We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had a tremedous experience at this well appointed, stylish hotel. The staff were fantastic, from housekeeping to the bartenders. The pool area, recently finished, is stunning. The excercise facility modern and very clean. I think that the value is outstanding. I have stayed at Four Seasons, Meridian, W, Ritz, Fairmont etc hotels in Europe and Central and North America and I would put this hotel even with these concepts in terms of quality and service; and surpass the above in terms of value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    75
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
104
313
48
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The Schweizerhof has been wonderfully remodelled, a subtle and harmonious balance of contemporary style and Swiss hotel traditions. Service, from front desk to lounge staff, is simply faultless, friendly, helpful, you find in this hotel what you expect from Swiss palace hospitality. I did not have breakfast but a few glasses in the lounge and checked the menu which seemed to offer a nice selection of local food and more "international" fares. The rooms are simply superb, very quiet despite being on the train station side, bathrooms are large and very modern. Business people have been kept in mind for the multitude of power outlets on the desk and the free minibar (sodas and beers) is a very nice touch not found in many places.
The only downside, and it is a major one for me, is the antiquited internet access, which prevents more than one device at the same time on the same room number access code and the utterly cumbersome process to get additional codes. Europe seems infected with these ubercomplicated internet access systems in hotels. What is wrong with plain open access ??? Or just a code (the same one for everyone and every devices) throughout the hotel ? And change it every week if you fear that a terrorist is going to abuse it !!!! As if they were just counting on your access.... very swiss-spiessig thinking.
Besides this issue, this hotel is fantastic and I will stay there on my next visit...provided they fix the internet access.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAHGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern-Schweizerhof, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback and thank you once again for having chosen the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern during your recent stay. We appreciate your time to inform us about your experiences during your stay with us.

It is a great satisfaction for all of us that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt comfortable at the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern. Your positive feedback is high motivation for every single member of staff to take best possible care of our guests.

We also thank you for your comments concerning the internet access and we do apologise for any inconvenience caused. Booking our standard room category guests have free internet access for one hour per day. Therefore we kindly suggest our guests to book the DELUXE room category (or higher) which includes - beside a more spacious room - the advantage of the BUSINESS PACKAGE in the room rate. Our business package includes free internet access for up to 10 devices (2 mbit/s), unlimited movies on demand as well as unlimited national telephone calls during the whole stay.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern and wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Quality Manager of the Hotel Schweizerhof Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollerau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I've stayed at the Schweizerhof for one night, for business purpose and, if I usually don't write comment after a stay in a hotel, this time I felt that I had to. In fact, the hotel has been tastefully and very well renovated, the service is impeccable and the food tried (room service + breakfast) were very good. This hotel was simply perfect and I have nothing to complain about, from check-in to check-out. I wish every hotel in which I was staying offered such a good experience and service. Congratulations to everyone and I wish you all the best, as to stay again soon.

Room Tip: I was in a single deluxe room, which was extremely big! My room was on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I stayed at the Schweizerhof Hotel for one night (Deluxe room incl. business package) and I must say; it was absolutely great in every way. The warm welcome at the reception including a quick tour of the room made my first minutes of my stay wonderful. The service truly amazed me - when I returned to my room after a quick walk outside, my room had been cleaned and everything was ready for the night including water and a praline from "Sprüngli" on my night stand...as if a fairy had been in my room. Honestly, I was touched! The room was impeccable; modern furniture, luxurious bath room with a huge rain shower, well-stocked mini bar as well as a nespresso coffee machine...All I can say; if you plan on going to Bern - stay here! Thank you for the nice experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tirzah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels i have stayed in, brand new room, luxurious bath tub and huge rain shower. Service was outstanding all the staff were very friendly and concierge was 5 star. The breakfast was very good and again the service was great. The bar was great fun and always made sure you had nibbles with your drinks. Great location and the shopping is great! I would stay here again, if your going to Bern you have to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hottieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.5 km away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.1 km away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#5 of 30 in Bern
55 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Allegro Bern
0.4 km away
Best Western Hotelbern
0.2 km away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA
Address: Bahnhofplatz 11, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,219 - ₹ 46,570
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof Bern & THE SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing