We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleasant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #25 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Baltics
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I spent only 1 night there for business, so my review will be quite short. Location is convenient - short walk to the lake (7 min), 10 min walk to the Cathedral, near tram stop and not far from train station. Rooms are small and quite different - in some rooms window can be opened, but not in all rooms (I really hate it!), some rooms have bath salt, some not; some rooms have slippers, some not; some rooms have bathrobe, some not. We had a group of people there, everybody with the same reservation and we would expect the same level of extras.
Breakfast was good - selection sufficient, coffe machine available - no capuccino, just a good quality of coffee; very good fresh orange and grapefruit juice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank railis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for having taking the time to post your feedback about our hotel Royal. The hotel offers various room categories with various amenities. This is why some got the slipers for exemple and some did not. We are hapy you enjoyed your stay, hotel location and breakfat too and we would be glad to welcome you back for your next trip to Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    353
    141
    38
    12
See reviews for
157
195
30
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I recently stayed for 2 nights with my 4 kids in 2 junior suites. Bell boy was very attentive at our arrival with the car and luggage. Staff at the front desk were very helpful with restaurant reservations and with any of our needs. Location is good if you want to be next to central station, and listen to the sound of the trains. Not a very nice area to walk around, even though it is close to different attractions. Rooms were spacious and clean. On the hall of the rooms there is a little moldy smell. What really was unconceivable was that at my departure no one could help with luggage. Even though I left at 5am, i had advised the day before because i asked for a private van to take us to the airport with several luggage. The response of the front desk was, I am sorry I am alone at this time and there is no one to help. Is that what you can expect at a 4 star hotel with a rate of almost 300 Francs per room??? I guess not. So i had to be helped by my taxi driver who came up to the fifth floor to help. That is for certain not the swiss service one expects after paying more than 1200 francs for 2 nights. The restaurant is overpriced, for a burger they charge almost 30 francs, and it is a simple burger......

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are concerned our service did not meet your expectations and we will take grant of your comment in order to improve our services. We would be happy to welcome you back in our hotel Royal or in any of its sister hotel of the Manotel group. We will then make sure you get the services you are expecting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Excellent location near to the train and bus terminal. Close to bars, cafes and restaurants.

The hotel is clean, well maintained and has a professional and friendly staff.

The rooms are a decent size with good bathrooms and easy access to bar, restaurant and gym facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_scot1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your nice feedback about the hotel Royal. We will be very happy to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed here for business for four nights. Very nice hotel - much more pleasant on the inside than it looks from the outside. Stayed in a standard room - very nice, clean, decent size, good selection of channels on the flat screen to suite all languages. It is very close to the railway station - walking distance, so handy - but not great area to be walking around at night - however, it is central to everything. Only complaint I had was the very over-priced breakfast - 30 Swiss F - served in a ballroom - pretty much self service and hot food nothing to rave about. If you eat great amounts for breakfast I guess it might make sense - otherwise go to the bakery down the street which opens early.

Room Tip: All rooms have good well insulated windows so trains not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newyork025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Busines Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your comment. It will help us to improve our services. Please note we can now offer an express breakfast, cheaper and lighter at our bar. We would be very happy to welcome you back next time you are in Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a beautiful Hotel, very close to the city center and the train station, with a high quality standard like one can expect from a 4+ Star Hotel in Switzerland.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTW300474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for your good feedback about our hotel and about the team. We will pass it on. We are looking forward to welcome you next time you are in Geneva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wilson
Hotel Edelweiss - Manotel Geneva
Le Prieuré
Hotel Jade - Manotel Geneva
Warwick Geneva
#28 of 108 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Property: Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Address: rue de Lausanne 41-43, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,217 - ₹ 18,636
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contrasting combination of heritage and innovation distinguish this traditional hotel. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury. Located in the City centre, close to the train station and between the lake and the United Nations. Discover our rooms, from Classic to the Suites. You can enjoy our complimentary services (2 business corners, fitness center, WiFi and Internet connection). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A parking lot is available. All your wishes will be satisfied in our hotel thanks to our Bogie's bar and our restaurant Le Duo, with its two side, Coté Bistro and Coté Resto (16/20 Gault&Millau) are also available for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Royal Geneva
Manotel Royal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing