goofy charm (though the location really doesn't) and it's easy to find, but if you're looking for service or anything resembling 4-star/adequate business facilities, best try elsewhere.

During our stay, they tried to pass off a smoking room as non-smoking and then, to top that, lost one of our bookings and gave at least five different explanations as to what had happened, suggesting either ineptitude or, more likely, cancelling so as to take a better offer - and no apology, of course, or any offer of assistance. Other guests mentioned attempts to charge over the booked rate, which fot the overall picture.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2011Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

USA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

Although the room door was locked from the inside (no chain), on the morning of my check-out, the housekeeper opened the door with the master key without knocking. I was just emerging from the shower (9 am) and NOT expecting visitors. Rating dropped one notch right there. Never had this happen before.
Otherwise, the hotel is not bad, nothing special except the ideal location at the back entrance to the railway station. The bed was large and had a good firm mattress. There was enough closet space (a big deal in Geneva), and the free internet access worked three nights out of four.
The rooms would be improved if they had clocks, and coffee makers, and the hotel, typically for the price range, has no fitness room or exercise options. The breakfast restaurant is pleasant, but the food was only adequate -- included in room price but no great bargain.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

I know Geneva like my pocket... used to live there some time ago and when the business trip came up i had a rough idea about what i wanted in terms of lodging. However what i got was rougher than what i had in mind.
Geneva is expensive. But when it comes to hotels its outrageous, so i decided to book by internet a cheaper option and that ended up being in Montbrillant. Although i was solo i was given a large room with a double bed and an extra bed and that should have alarmed me but i was busy and failed to inquire about the price until it was too late. I ended up paying 350 swiss franks per night !! Thats about 250 euros per night...
The two receptionists were like Doctor Jekyll and Mr Hyde.. Both were ladies but one was indifferent and rude and the other really nice. Noise from the trains near by was also present but not too bad to be honest. The worst part of my stay was the smell in my room. I had all windows open constantly but the stench was ever present. My room number was 252... in case you are offered to repeat my mistake.
Cleanliness otherwise was ok and the coffee-bar on the basement is very cosy and you can seat and watch the endless flow of passengers going to the central train station just a few meters away. My whole trip was successful in terms of my business and that made my stay a bit sweeter... Perhaps the Montbrillant brought me luck but the stench was from hell !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kokkai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helsinki
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

I stayed for one night at Montbrillant (4 stars) which is quite centrally located (about 50 meters from the Cornavin trian station) and within walking distance from the old town. Rooms were clean, comfy and the staff friendly. Price is just about right in an expensive city at 140€/night.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cornavin
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#26 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#14 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#52 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
Cornavin Hotel Geneva
#32 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant

Property: Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant
Address: rue de Montbrillant 2, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,189 - ₹ 19,802
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown close to Geneva railway station and in direct connection with the airport and public transportation TPG. The heart of the Montbrillant beats to the rhythm of the business district, the lake Leman and its fountain. Hotel Montbrillant is welcoming you in: • 82 rooms with air-conditioning including 58 "Business" and 24 "Superior". • One restaurant and one Parisian brasserie. • One conference room for your meetings and banquets: 50 pers. max. • One wine cellar with over 140 references for your appetizer and cocktails. • One Wellness centre: Massages, reflexology, lymphatic drainage and reiki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Montbrillant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Montbrillant Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing