We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ibis budget Bern Expo
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Bern
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed at Etap Bern just for 1 night. Hotel is very well located, close to the center and with an easy access to the old town by tram. It takes you just 7 minutes to the center of this very beautiful city!! We had a nice view from the 12th floor, too.
The rooms are a bit old and not very clean, unfortunately. But the saff was very nice and friendly. Especially, the young man who met us on our arrival was extremely welcoming and helpful. This is so important, because such thing really matter. So thank you:-)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikrusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (636)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2011

The hotel itself is pretty close to the old town, about 12 minutes by tram #9, at the end of the tram line at Bern Expo. However, it is the reception clerk that was a big issue, whose name was Anka. I arrived around 11:00 and told her I would like to check in. She stared at me for 10 seconds as if she could not understand what I was talking about. Then without addressing me, she picked up a phone and talked to someone else before she started the checkin. There was no smile, only abrupt actions.

She demanded my passport and went inside to make a copy. That was the only time at ny Accor hotels, both Etap and Ibis in the last a few years, that would make a physical copy of my passport. Because of this, if anything happens due to that Xerox copy of the my passport, Etap is liable for all the consequences.

Then Anka asked for my credit card to process payment. She put the machine under the counter, unlike everywhere else at Etap, the machine was always on the top of the counter so that guests could choose the currency to charge from. When she pulled out the payment slip, it was not in CHF but in US$, which included a fee. I asked her why, she yelled at the top of her voice and said there was no other choice and that was the only currency by the machine. I expressed doubt and asked to speak to a manager, and she rudely said “speak to me”. I asked to go downstairs where Ibis check-in is located to talk to employee and supervisor there, and she refused. She said either sign the slip or pay cash. The whole process was very unpleasant and she acted like a jerk.

I signed the slip and indicated that there was no choice of currency for me.

Late in the afternoon, I went by the Ibis counter and asked the check-in woman there if there was no currency choice at that location. I told her what happened and she went in to talk to another employee, Dominik, who then asked me to wait for a while for them to ask their director, Christian Scheiner, to come in after he finished the phone call.

I told Director Scheiner what happened, and he kindly instructed Domink to reverse the transaction for me and process the payment again in CHF. From the reactions by the director, it seemed to me this was not the first time Anka caused trouble.

Can’t Etap hire better persons to do this job? It seems the low end hotel can only have low end staff? Anka should be shown the door, not even worth sending to the laundry to dry clean.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helpful138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazzott
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Clean and tidy room with good value.
Location is not very far, can directly access by the tram number 9 from the HBF.
However, the direction given in the website is not very accurate, it advised us to get there by S-bahn to station Wandorf, then we ended up walking 15mins from to train station to hotel.
Free wifi and desktop in lobby is very convenient

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esthermomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 661milena56
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.0 km away
Ibis Bern Expo
Ibis Bern Expo
#12 of 30 in Bern
742 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
0.0 km away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#29 of 30 in Bern
264 reviews
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Bern-Westside
2.5 km away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#24 of 30 in Bern
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Bern Expo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Bern Expo

Address: Guisanplatz 2 - 4, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: ₹ 6,052 - ₹ 8,778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Bern Expo 1*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis budget Bern Expo is an economy hotel located opposite the BERNEXPO and is a short distance from the new Stade de Suisse football stadium and the National Equestrian Centre. The centre of the city is just 1.7 km from the hotel and the Bern-Belp International Airport is only 10 km away. The hotel has 102 comfortable rooms with air-cooling system, free Wi-Fi, pay parking and a restaurant nearby. Enjoy an economical stay on a weekend or during the week in Bern for two, with the family or in a group. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your ibis budget Bern Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing