We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good for Business Trips” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Ranked #23 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for Business Trips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

I've stayed here many nights for business, and I like it a lot. The service is great, and it's nice that the staff remembers me and my room preferences. Room service and housekeeping staff are great, as well as front desk staff. The rooms are spacious by European standards - at least the rooms I have stayed in.
Some areas for improvement -
There was a problem with the heat during a very cold period in February. I had to call for a space heater because it was too cold to sleep at night.
It would be nice if there were occasional updates to the room service menu. I realize I probably spend more time at the hotel than that average traveller, so this is a non-issue for most, but some seasonal specials would be nice.

Overall, I've been happy with the Kempinski and am looking forward to staying there for future trips.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptriciah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thank you very much for your encouraging words regarding the front office, housekeeping and room service. Your comment regarding updating the room service menu is highly appreciated and I will personally look into it.

Looking forward to welcoming you personally on your next visit to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

With kindest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    250
    89
    50
    39
See reviews for
106
153
51
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Its expensive but actually much better value than cheaper hotels. First class service and bedrooms make it worthwhile. Breakfast not worth the price though. The bar is atmospheric and has a good range of drinks with many people worth watching!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
I am truly delighted to read your positive comments about our Hotel and that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed our Bar is the trendiest bar in town.

Looking forward to welcoming you once more on your next visit to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

With kindest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

I have stayed here frequently for business and have always been comfortable. The hotel itself is a bit gaudy, but the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is great. Balcony rooms are a nice touch if you can get one. The bathtub is deep- watch out, it's a potential slip-and-fall death trap. Le Grill has a nice menu. The service in the lounge is awful.

Room Tip: Stay away from front corner room on 3rd or 4th floor. The lounge is very loud on the weekend and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you indeed for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.
We are sorry to learn that the Hotel's interior & exterior architectural features
are not to your taste, although you generally liked your guestroom and bathroom
interior design. With regard to your preference for a room on the 8th floor (with
balcony), should you not have indicated this to our front desk staff, we suggest
that you do it when you make your next reservation. As for the potential danger
of our bathtubs, thank you for pointing this out. Glad to hear that our Grill menu
choice met with your approval, but sorry to hear that our FloorTwo Lounge service
fell short of your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

With kindest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

A delightful stay of four days in a very lovely city. Location is perfect - on the lake, near a shopping district, many colourful and varied local (and reasonably priced) restaurants. The rooms were spacious and modern with great bathrooms, an endless supply of fluffy towels and as comfortable bed as one would ever hope to find. The concierges were splendid - kind and accommodating. My only criticism (rather than a complaint) is that the restaurant/s were overpriced. Breakfast is extraordinarily (maybe not for (Geneva!) expensive - choose the continental over the full, and enjoy a gorgeous sunny room overlooking the lake, with excellent service. However, as an alternative, step back a few blocks and enjoy cafe au lait and a delicious marzipan-filled croissant, opera music and ambience francois for less than CHF 8!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank greenway255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for staying at the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us and that we met your expectations.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed the lakeview, the spacious rooms, the comfortable bed, the fluffy towels and the friendliness of our concierges.

I am personally looking forward to your next stay with us.

With kindest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Location is very good, walking distance to the best of Geneva. Rooms are very well decorated and size is fairly good. I have not had breakfast in the hotel but it seemed to be very good quality however a bit crowded.
Overall, very good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LavalleyT, General Manager at Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for selecting the Grand Hotel Kempinski during your recent stay in Geneva. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit with us and that we met your expectations.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back and meeting you on your next visit to the Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva.

With kindest regards,
Thierry Lavalley

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Beau-Rivage Geneva
#20 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 108 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pâquis Navigation
Le Richemond, Geneva Dorchester Collection
Hotel Bristol
#5 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Wilson
Hotel President Wilson
Hotel President Wilson
#10 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva

Property: Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva
Address: 19, Quai du Mont - Blanc, Geneva 1211, Switzerland (Formerly Le Palace Hilton Geneva)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,348 - ₹ 49,768
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Geneva! Home to numerous international organizations, Geneva has been referred to as one of the world's best cities to live in. By bicycle or on foot, visit an awe-inspiring cathedral, the UN and Red Cross Head-quarters, swim in the famous Lake Geneva or simply marvel at the Jet d'Eau, the iconic water fountain that soars above the skyline. Majestically situated on the shores of Lake Geneva, The Grand Hotel Kempinski is both a perfect leisure and a business destination located in the heart of Switzerland's most cosmopolitan city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Kempinski Geneva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing