We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive and no service”
Review of La Colombiere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Colombiere
Ranked #17 of 22 Geneva B&B and Inns
Eeklo, Belgium
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Too expensive and no service”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I choose the hotel because it's not far from the airport and some international organizations, but I won't go there again. Seems my experience is very similar to some of the other recent reviews. The hotel is run as a "side business" to the restaurant. Don't try to check in after 7PM, because all staff is working in the restaurant and nobody has any time for running the hotel. Don't go there if you expect to have breakfast before 8h30 in the morning in the weekends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickMerlevede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    10
    11
    17
See reviews for
2
3
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Wasted money. Horrible dirty. Just do not go there!!! Restaurant acceptable. The rooms are super small. No air conditioning. No door for the bathroom. No place to put clothes. No way to have a nice sleep. Old beds with dirty mattress.
Tv did not work. Breakfast unacceptable.
150 euros per night... Unbelievable... Only advantage. The palaexpo is at 5 minutes walking.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ettodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geneva hotels

Rueti
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had a booking confirmed by the hotel in October 2010. At check in the hotel charged our credit card and then informed us that they do not have rooms for us, but rebooked us into another hotel in Geneva. That hotel was absolutely not acceptable. (dirty, unfriendly). They also didnt trust La Colombiere with the booking and wanted to take it day by day. A very unpleasant experience during exhibition time in Geneva

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cnnblatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This was a very strange hotel. The main business is a restaurant (quite a good one) and the manager seemed only interested in that. He first could not find my reservation, then wanted to charge me for an extra night (although I had cancelled this night well in advance). I had to wait in the restaurant by the kitchen for some time while he dealt with the chef, servers, other clients. A colleague who arrived in the morning from a trans-Atlantic flight had to sit in the restaurant for 2 hours till the manager showed up to give him a room. Room was small and cost far too much for what is provided - no towel racks, no soap dish in shower, internet costs extra. The location is great, close to the airport, but there are a lot of other hotels in Geneva that take the hotel business seriously. I was made to feel like an annoying interloper.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alyson_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
189 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

The location of this hotel is ideal if you are in Geneva for business and wish to be able to walk over to the Palexpo (5 minutes away). However, the service is cathastrophic. My colleagues and I booked several rooms five months in advance and still the management tried to deny the existance of our reservation only two weeks prior our arrival (when we contacted them to confirm), despite the fact that we had given a credit card number to be on the safe side. After a very stressful email exchange with the hotel manager, the rooms were finally confirmed. The morning we got there, although it was one day later than planned (of which delay we had advised the staff), our rooms were not ready and we had to sit around an wait for over one hour. I suspect the rooms had been sold to someone else for the first night, although we had obviously paid for that first night too!! The hotel manager is extremely arrogant and when I protested because of the long wait (we were there for business and his complete disorganisation caused a delay in our business meetings) I have been told we were lucky to get a room at all!! Seriously?! We had booked five months in advance! The rooms are clean but tiny. The beds are more comfortable than they look. Bring all your tolietries since the only complimentary product offered is a small bar of poor quality soap. Breakfast is what you would expect in a one star youth hostel. Dry bread and croissants, one sort of ham and one sort of cheese. Awful quality. You need to ask the waiter for your hot drink - coffee is good. The hotel restaurant offers ok quality Italian and international specialities. One positive note was the meat, very nice and tender. In other words, dinner here is ok but otherwise just stay clear!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsPerfectBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geneva
0.4 km away
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conference Center
Starling Geneva Hotel & Conferen...
#1 of 2 in Le Grand Saconnex
436 reviews
1.6 km away
Ibis Geneve Aeroport Hotel
2.1 km away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Geneva
Crowne Plaza Geneva
#2 of 6 in Cointrin
833 reviews
1.6 km away
Nash Airport Hotel
Nash Airport Hotel
#5 of 6 in Cointrin
639 reviews
2.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Geneva Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colombiere? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colombiere

Property: La Colombiere
Address: route de Ferney 171, Geneva 1218, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Geneva
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,203 - ₹ 15,244
Hotel Class:3 star — La Colombiere 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your La Colombiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing