We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Delighted by this quiet place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Delighted by this quiet place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

This hotel is in teh city centre and few minutes from Swiss Parliament and main station. I suggest not to go by car since Bern parking lots can be really expensive. The hotel has a special price (valid only 1 night) for 18.50 CHF from 5PM to 9AM, then the subsequent days the daily parking rate is about 40 CHF. The hotel is quiet and staff very friendly: we received a room at 2nd floor with view on Neuengasse: there was a concert that night but we could anyway sleep well: the rooms are spacious, clean and well maintained...a littlebit old-styled but with personality. Jazz singers and musicians poster are everywhere and this makes the hotel unique in Bern. we did not take the breakfast, but the cost of it was approx 25 CHF each person. We booked by means of hrs.de and could save quite a lot of money: 125 CHF instead of the normal price (330 CHF).

Room Tip: My suggestion is: take a room from 3rd floor up, and take the train to move to Bern...you will save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_Swiss_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    66
    67
    19
    6
See reviews for
40
51
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I arrived to Bern for business out of the city, and I took the train every day.
The hotel place near the train station, so it was very computable stays there.

The hotel room was biggest with big TV, mini-bar, and nice facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Savoy hotel can provide a comfortable stay when in Bern. The rooms a simply furnished and most have either a single bed or two single beds close together. The windows have either shutters or blinds that can completely darken the room and also help shut out some of the noise from street side rooms. Some rooms are air conditioned and some not but this is only a problem in the height of summer.
Breakfast is typically Swiss with nice fresh bread and a selection of meats and cheeses. Recently the hotel management have also started to offer a cooked breakfast option.
The Savoy is located just a few meters from ‘The City’ exit of the main rail station and is only minutes from the main bus routes and other central attractions of Bern. The neighbouring Co-Op store can be useful if snacks or drinks are needed for your room although most rooms do have a minibar.
I have been a visitor to The Savoy for many years and the majority of my stays have been satisfactory. If however your visit coincides with that of a tour party (that now seem so very frequent) you should be prepared to expect more noise and less than comfortable experience at breakfast.

Room Tip: Breakfast room is on 1st floor - avoid as it is noisy. For a quieter stay, request a room that face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We arrived very early and our rooms were not ready, the staff opened 1 room to accommodate our luggages and asked us to come back after lunch. We walked around, had breakfast, did some shopping, had lunch and back to the hotel for official check-in. Staff were friendly.
We were given a room facing the street, with lots of food establishments across the hotel. The rooms are big/spacious for Swiss standard. March is considered winter month and the AC is still turn off, no ventilation and at night it becomes warm and stuffy. We had to open the windows to avoid suffocation by midnight but we have to endure the noise/laughter/shouts from the clients of the food establishments nearby up to wee hours of the morning. Around 4-5 am, we could hear the sounds of cleaning of the street and the delivery of goods to big supermarket adjacent to the hotel.
The hotel is very near the main train station and very accessible to near/far destinations. It is surrounded by all kinds of shops/restaurants, so no need to go far for your needs!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the back, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hapiness168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

This hotel was so far the best European hotel I had. It is only 3 minutes walk from entrance to main train station and close to city centre - walkable. The reception staff was kind, helpful and attentive. The room was comfortable and clean and I definitely had a wonderful time there during my 5-day stay. This is the hotel I would return to if I am to visit Bern again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
3 Thank CWTrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
0.2 km away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#19 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Goldener Schlussel
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
0.3 km away
Hotel City am Bahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Neuengasse 26, Bern 3011, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,333 - ₹ 16,638
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPENING FEBRUARY 2017 We will then be able to welcome you to the newly renovated Hotel Savoy in Bern. MODERN, ELEGANT - PAIRED WITH HOSPITALITY A traditional Bernese hotel redefines itself: the completely renovated Savoy is a successful blend of design and function. All the new features complement each other harmoniously: renovated rooms and plenty of modernity throughout the hotel. The ideal location in the old town and the proximity to Bern station have not changed. AT THE HEART OF BERNE The Hotel Savoy is centrally located in Berne's pedestrianized Neuengasse, only 2 minutes on foot from Berne railway station and 300 metres from the Parliament building. There are parking options very close to the hotel. Bern Airport, with daily services to many European cities, is just 10 km from the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Bern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing