We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Characterless”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Pergola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Pergola
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Bern
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Characterless”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Modern style hotel a bit too far away from the centre. Front desk staff very helpful, breakfast staff less so. Handy parking. A bit characterless for such a charming city.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    82
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
28
27
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Even though Hotel La Pergola is not in the old part of Bern city, it is only a 5-10 min tram ride away from the centre, or a 15-20 stroll. We enjoyed this boutique hotel as it was clean, tidy, fresh, comfortable, and a very nice breakfast spot in the mornings. To enter the hotel, look for the walkway just off the street. Good pizzas from the small corner pizza shop just up the road (heading towards the city centre), and also a good set priced meal from another nearby 5-minute-walk hotel - ask the La Pergola reception staff for the dining voucher (sorry, can't remember the name of the other hotel or the price, but we were pleased with our meal and our included-in-the-price glass of wine). When walking around Bern, enjoy all the fountains and their statues along the cobbled main street. Enjoy Bern !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamandrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

This hotel is hard to find. It isn't even visible from Belpstrasse which its address says it's on. You have to watch for a little sign that points down a different street to the hotel.

The room descriptions of other reviewers have pointed out most of the good points of this hotel. The rooms are wonderfully clean and everything works well. The breakfast is nice. But, the sliding door system used in the room results in little ridges in the floor where the doors slide. If you step on one with bare feet it hurts. The street noise others mentioned was a problem for us too, even though we were there in the winter. The room is so small that with a double bed there was only about 8 inches between wall and bed on one side.

The staff are very friendly and efficient except that the front desk person is tasked with handling all the phone calls as well as guest reception. When we arrived, having traveled from San Francisco, we had to stand and wait while the receptionist took not one, but two phone calls. She quoted rates and described rooms ad infinitum while all we wanted was a bed to crash in. That happened a couple more times during our stay when I just wanted to ask a question. Those times I gave up and found another way to get answers.

We were allowed to check in when we arrived at 11:00 am, which was great. Our room had just one pillow and one towel though. They must waste a lot of maid time running pillows and towels around.

The real surprise is the lack of good, competitively-priced accomodations in Bern. We have traveled there on business five times in the past year and have tried three different hotels because the only one we really like is usually booked up well in advance. We have found most cities this size have a better selection.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marybs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haifa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Very nice small hotel, nicely decorated comfortable room, top service, good location, few minutes walking to old town city center and to railway station. Small drawback, no minibar in
the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egoldh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillesand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Staying only for 1night it was a positive experience and i would imagine to return to this hotel another time.Rooms could be bigger of course,but you get a good value for the money,rooms are clean and comfortable,breakfast was like in most of swiss hotels delicious and with a good selection of cereals and pastries.Service was also excellent and if you drive a car,the parking is free in the front of the building.Hotel is placed quiet central and we enjoyed our walk into the old town.What is the best with this hotel is, that our swiss friend booked this hotel for us,and in return he was invited to have a free breakfast with us on our departure day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klemensito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
2.4 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel National AG
Hotel National AG
#24 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Waldhorn
Hotel Waldhorn
#11 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
1.1 km away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#22 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pergola

Property: Hotel La Pergola
Address: Belpstrasse 43, Bern 3007, Switzerland (Formerly La Pergola Swiss Q Hotel)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Bern
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,722 - ₹ 23,325
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pergola 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 3 Star Hotel La Pergola is an outstanding address for holidaymakers or for business travellers: as oasis of calmness our hotel offers daily living hospitality and regeneration from the day-to-day hectic rush in the pulsating heart of the city. A cup of refreshing Tea in our motley garden? Or a zippy cup of coffee in our modern lobby? With our charming little team we will try our best to fulfil all your personal wishes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Hotel
La Pergola Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing