We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
50
80
32
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
80
32
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red light district store clothes accor group water buses train station hotel is located welcome drink asked for a quiet room sex shops tiny room main station affordable hotel top floor free train ticket stayed here for two nights department store visiting geneva
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2018

As many others have pointed out, the area is not exactly upscale, but it didn't feel threatening or unsafe even when walking back to the hotel late at night (I am a solo female traveler). The location is very convenient and near both Cornavin Train Station (with good bus connections around the city) and the lake, as well as Geneva Old Town. In central Geneva, everything is within walking distance anyway.

The hotel itself is of typical Ibis quality: efficient, clean, no frills. The staff was friendly and always helpful. I would especially like to thank the lady working at breakfast service for providing me some vegan options in addition to the regular selection, which itself was pretty extensive (I made a request for vegan items in advance, but wasn't really sure how it would work out). This was a business trip with a hectic schedule, so being able to have good breakfast at the hotel was a relief.

There were several inexpensive eateries nearby, and especially the Lebanese restaurant/take-away place Parfums de Beyrouth locating just a couple of steps from Ibis turned out to be excellent. Lots of locals as customers there, which is always a good sign. There are several supermarkets in the neighbourhood (Coop, Migros), and the major department store Manor is also pretty close.

The area/street is busy, so if you want to secure a more quiet room, ask for one from the upper floors. The hotel itself and my room were very quiet. No complaints, can recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucR395, General Manager at ibis Geneve Centre Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear Marimh,
Thank you very much for your stay and for sharing your concerns. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I have forwarded your nice feedback about the Vegan option you had to our Food & Beverage manager. We are looking forward to your next stay. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Hotel was in an excellent location- a five minute walk from Cornavin Station and also five minutes from Lake Geneva. Airport was a seven minute train ride, with trains running every ten minutes. The area around the hotel was busy with bars and quite a few Turkish/ Lebanese eateries. People had described it as being in the Red Light area, and there was some evidence of this, but it was not threatening. All the hotel staff were very helpful. I had emailed and asked for a quiet room away from the road and room 620 was lovely. (thank you Jeffrey) Comfortable large bed, clean linen and towels. Shower gel provided in bathroom. Travel adapter, hairdryer, and TV with lots of channels. Wifi was free and good.Effective air con. I paid for breakfast and it was reasonable. It was very busy and the food was not topped up as quickly as perhaps the demand but there was a good variety to choose from. Luggage storage freely available at reception for people with late flights. This was a really good example of an Ibis hotel and one I have no hesitation to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on high floor away from road .
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank retracenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucR395, General Manager at ibis Geneve Centre Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Retracenna, We are happy to read, that you've had a wonderful stay at Ibis Centre Lac. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Very nice hotel. Clean rooms, good lobby, super breackfast. The location is excellent, very close to the lake. Yes, they are strip clubs and working girls near by, but it is 100 % safe. Can recommend it. Price for Geneve is fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Borislav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucR395, General Manager at ibis Geneve Centre Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Borislav,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your experiences. It makes us truly happy to read, that you were fully satisfied during your stay in Geneva. We are looking forward to see you again in our Hotel. Best regards, Marilyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

This property is located about a hundred meters away from the central station down a quiet road. It’s not fancy but comfortable and convenient close to the lake and the sights and the central shopping area.

The rooms are decent and clean and the service very good. The restaurant is small and can be sometimes cramped and it’s best to get in there early.

Traveling to the hotel from the airport is easy on the train. Its just a short walk from the station. It’s also very cheap. Don’t make the mistake of taking taxis from the airport. The hotel also provides a pass for the train once you check in and it’s very convenient thereafter.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank AWIK1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucR395, General Manager at ibis Geneve Centre Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Awik1957, Thank you very much for your beautiful review! It is a real pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We work harder everyday to make everyone feel home and comfortable. We hope to see you soon again very soon! Regards, Marilyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Really bad location. Neighborhood surrounded by strip clubs and low level restaurants. I wouldn’t say that it was not safe but at least unpleasant area. Rooms are very small. Service is ok. I guess the good feature is that is just a couple of blocks from the train station. But that’s it. I would avoid it.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank javier c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucR395, General Manager at ibis Geneve Centre Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Javier,
Thank you for your comment. I would like to mention that our location is one of our strongest traits and I'm sorry to learn that it didn't meet up you expection, We would be very happy to have you staying with us again.
Best regards, Marilyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews