We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well placed and quite expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
Ranked #29 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This hotel is a 10 minute walk from the lake, clear, with a gym up above (view over the train station) and breakfast down below (for an extra EUR30 which seems a bit pricey to me). The service was professional. The rooms were a bit small but otherwise I had a nice stay at the Manotel. Internet was free although everything else needed to be paid for.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusiBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for having taken the time to write a comment. We would kindly precise that our themed buffet breakfast costs CHF 30.- (not Euros). We are glad you enjoyed the hotel Royal and would be happy to welcome you back for your next trip to Geneva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (863)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 473 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

We booked two rooms at the Hotel Royal during a recent ski trip to Switzerland. We spent our final afternoon and night in Geneva to catch an early flight back home.

It was a wise decision to select the Hotel Royal in terms of location. It is within a short walk from the train station (turn left out of station, walk a few minutes, hotel is on left). The train to the airport takes only 7 minutes and runs every 15 minutes. It is a far more interesting location than staying at the airport itself.

The hotel lobby is really nicely decorated and maintained. It has lots of seating areas. the restaurant and bar areas are designed well and have a trendy feeling.

The rooms we got were in the back of the hotel. This may be an older wing perhaps with no view of the street in front of the hotel. This was fine, as the rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. The hallways leading to the rooms however were a bit rundown - carpeting, walls, etc., but the rooms were very good. One problem with the rooms was a lack of electrical outlets near the bed. There was no way to plug in our iPhones which we use as clocks and for an alarm. The rooms have no clocks. We had to plug the phones in in the other side of each room.

The pricing was fantastic through hotels.com at $179 a night.

The neighborhood is ok, but a bit seedy on the side streets - do not go to the side streets. This is typical of being near a train station. The main road itself is fine, has a few small restaurants, and a convenient tram service (number 15). The hotel provides you with a free transit card.

The staff was friendly, except for an abhorrent situation at the front desk. Upon checking in there's a large sign that says 15% off at any of the hotel restaurants for hotel guests. We decided to eat at the hotel. When we checked out, the front desk refused to give the 15% credit because we didn't "show the brochure" when we ordered the food. I told the person at the front desk that this was not the right way to treat customers. I showed him the sign that was directly behind him, but he still refused to do the right thing. He said his manager would contact me over the next couple of days. I left my email and contact information, but no one ever contacted me. This "take advantage of the customer" is really shocking.

I still give the hotel a Very Good rating for all the other reasons I indicated. It is perfect for a one night stay in Geneva if going to the airport in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAvster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you for your comment and good rating. Such comments are very important to us so that we can continue to improve our services. We will adress the issue you had with the 15% coupon to our restaurant staff. We would be very happy to welcome you again in our Hotel Royal for your next trip to Geneva. It is true Geneva is the perfect stop before and after being int the ski resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Very central location, just 10 min. walk to lake Geneva and 5 minutes to train station. Had a junior suite room - a nespresso machine, free internet, quiet and clean. The quality of the service and room was on a high level. I would stay again, thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2012

Thank you! Thank you! We will share your nice comment with our staff and we will all be very happy to welcome you in the Royal Hotel for your next trip to Geneva.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We were delighted with this charming hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, room was large and beautiful, and Bogie's bar had very good food, drinks and service. We will plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed in Geneva for seven nights, in two different rooms in the Royal. Neither room had adequate temperature control - in one, the heat was too high and the window had to be opened; in the other, the room was too cold and they had to bring up a space heater. For two nights and one morning, internet access was not available. Worst of all, the last night I woke up with bites - bedbugs? - which probably explains the heavy odor of disinfectant/insect spray when I checked in. 10 of my business colleagues were in Manotels at the same time. I don't think any of us will stay again.

The only things in its favor were a convenient location, good restaurant and otherwise friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblanc, E-Business Manager at Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you for having taken the time to express your feedback, which is highly important to us. After a thorough inspection, we can gladly report we did not find any bugs in the hotel. We apologize for the poor WIFI connection you experienced during your stay, as a matter of fact we encountered difficulties with our server which in the meantime have been fixed.
Again, we thank you for your comments and should you choose to stay with us again, it goes without saying that we would be delighted to welcome you back to Geneva and one of the Manotel hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
970 reviews
Mont-Blanc
Eastwest Hotel
Eastwest Hotel
#6 of 106 in Geneva
738 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#25 of 106 in Geneva
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva

Address: rue de Lausanne 41-43, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: ₹ 9,828 - ₹ 23,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva 4.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contrasting combination of heritage and innovation distinguish this traditional hotel. Inspired by a neoclassical architectural style the Hotel Royal offers a cocoon of homely warmth, voluptuous comfort and accessible luxury. Located in the City centre, close to the train station and between the lake and the United Nations. Discover our rooms, from Classic to the Suites. You can enjoy our complimentary services (2 business corners, fitness center, WiFi and Internet connection). We give you also a free public transportation card during all your stay. A parking lot is available. All your wishes will be satisfied in our hotel thanks to our Bogie's bar and our restaurant Le Duo, with its two side, Coté Bistro and Coté Resto (16/20 Gault&Millau) are also available for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Royal - Manotel Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manotel Royal Geneva
Manotel Royal Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing