We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
138
200
110
45
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
200
110
45
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town butter and jam small balcony commercial building every morning an expensive city simple breakfast fantastic location train station comfortable bed bigger room place to sleep budget hotel travel card jet d'eau apartment lake
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Hotel central is in one of the best spots as it is close to the old town and lake Geneva at the same time. There’s a long street of stores close to the hotel. I do not recommend the break fast. Rooms are clean and the staff are nice and friendly.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Saraghods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Dear Sara

Glad you enjoyed your stay.
The breakfast is a simple but freshly prepared, continental breakfast served in the comfort of your room....?

With best regards
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

The location was great in the centre of the city.
Sadly there was very little sound proofing in the rooms making this the worse overnight stay I have had. We had to listen to a couple next door making love well into the small hours, a child crying and the concierge knocking on doors delivering breakfast to other rooms.
I can not recommend it

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Markmawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Markmawer

We were disappointed to read your comment, especially as upon your departure you mentioned nothing.
We had serious issues with the room next to you the next day and your complaint at that time would have helped the reception to be aware of the problem and to calm down the guests next door....a bit too easy and does not give us a chance to rectify the situation....shame!
This is not the normal experience of our guests and we apologise for the unfortunate experience you had....and limited sleep.

With our regrets
Erik Gangsted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

We had the best time ever and this was just a wonderful place to stay.
I don’t like surprises so had checked out feedback, photos, Google etc for reviews and photos. We were not disappointed in anyway. The owner was lovely and sooooo very helpful. My inability to speak a foreign language to much of a useable level wasn’t a problem as they spoke perfect English.
We originally booked one of the larger family rooms but as the main hotel was closing during Christmas we were offered the opportunity to book Apartment 10 instead which turned out to be perfect for the three of us although would easily have accommodated further family if we had any. Breakfast was provided for the whole stay on the first day but as we were in an apartment with a fridge this stayed fresh so wasn’t a problem.
Short people beware ..... the double bed is very tall .... I’m 5ft so it was interesting getting in and out ..... it is wonderfully comfortable though once you can climb in
I highly recommend this hotel for the apartment, cleanliness, friendly owner and atmosphere and also the fantastic location.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Owner at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Helen

Glad you and your family enjoyed your stay....

Hopefully we can welcome you back another time
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Situated near city center in the old town, you'd think it's a great price/value and perfect location. This is true during the week, but be prepared for the club music and beat that starts around 10pm and goes until 4 or 5am on weekends. Bring your earplugs as the hotel does not provide. Hotel Central is in a gorgeous walk-up with marble staircases but also looks down on/listens down to the city sounds. The rooms are large and comfortable. The bathroom even has a bathtub. While Geneva is on a hill, Hotel Central is just at the start of the hill so it doesn't involve too much climbing.
Breakfast was included but was boring - juice, a bread roll, and a croissant. The coffee was delicious. Also, bowls of candy ornament the entryway. Friendly and helpful staff. They speak many languages.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S4B1B4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear S4B1B4

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.
Yes we have a very central location and that does bring a bit of activity and noise at night like in most cities.
Glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay....continental breakfast is offered by the management, served in the comfort of your room and yes simple and maybe boring in your opinion but quality. We were glad you enjoyed the coffee.

With best regards and hope to see you again one day
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

This is an interesting hotel, consisting of typical small hotel rooms as well as larger apartments with kitchenette. We were in room 41, an apartment on the top floor, and it was really nice. Lots of space, separate bed room and a nice area to make food. The people there are very friendly and helpful, letting us check out a day earlier than planned and not charging us. Breakfast is a nice touch. Some coffee, juice and a little bread to start your day. Loved the transit cards too, makes getting around very easy, although with the location you can really walk everywhere. Highly recommended!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Baxter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erik G, Propriétaire at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Baxter D

Lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay, including the breakfast.
We are lucky to have such a variety of accommodation...hopefully something for everyone !

Look forward to welcoming you back again
Erik Gangsted
Hôtel central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews