We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the job” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sorell Hotel Arabelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Arabelle
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Bern
london
2 reviews
“Did the job”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

The room was a bit warm but apart from that it was clean, comfy, spacious, breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank theshrimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    76
    47
    10
    5
See reviews for
23
41
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
189 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Booking via www.berninfo.com, the official tourist site you can get 3 nights for the price of 2 at this hotel at weekends, making at less than £40 a night. It was clean, quiet, buffet breakfast offered good selection. Only 3 stops on bus 12 from central station or about 12 minutes walk. I had a room at the back which was very quiet. Reception staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DalstonBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

Finding an affordable place to stay for a week in Bern was not easy! In the end, after considering the reviews here on TA, I decided on the Arabelle. I played around for a while on expedia and the hotel website and got the best deal by booking directly with the hotel for the first 3 nights and with expedia for the last 4 nights, ending up paying an average of AU $123 a night. It took a bit of figuring out to get that rate - at first I couldn't get it lower than $156 a night, but I finally found the right combination.

I arrived in Bern and followed the hotel instructions from the train station - it could not have been easier - you simply catch the No 12 tram outside the train station (going right) and its the 3rd stop - the hotel is visible from the corner of Mittlestrasse.

When I checked in I was given a tiny single room, with an even tinier bathroom, and a floor that squeaked and squealed with every footfall: it was a shocker. That first night I could not sleep at all - investigation revealed the reason - missing slats from the base of the bed, meaning that the mattress sagged in the middle. After I brought this to the receptionists attention the next day, I was moved into another room in the 2nd building - it was SO MUCH BETTER; it was 4 times the size and had a double bed with no missing slats, and a bathroom that I could turn around in. and the floor didn't squeak. I was very happy in that room - room 242 (2nd building, 4th floor, room 2). Make sure you get instructions as to where your room is: my first room (132) was on the 3rd floor (4th floor to you americans) and it took some finding the first time around.

Anyway, room 242 had a desk, with a TV (which I promptly unplugged and never used) and a phone, opening windows, an easy chair and coffee table, and two wardrobes. The shower had excellent water pressure and good hot water. Bodywash and handwash are provided in wall mounted units. Towels are not replaced if you hang them on the rack. There is no fridge which was a nuisance, but it was so cold I left things on the windowsill at night to good effect.

The room was serviced each day (one day she opened the door with no announcement and discovered me undressed after a shower: that was a pretty uncool moment = I learned to put the 'do not disturb' sign up whenever I was home.

Breakfast was pretty basic: cereals and yoghurt, a few different types of cheeses (those baby bebels and foil packs of cream cheese, and some sliced cheddar) and meats, and rolls and slice your own bread. There was a coffee machine, and a hot milk machine so you can have hot chocolate which is nice. Also two different juices, and a basket with fresh fruit (apples, oranges, some bananas one day). Certainly enough to get you going of a morning, but not lavish. And the floor in the dining room is a shocker for the squeaking - its really loud and embarrassing.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

Location was perfect: I bought a clipper card and caught the tram into town each day - it's not that far a walk but its a long steep hill and I certainly wouldn't attempt it with a case, and couldn't be bothered at the end of the day.

Bern was fantastic - I just loved it. I did 3 day trips (Rheinfelden, Vevey and the vineyards, and the Golden Pass trip to Montreaux and Chateau de Chillon), and spent 3 days wandering around Bern and shopping - there is excellent shopping in Bern and with the AU dollar doing so well and taxes so low there, it really was not that expensive.

Internet: I bought a 30 hour/7 days internet card from swisscom, for 45 franks. unfortunately the wireless access in both my rooms was terrible, so i used the dining room each night to upload my photos etc - it was fine there.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
269 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2010

I arrived following a lengthy journey by train from Reading via Paris at 10:15pm on a Sunday night in the snow to find the door locked and despite following instructions was unable to gain entry until a fellow hotel guest happened to arrive back and let me in. So the main point to note is do not arrive after 10pm.

I paid 230 GBP for 3 nights and despite a reasonable continental breakfast I found the rooms to be fairly spartan and not particularly homely and so wouldn't necessarily recommend the hotel. The location was fine, close to the University and station and a 20 minute walk into the centre.

The "business centre" consisted of just one computer. Wifi was available but I'm not sure how expensive it was.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardodesantaalbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

My husband and I spent one night in this hotel. It felt a little like a college dorm room with two low twin beds, two closets, a small desk, and a small bathroom. Our room backed up onto an alley, and was a near a busy intersection and bus route. So, it was pretty noisy with the windows open, but too hot with the windows closed. So, we didn't get a great night's sleep, but all-in-all it was not bad for the price. The staff was helpful -- they recommended a good Sri Lankan restaurant right around the corner. The included breakfast buffet was reasonably good, with fresh fruit, breads and pastries, deli meats and cheese. This no-frills hotel is just up the hill from the central train station -- Bus #12 will take you within 50' of the door.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.8 km away
Sorell Hotel Ador
Sorell Hotel Ador
#8 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
1.2 km away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Arabelle? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Arabelle

Property: Sorell Hotel Arabelle
Address: Mittelstrasse 6 | 3012 Bern, Bern 3012, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,888 - ₹ 17,667
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Arabelle 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Such an inviting atmosphere! Together with the friendly service and the central location, the arguments are simply overwhelming! An insider's tip for business travellers and tourists. The famous vaulted galleries, parliament building, bear pit, cathedral, clock tower - all attractive sights in the Bernese Old Town (UNESCO World Heritage since 1983) are a short walk or tram/bus ride from the Sorell Hotel Arabelle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Sorell Hotel Arabelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabelle Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing