We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not great value”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #57 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I stayed one night here. You can't fault its location if you want convenience, it couldn't be closer to the centre. But you pay for it in a sense. While not at all expensive by Geneva standards, it's not cheap, and you don't actually get much for your money. The room I had was very small and poorly arranged. It was a lot of money to not even have a bedside table. TV and Internet would have cost a lot more on top (although there was free Interent in reception). Breakfast was satisfactory, but no more, and having it with the comings and goings of the 'pub' where it was served wasn't very private. I'd not choose to stay here again, but neither would I object if there were no alternative.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brascioles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Astoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel, bcoz of its location at the Cornavin, and also because it was a conference season, and Geneve was booked. The person at reception in the evening was quite nice, however the one in morning (fat and old) seemed to be least interested in his job, and appeared to be rude..
Rooms appeared to be ill-maintained, carpet a bit musty, and less natural light in room (werent much bothered, as we just had a night stay..).
Overal, the hotel seems to be doing good business and charging relatively high (300 CHF) compared to the services - only because of its 'strategic' location..!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Some rooms are really, really small, so do not hesitate to ask for a bigger one. The hotel is clean, but definitely needs to be refurbished.
The breakfast in strangely in the next door pub and is also just correct.
Positively, the hotel has a very central location in front of the central train station and the tram stop, that allows you to easily reach the international institutions (UN, WTO, etc) in a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francoallemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night in June. We chose this hotel as we wanted to be close to the train station as we had to take a very early train the next morning. It is located right in front of the train station on quite a busy road. The employee at the front desk was polite but he seemed to be irritated by our arrival (he had been having a nice chat with another employee). Thankfully later in the evening we met another employee at the front desk who was more pleasant. There are some restaurants in the area as well as bakeries and small shops in the train station. We chose instead to walk to the Old Town (about 12 minutes away by foot) and found a terrace restaurant for supper. Our room was a bit musty with some stains on the carpet but otherwise it was acceptably clean and quiet. There is a free internet terminal at the reception. A simple breakfast (included in the price) is served in the adjacent pub-restaurant. All in all this hotel served our purpose but I would not have chosen it for more than a one night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pt-laval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Hotel Astoria one night, July 11, 2011.
Originally we were booked 2 nights, but decided to stay an additional night in Italy.
The front desk person at the hotel in Italy offered to change our resveration at Hotel Astoria.
We received 2 emails confirming our new arrival date.The hotel also called the Astoria and I gave them our reservation number and asked them to check our reservation. They confirmed that we were arriving on July 11 for one night.
When we arrived at Astoria, they couldn't find out reservation. It turned out they had charged us for a no show night and cancelled our reservation! We had to use their computer in the lobby to print the 2 emails we had received from them about our reservation.
The hotel manager was really rude and unpleasant. He certainly made us feel that it was our fault that we didn't show up the night before, even though we had 2 emails from them about it!

He also told us that Astoria is no longer part of Best Western so we didn't get our Best Western points.

We will never ever thay at that hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarinP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
240 reviews
James-Fazy
Suisse Hotel
Suisse Hotel
#31 of 106 in Geneva
492 reviews
Cornavin
Ibis Styles Geneve Mont-Blanc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cornavin
International et Terminus
International et Terminus
#52 of 106 in Geneva
278 reviews
Hotel Cristal Design
#44 of 106 in Geneva
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Place Cornavin 6, Geneva 1211, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > James-Fazy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: ₹ 8,595 - ₹ 19,943 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Astoria
Best Western Geneva
Geneva Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing