We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business hotel”
Review of Novotel Basel City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Basel City
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is good business hotel close to the Main Railway Station. Additionally tram lines are easy to use and there are many stops close to the hotel.
Breakfast is good and there was plenty of good quality choices.
Rooms are large and modern style gives a good qulaity feeling for everything.
Free Wi-Fi and free ticket of the local traffic are given for the hotel's guests.

Room Tip: Some noise of traffic and trams in case your windows are ahead to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anna-Loviisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max l, Manager at Novotel Basel City, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Anna-Loviisa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Max Lavori
Room Division Manager
Novotel Basel City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

the hotel is good,clean,comfortable.the reception staff very friendly and helpful,the cleaning ladies good.they have free mineral water in the rooms,a boiler,i don't know if the coffee is free?the breakfast is good and the waiters very polite.the problem is that they will ask for 350chf,deposit when you arrive,but they don't let us know about this when we made the reservation?! i had no problem,because when i left the hotel they cancelled the amount of 350chf,and next day the money were availble.so,a good hotel go for it.the best way to find the hotel is to walk;take the posstenpassage,at the train station,then cross the street and take jackob burhard passage ,and in 10 minutes you;ll see the novotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wizz Tours
Thank aurica427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max l, Manager at Novotel Basel City, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear aurica247
Thank you very much for taking you time to send us your feedback.
We are very happy that we could meet your expections with our service and friendliness.
While arriving we do take your credit card as an guarantee, the authorization will only cover
the cost of your stay plus some extra if you like to use any service in the hotel.
But as you mentioned, as soon as you left the hotel the block will be released.
For the minibar all rooms will have the water inclusive and the water will be replaced very day as well as the coffee/tea station. Only the snacks and the soft-drinks/beer will be charged if you use it. With the executive room the soft-drinks will be free as well.
We hope to have you back someday.
Have a great day.
Kind regards
Max Lavori
Rooms Division Manager
Novotel Basel City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very nice. When you first walk in it looks like a high class place. When we walked in there was free ice tea. Very good. The rooms are amazing. Bathroom is very nice. Shower has a switch to switch on and off to see through the glass when someone is showering:).

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ivanshantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max l, Manager at Novotel Basel City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Ivanshantel,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Max Lavori
Room Division Manager
Novotel Basel City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

One night stay en-route between Interlaken and home in U.K. Friendly and helpful reception staff. Room very good. Housekeeping not up to standard as shower soap was empty. Reported to reception and housekeeping came to room while we we at dinner, cleaned shower but left soap dispenser still empty. Should be more choice in restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank N2198WIronaldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max l, Manager at Novotel Basel City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear N2198WIronaldw
Thank you very much for send us your feedback.
First at all we are very sorry for the inconvenience during your stay.
We forwarded your comments about the housekeeping issue to avoid any further inconveniences.
And know thank you about your great comments about our staff and facilities.
We really hope to have you back someday.
Have a great day!
Kind regards from Basel
Max Lavori
Room Division Manager
Novotel Basel City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The gym had very nice posters of exercises with a Pilates Ball, as well as stretching exercises on a mat, but the gym did not have a ball nor a mat! Instead, there was a large fatboy bean bag, absolutely not recommending for sports or stretching.

The gym lacked air conditioning, and reception was not very nice, saying they would not disturb the facility man for such a minor thing (seriously!). Wow... very little customer focus!!!

The travel from the city with the tram card given by the hotel is straight forward with Tram number 15 going to the Market Platz downtown.

Parking is 26CHF with an elevator directly to your room, worth the price.

The hotel is in the Swiss part of Basel, I could not find a staff who speaks French...

The room is a standard Novotel room. The only unusual detail, you could flip a switch which made the wall between the room and the bathroom transparent. The kids loved it!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank pptar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max l, Manager at Novotel Basel City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear pptar

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,

Max Lavori
Room Division Manager
Novotel Basel City

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#6 of 52 in Basel
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Stuecki Basel
#9 of 52 in Basel
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Basel City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Basel City

Address: Grosspeterstrasse 12, Basel 4052, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel > St. Alban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Basel
Price Range: ₹ 8,314 - ₹ 16,889 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Basel City 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Basel City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing