We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Basic Hotel Convenient to the Train” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Bern
Lancaster County, PA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A Basic Hotel Convenient to the Train”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Right in the center of Bern and very near the train station which was important in our travels around Switzerland since we loved using their wonderful rail system. Staff was efficient. Breakfast was fine. Hotel was clean and in a safe area. Room was small but large enough for the two of us. If in Bern again, we would most likely choose this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    104
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
31
76
18
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This hotel could not be in a better location. It's right in the centre of Bern however it's located on one of the quieter roads. This is one of our main requirements from a hotel and we found our room, to the back of the hotel, to be very quiet. This hotel is advertised as a 4 star hotel and to be very honest it was not. I feel qualified to say this as we have stayed in many, many 4 Star hotels around the world. There was nothing terribly wrong with it however it's standards were definitely only of 3 Star quality. The receptionist were pleasant, check in was fine and the free welcome drink were most appreciated. The rooms themselves were extremely basic in terms of furnishings, decor, fixtures and fittings. The bed linen, bathroom towels and toiletries were not anywhere near 4 Star quality. The breakfast was the usual standard for 'free' breakfasts. The gym was tiny and it's the only hotel gym I've ever been in with no treadmill!! The hotel has no parking and so we used the suggested Casino Parking. At 28CHF it was very expensive but it was convenient. Overall we had a pleasant stay and had no real complaints. If you're looking for a 4 Star experience then don't book here however we would recommend it for a good 3 Star stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back (although these have no a/c for summer stays).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wooforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Location couldn't be any better for exploring the city center. Our room was tiny, but provided all amenities we needed. Helpful staff and good breakfast. Parking is a short walk away at the train station. We would stay here again. We loved Bern!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie traveller
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

This hotel has a great location, minutes walk from the train station and centrally located in the old town. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Despite requesting a quiet room, and foregoing air conditioning in order to have one, the room was very noisy with trolleys being wheeled into the courtyard very early in the morning. Room was comfortable, although I have to say that the pillows were the worst I've ever been given in many years of travelling. The helpful staff provided extra, as only one had been provided, but they were even worse that the original one

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

i booked a triple room as i was staying with a couple of friends for the weekend; we were going to a party in bern. It was basically a double room (not very nice anyway, bad decor etc)with an bed crammed in a row. It was 360 swiss francs per night.
The receptionist was nice, however could do nothing.
It was bad value and a bit of a con. i would never return.

Room Tip: stay in the bellevue
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shinobuyamobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bern hotels
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotelbern
0.2 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 30 in Bern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BELLEVUE PALACE Bern
0.8 km away
Hotel Allegro Bern
Hotel Allegro Bern
#4 of 30 in Bern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Kreuz Bern
Hotel Kreuz Bern
#22 of 30 in Bern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz

Property: Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz
Address: Schauplatzgasse 4, Bern 3011, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Baeren)
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Bern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bern
#9 Business Hotel in Bern
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bern
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,052 - ₹ 18,569
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Bären am Bundesplatz is situated in the heart of Berne -an Unesco World Culture Heritage city. It is ideally situated next to the main railway station and close to The House of Parliament. The main shopping area and other attractions, such as the Bernese Munster, the Zytglogge and the Bear Park are all within walking distance. The hotel has 67 non-smoking rooms. All rooms provide comfortable accommodation whether on a business or leisure trip. All are equipped with a work place, free Wi Fi and TV (multilingual),Coffee machine, bath or shower, hairdryer, water heater and a safe. The rooms facing the street are air conditioned. A Bernese buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. And other free facilities are the residents' lounge, fitness room and the use of bicycles-some of which are electric. The welcoming Baren Bar is popular with both residents and locals. Here you can enjoy a coffee or a wide selection of alcoholic drinks and it provides an excellent venue for a Apero meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Baren am Bundesplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Baeren
Best Western Bern
Bern Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing