We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much nicer than it looked at first”
Review of Hotel Marthahaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marthahaus
Ranked #2 of 18 Bern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Coming from Interlakin, we were initially a bit unhappy to be back in a city, and Marthahouse looked a bit ordinary from the outside. We need not have worried. The room was lovely, with a courtyard view and good bed. The kitchen is very clean and well equipped for some self catering. Marthahouse is well located close to all the good bits of Berne, the staff are helpful if a bit reserved, and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

The staff was friendly, the breakfast was delicious, the location was convenient to downtown (with a short walk or tram ride), the rooms were clean and nice (but small).

My room on the fifth floor was a bit stuffy, with only a window and the door for ventilation.

Free WiFi, which worked well from my room.

Shared bathroom was very small and the shower was tiny, but it was all clean and functional. There was a sink in the room, so it was OK that the bathroom was so small.

The place is not luxurious, but the price is extremely reasonable for Switzerland and I would stay here again if I were coming back to Bern.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeGarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

This is a great little hotel that felt like home. Good price too. The staff were extremely helpful and made our stay comfortable. The rooms were big, clean(ours had an en suite) and the beds were comfortable. It was very quiet with a view over a lovely courtyard. There was an ample breakfast, a well functioning computer center, a modern and clean kitchen in the basement and even a sitting area outside. It is in a quiet area of town but still the city center is easily accessed by bus. We loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed here with 2 young children. The rooms were nice, the beds very comfortable, and the breakfast was quite good. A very short walk and tram ride, or bus, to the city center. Very helpful staff. My only complaint is that it is very hard to find the first time you go there. Problem solved once you locate the pension. We wished we would have had the flexibility to stay longer. We will definately book here again when we return to Bern.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

This is a good honest B&B. It's not the Ritz, but you get value for your money. It's a 15 minute walk from the central train station, and there is a bus run on one side and a tram on the other.

Breakfast is good, not a huge range, but enough to start the day. Free wifi internet was a bonus.

Bathroom was ok, shower was quite small. There's only soap supplied, so bring your shampoo. The room and the B&B were clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.7 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
531 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.8 km away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
122 reviews
1.3 km away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marthahaus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marthahaus

Address: Wyttenbachstrasse 22a, Bern 3013, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Bern
Price Range: ₹ 8,530 - ₹ 12,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Marthahaus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marthahaus Hotel offers you individually and very tastefully furnished rooms in a quiet residential area of Berne, near the centre, the main station, the BEA-Expo, the Stade de Suisse and the Postfinance Arena.A guest kitchen, wireless internet access are available free of charges! The Marthahaus serves a complimentary breakfast. Many restaurants can be found around the hotel.The staff of the Marthahaus is at your disposal 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Marthahaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Marthahaus Bern Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing