We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
15
8
7
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
8
7
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2014

This review is one of the more difficult to write. There is, as such, nothing wrong wit the Metropol Hotel. Rooms are big, clean and have both tv and a workstation, as well as a good wifi connection.
The staff(owner) was very nice, the breakfast was a very standard small breakfast, location is OK etc.

My issue with the hotel, is that it is simply to outdated. The beds(that looked like a bed that could be folded into the wall) are old, the interior is old and out of date. There was an empty kitchen with oven, fridge etc in the room. But, NOTHING in the room has been updated since the early 1990's.

All in all, nothing is wrong with the Metropol Hotel, it is just out of date in a way that makes me not want to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lasse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2014

I stayed there for one week i September 2014. The Hotel maybe have seen better days. However, it is cheap by Swiss standards, which maybe don´t say a lot. The rooms are spacius and clean. It is situated a short walk from the city center. AND the service they provided, at least for me, was Five Star ( actualy it was 6 stars, it turned out) but any way. Great value for money. / Peter Sweden/Switzerland.

Room Tip: The rooms to yard side of Hotel may be far less noisier the the rooms to street if you bother whith street noise.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I spent a few days in a hotel, but 2 whole nights I could not sleep because of the tremendous noise. In fact, one of the guests of the hotel (room 322) for hours throwing things around the room, screaming around the room and in front of the hotel and it was impossible to sleep. In all that time no one from the hotel staff did not react. If you want to sleep, get as far away from this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kapablanka 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

What can I say. Berne's hotels were full owing to a bunch of over-padded glorified figure-skaters fighting each other under the guise of the Ice Hockey World Cup; I missed out owing to my own procrastination on the last decent value room in Fribourg; so I looked further afield to Biel/Bienne. Sounded interesting (this is Switzerland, remember, so interesting's a relative term), a bi-lingual town referred to by one or both of its names. Only a 30 minute train ride from Berne. How bad could it be?

I arrived at Biel train station. Ignoring the congregating alcoholics in front of the station itself, I walked along a quite pleasant high street, a charming square bridging the river and then more shops. Clearly thinking too much of some of Paris' boulevards named after military figures, I assumed General Dufourstrasse would be a grand street. Well, it was grand in the sense of being big and wide, but that's where the similarities ended. Think East Berlin pre-1989. And ignore the picture the hotel's website uses to represent the front of the hotel, which is as if the model posing for Da Vinci when he painted the Mona Lisa were actually Cherie Blair on a bad hair day.

So the street gets grimmer the nearer you get to the hotel and the facade of the hotel is grimmer still. What about the inside? Fair play to them, it's the only hotel I've seen that has a time-travel device installed just inside the front door - it's the only explanation for the transportation to bygone decades that occurs as soon as you enter. The decor starts bemusingly and deteriorates as you get deeper into the hotel, culminating in the guest rooms, which, while spacious, are ominously close to the look of low-budget 70s porn sets, not that I've seen low-budget 70s porn, of course. Or big-budget 70s porn for that matter.

What's good to say about the rooms? I had a balcony in mine, although I had to cross small piles of what looked like ant-killer to get to it. Judging by the dozen or so ants milling around, the ant killer was underperforming. One of the ants even made it all the way to my pillow, providing me with an interesting, if taciturn bedtime companion, at least for the five seconds before I squashed it. The beds are interesting for their thinness, shortness and the fact that they fold back up into the wall units, something I'd only seen on very old TV programmes before. I slept well enough, to be fair, but had little confidence in the hygiene and cleanliness of the bedding.

The bathroom was better, the shower had instant, powerful hot water that remained at a constant temperature, although the shower head could only be attached to a bracket about 4' above the bottom of the bath, which isn't ideal.

Alas I cannot comment on the breakfast because the thought of voluntarily spending any longer than I had to inside the building depressed me.

All in all, I was sheltered, I was able to take a comfortable enough shower and I slept. It fulfilled my most basic needs. But I'd recommend anyone to look elsewhere. Any Ibis would provide far better value for money. I learned the hard way that there was a reason why this place still had rooms available when most other places did not!

A picture paints a thousand words, so for a more accurate two thousand word review of the hotel, please click below, whilst bearing in mind that these are the photos they choose to portray the hotel in its best light:
[--]

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kungfujoe98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Booked due to stated park opposite and breakfast room and bar area looked nice. Information and pictures far removed from what we experienced.
Breakfast takes place in the very drab smoky bar area. Quality of continental breakfast extremely poor.
No park opposite but instead round the corner. Parking - advised on arrival only 2 spaces for hotel. Decor in rooms extremely dated and poor. Shower - you have to hold the shower whilst washing.
Asbestos sheeting covering the balcony walls and tree roots growing out of the balcony floor.
HOTEL BUILDING AND VICINITY COVERED IN GRAFFITI.
This hotel is not equivalent to any other 3 star I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Libby35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews