We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Italian with excellent food!”
Review of Acqua

Acqua
Ranked #130 of 788 Restaurants in Basel
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 79
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

A trendy Italian restaurant as you would find them in Antwerp, Belgium.
Excellent food and friendly service with Italian roots. Nice industrial looking location with impressive lightning.
One of the restaurant in Basel which I would visit with my wife and friends.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Fre-Katleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Was here for a work dinner. If you look for a quiet table to discuss serious business topics chose another place. However, for a relaxed business dinner where you want good atmosphere Acqua is very good. I personally love the industrial look and feel of this restaurant and it certainly caters for a few drinks and laughs. The food is actually very good, however, the service was standard at best and extremely slow. So, if you're looking for efficiency, look elsewhere. In any case, for drinks certainly worth to go here and also for the food itself (minus the service then as mentioned).

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank 1234CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I really like the food here, I have been more than 10 times. However, the quality of the food changes from time to time. I guess because the menu changes a lot.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We went here with a group on a weekday. This restaurant is "hot" for many years, which is an achievement in itself. For us it was a big disappointment though. We could hardly talk with each other due to the noise of all the people. Food was at best mediocre, some dishes even bad, service slow. The place is trendy, but that is it.....

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kees_Niek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

It is obviously very popular done in a warehouse style which makes it rather noisy- not exactly romantic nor conducive to business meetings. The starter of soft boiled egg in egg custard was divine. The pasta with mushrooms was way overcooked and not very exciting. Very nice service- friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank Kaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acqua also viewed

 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 
Basel, Canton of Basel
Basel, Canton of Basel
 

Been to Acqua? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing