We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“simple, clean and quiet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bernina Geneve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bernina Geneve
Ranked #68 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“simple, clean and quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I flew in from Australia and had an afternoon and night to recover from jetlag. The hotel was easy to get to, close to the train station, it was quiet with a simple and good breakfast.

I few issues with safe but the staff we friendly and responsive.

I had a pleasant stay at a reasonable cost (for Geneva)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poonopolous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    184
    154
    57
    41
See reviews for
80
141
52
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This hotel does not have much to recommend it. We stayed in their quadruple room but they refused to give us more than one key (just the plastic card type). This is not adequate for 3 adults. One night the card wouldn't work and the attendant on reception had a very bad attitude when we asked for his help. The room was clean but not in any way attractive. The breakfast was passable but not particularly good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Happy Valley
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Only two days in Geneva to get over jetlag before going off to the mountains. A perfect hotel for this -- quiet (winter so windows closed), warm, reasonable cost -- hotel not flash but perfectly adequate and a fantastic location, for train station and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkletoes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

The check-in clerk at reception was abrupt and unpleasant. The male receptionist in the evening was merely an intern and was lumbered with everyone's problems. The inappropriately sarcastic and unpleasant female assistant receptionist was merely an American student! No senior staff were available from Xmas to New Year. The radiator in one room didn't work, so we had to change room. The electric razor port in the new room didn't work so I couldn't shave for 3 days - I was just not prepared to be put to the further inconvenience of changing rooms again. The hotel director would become available the following week, i.e. when we had long gone.

At the end of our first evening we wanted to leave, but unfortunately we had paid Expedia in advance for 3 days, so we were stuck. We had just had a stay at a 4 star hotel in Chur costing less than this for a wonderful stay. The Bernina is disproportionately expensive - the place is left to run itself during the shoulder period from Xmas Eve to New Year's Day. It was our worst hotel stay in Switzerland in all the 11 years we have been holidaying in the country.

If Expedia had not taken the money for a 3 day stay, in advance, we could have checked-out on day 1 as soon as all the problems became apparent. Paying in advance, with no refund possible, is a definite 'no-no'.

Room Tip: Rooms 101, 102, 103 and 501 are single rooms with larger beds, but the hotel system does not indicat...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Le_Coin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This hotel is very convenient. It's right across the street from the Geneva train station. Rooms are small but good for 2 people. Nice bad and comforters. Small bathroom but nice showers.

Excellent breakfast and good service. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Just walk out of the train station and cross the street. It's on the left side. It just say Beni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#54 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
James-Fazy
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#53 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#41 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Cornavin
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#26 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernina Geneve? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernina Geneve

Property: Hotel Bernina Geneve
Address: place de Cornavin 22, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Formerly Bernina Swiss Quality Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,827 - ₹ 25,876
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bernina Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family business hotel for 80 years at your service. Benefiting from a prime location opposite the Main Train Station of Geneva, Hotel Bernina is adjacent to a big shopping center and only a 5-minute walk from Lake Geneva. The property is also next to the bus terminal and the business district as well as the commercial area of the city. The United Nations and other international organizations are about a mile away. Venture out, enjoy Geneva's nightlife and retreat to your spacious, elegant and bright. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bernina Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Geneva
Geneva Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing