We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“My favourite in Basel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Das Breite Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Das Breite Hotel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Basel
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“My favourite in Basel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

I stayed in Basel on a project for about 15 months and I tried many hotels – this is clearly my favorite and I stayed there many times. At first sight it’s not located very well, next to the extremely busy Schwarzwald-Bridge and a bit outside from the touristic center. However, there are also some advantages with that: it’s easy to reach by car (and they have on site parking), there’s a tram station in front of the hotel (tram #3 which takes you in a few minutes directly to Barfuesserplatz in the heart of Basel, and in about 10 minutes to the train station, change once). In good weather it’s a very pleasant walk along the Rhine river to go downtown. Also there also is a nice little park nearby, and in summer even two beaches (Birskoepfli, Rheinbad Breite) can be found close to the hotel. And just across the Street you can find Migros and Coop shops if you want to buy some food.

The hotel has a modern, a rather minimalistic style, some people I talked to actually considered it as a bit cold. So it’s not the right place for you if you have chalet style in mind when booking a hotel in Switzerland. The rooms are not very big, but comfortable, with a small flat screen tv. All rooms have free and fast internet (ask for a cable at the reception). The nicest rooms are the ones with view of the Rhine river. In summer it can get hot as there is no air conditioning (like in most three star hotels in Basel and other cities in Switzerland - due to regulations). But whay would you be in your hotel room on a nice day or evening in Basel in summer anyway?

Breakfast is just excellent, good choice, fresh and high quality and with egg dishes prepared to order (all included in the room price). It’s probably the best breakfast I know in a three star hotel.

The prices for the rooms are moderate, except for the dates of the Art Basel and Baselworld fairs, but then all hotels in Basel come with an absolutely silly pricing. Do avoid the whole area during those times if you can.

What makes the hotel really different is the staff. I never felt like a customer, but as a welcomed guest and later even as a friend. The ladies at front desk were competent, very friendly and helped whenever possible. The hotels provides employment to people with a disability, which gives the place a special kind of ‘non-hotel’ atmosphere which I really appreciated, being bored enough else by too many nights at standard business hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ooookch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    64
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
65
33
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

I could easily limit my review by confirming all the positive things written by other Tripadvisor users!
very friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms, freshly painted so we had to sleep window open because of the painting odour, this of course unfiltered roadway noises. but nothing to complain about.
breakfast was top also, with eggs on demand. fresh fruit,
and further every 10 mins a tram stops across the street with access to downtown Basel will take you 5 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bernbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

I stayed at the Breite hotel for one night, and I truly enjoyed my stay.
The rooms have a sleek, modern design, in-room, wired internet access is free (cable is provided) and free wireless access is available in the lobby.
There is a freeway passing nearby, but the windows are sound proof, thus I wasn't bothered at all.
The location is not central, but with only 4 tram stops from the railroad station and the free pass provided by the hotel for public transportation, I didn't experience that as a drawback.
The breakfast buffet offered a reasonable choice, with warm egg dishes prepared upon request.
Only limitation for my taste: the in-room safe is too small to accommodate a laptop.
The plus, to make one feel even better: the hotel provides jobs for differently able people, and a stay is acknowledged to help supporting this deserving initiative. I saw this reflected in the kindness and enthusiasm with which the employees fulfill their job.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie57_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Stayed at this hotel for the recent football fixture between Switzerland and England and it was great. In a really good location - away from busy city centre but close enough to get there by tram (5 mins). great location to get to the st jacob stadium - home of basel and on this occasion Switzerland. Very clean room and spacious (no air con tho - electric fan provided !!) really friendly and informative staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walshysalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

I hesitated about staying here, as it is a bit out of the way, but was persuaded by other Tripadvisor reviewers. I was very pleased with the hotel, and they provided a free pass for the trams and busses, making access very simple after initial check-in. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. The room was very nice, with contemporary furnishings and a flat-screen TV with good cable channel selections. Breakfast was outstanding, as one can order eggs cooked-to-order at no additional cost. Although the hotel is quite close to tram and railroad tracks and a highway, the rooms are very quiet, and you would not realize you were so close to the noise sources. One caveat: There is NO air conditioning. Normally this would not be a problem in Switzerland, but it was 90 degrees when I was there. Nevertheless, I was able to sleep comfortably using the fan provided. Although there is free wi-fi, there is NO computer available for use by guests. Directly across the street are two supermarkets if you want to get some food or wine to have in your room. This is a lovely hotel providing great value!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank majorswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Basel hotels
Vorstädte
Steinenschanze Stadthotel
Altstadt
Der Teufelhof Basel
Der Teufelhof Basel
#4 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel D - Basel
Hotel D - Basel
#12 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
GAIA Hotel
GAIA Hotel
#5 of 51 in Basel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Breite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Breite Hotel

Property: Das Breite Hotel
Address: Zuercherstrasse 149, Basel 4052, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Basel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Basel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Basel
#15 Business Hotel in Basel
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,583 - ₹ 15,020
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Breite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully unique. Architecture worth seeing, clear design, functional and modern furnishings. DASBREITEHOTEL is officially classified a Design & Lifestyle Hotel by hotelleriesuisse.Quite special. DASBREITEHOTEL provides employment to adults with a disability. Their participation as employees in the productive labour force contributes to their integration.Pretty different. The atmosphere here is personal. DASBREITEHOTEL surprises its guests with particularly attentive service along with committed and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Das Breite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dasbreitehotel Hotel Basel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing