We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice experience, well done!”
Review of Hotel Jardin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jardin
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Hotel was a positive surprise. Located in a very quiet neighbourhood and only 15 minutes walk from the city (old town). Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating!
Room was ok, not very big but that was to be expected. No air conditioning so in summer time a bit hot, but the windows do open. Not a problem, but take it into account if A/C is important to you.
Basic breakfest, not luxorious but you didn't have to leave on a empty stomach either. There is a WiFi internet but you have to pay extra (not included).

All in all, very nice experience and I would/will use this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor from the park side of the building! Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ville J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2010

The hotel is located a bit far from the old town (but a nice walk or tram is there) and has free car park which a big plus given the parking is quite restricted near the old town. We were received with a warm welcome by the hotel owner, and he was real helpful with things to do and where to go. But the 3 star hotel unfortunately does not match the friendliness of the reception, it feels more like a run down hostel. The TV was like a collector TV, and the remote didn't work for the volume, the bathroom was decorated in the 60s (water was warm though, no prob there). One can hear everything too, no sound insulation and we were woken up by kids running in the hallway. This hotel is definitely not one for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank francie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jardin1, Owner at Hotel Jardin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

in the meantime these photos are more the 2 years old - time is runnig and these tv''s are in tv-heaven since longer... :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2008

Basic but adequate. Large room with equally large ensuite but very dated furniture and fittings. Breakfast was average. Car parking was free and tram into city was about five minutes away. It was raining for the two days we were there and so we felt the omission of a lounge or bar or tea/coffeee facilities. I would rate this hotel more a two star than three.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie anne gavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2007

Having been to Bern before we decided to stay away from the train station for a change and so a short tram ride got us to the quiet neighbourhood of the Hotel Jardin. You can only use Swiis coins in the ticket machines and the hotel is in the first fare zone and from the stop it is only a short walk. Check in is pleasant and the chap will assist you with local info. The rooms are clean, nothing real fancy but spacious enough for two and the local area is pleasant. Breakfast just average and the ladies serving quite nice. Their onsite restaurant was too stuffy and smoky for us so we went down the street and found a great Italian place. I think that overall this hotel might be best if you are driving but don't let the tram ride put you off as it is very easy. We based ourselves in Bern as I wanted to explore certain areas in this part of Switzerland and so after spending the first day settling and walking around Bern we gathered our day packs next morning and set off to explore. Our Swiss friends have for some time been insisting we visit Neuchatel and Murten so we hopped on the train and had a glorious day tramping around the Neuchatel city and lakeshore. Next we backtracked to the medieval town of Murten and we found it to be just an amazing and beautifully preserved place. We then caught a regio train for the short hop to the Roman town of Avenches where we spent the rest of a sunny afternoon wandering through all the old Roman ruins. This town is a must see if you are in the area. We retreated back to Bern, rested up and got back on the train next day to Montreaux and spent several hours inside the Castle of Chillon. This is another must see and there is lots more all within a short distance from Bern. We spent three nights in the Hotel Jardin and it was not enough as you need a week at least to get the feel of this beautiful city and area. If you are really moving fast you might want to stay near the train station though. But then, why would you want to move fast? On to Strasbourg, France..........................................

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank kootenaydrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2005

This is a modest, but very well maintained, neighborhood hotel. On-site restaurant is convenient and reasonably-priced, and the food is not bad. The tram to old town is about 2 blocks away, and walking to old town takes about 20 - 30 minutes and can be done through the town's rose garden park and its outstanding views of old town. The owners and staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful. Included breakfast was typically light, but perfectly OK. Free parking, although there were not many spots so this could be unavailable in the high season. It's a two-storey climb to the reception desk (elevator from there to rooms), so if you have lots of heavy luggage, beware. The street in front of the hotel is busier during the day than the hotel advertising would lead you to think, but it pretty much clears out and and becomes very quiet by bed time. Overall, a very good choice on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank pdxhej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Alpenblick
Hotel Alpenblick
#3 of 30 in Bern
551 reviews
1.6 km away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#4 of 30 in Bern
137 reviews
3.1 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bern
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Bern City
0.5 km away
Novotel Bern Expo
Novotel Bern Expo
#6 of 30 in Bern
853 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardin

Address: Militaerstrasse 38, Bern 3014, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Price Range: ₹ 10,620 - ₹ 16,223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jardin 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your city hotel in Berne, quiet located and yet near to the historic old-town and the centre. A few minutes from the fairgrounds BernExpo, the sports stadiums, "Rosengarten" and the bear-park. Spacious rooms, all with private bath/shower/toilet, hair-dryer, desk, phone, safe, TV, kettle and free WiFi. Our free parking spots are limited in quantity. In the excepten when we don't have any rooms left our guests may purchase a ticket for public parking. Please be advised that all our hotel rooms where completely renovated in March 2017. We will also build a new reception, lobby, elevator and we will be renovating our breakfast room. Until November there will be construction noises during the work week from around 9:30am to 05:00pm. Since mid 2017 we closed our restaurant. There are several great restaurants in the near area and we provide everyone of our guests with a free ticket for the public transport with which they are in the heart of the old part of the city in just 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jardin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing